We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite village and great hotel to base yourself”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Favourite village and great hotel to base yourself”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Picture Perfect location. Great hotel and fantastic food. Recommend a stay here for a relaxing break and walking distance from manor house hotel and its michelin star Resturant. Racecourse is nearby and plenty to do

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huddy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    167
    54
    22
    12
See reviews for
96
365
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with a Groupon deal and loved every minute.

We were 90 minutes early for check in but our room had just been completed and we were shown up straight away.

We stayed in room 9 which had its own little staircase up to it so felt a bit private as no adjoining neighbours!

The room was warm and looked beautiful with exposed beams, sofa, chair, dressing table plus a separate writing desk. The en-suite bathroom was clean and warm. There was even an ironing board, iron and fan provided plus a wall mounted tv. The bed was sumptuous!

We ate in the restaurant and although a little pricey for some dishes the food was perfectly cooked and extremely tastey with attentive service.

In the morning breakfast was served in the conservatory with a buffet for juices, cereals, fruit and yoghurts follwed by cooked options. We both had a full English and the food was of high quality.

The service we received from everybody we encountered was efficient, helpful and friendly and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma-L-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Castle Combe is a beautiful little village and we had lunch at the castle inn.the staff here are excellent. Very welcoming, polite and relaxed. we sat outside,which is right in the market square.the food was good,if a touch expensive.really nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Castle Inn (room 5) on the night of 8th March. I'd found the hotel as we were travelling down to Bath for the next day and I wanted somewhere to stop halfway down with a bit of character, and we definitely found that.

Castle Combe itself is a beautiful little village and is the setting for the films Stardust and Warhorse - it's about as perfect a tiny English village as you could want.

Arriving at the Castle Inn, we were immediately in love with it - it is a beautiful old building. Being taken up to our room we were taken aback by the stunning old features, including the stone fire's brickwork going up through the entire building. Our room, room 5 was lovely. It was relatively small, but still had two reading chairs, fantastic period features and a nice bathroom. It was beautifully presented and exactly what I'd expect from such an old building. Perfect for what we wanted.

We left for a wander around the village and stopped in the pub over the road (The White Hart) for a while, where our mouths were watering at the fantastic homemade pub food being served - we thought we must be in for a treat at the Castle Inn. Unfortunately, we weren't.

The dining room in the Castle Inn is incredibly sterile, dark, quiet and has the atmosphere of an elevator in a funeral home. The decor is completely out of place with the rest of the building, as is the service and general feeling. It's clear that no "locals" would ever dream of eating here.

The staff were trying to be attentive but were fussy. The menu was a bit of a mess - one side of the food that they clearly think they should be proud of and one side of pub favourites. We had to ask several times to get what we wanted - the staff didn't really get it and seemed to spend ages writing things down. On my girlfriend asking for "the Malbec" from the winelist, the waitress had to ask her to hand the menu over so she could find out what number is was ("Ah, number 23...") she confirmed. It was the only Malbec on the list - remembering it shouldn't be rocket science.

The food was OK at best. 4 derisory, tiny pieces of bread arrived at the start that were hardly worth dirtying a plate with. The food generally tasted nice but my girlfriend's couldn't eat the centre of her lamb as it was serious undercooked (getting on raw) and my ribeye steak was the opposite - definitely not medium rare, as it was charred and not a sign of pink. Also, it was rather thin and had been battered to within an inch of its life with a tenderiser.

The staff continued to be a bit irritating, coming up every couple of minutes to move something around. At one point, while I had my dinner in front of me, the waitress came up and reached over my plate to remove my bread plate - pointless and very rude. And, oddly, they didn't remove my partner's plate, which was easily reachable. Bizarre.

Anyway, food aside, we then headed up to bed and the bedroom made it worth it - a gorgeous room. The bed could've been a bit bigger (it was a small double) and getting a consistent temperature in the room was difficult, but it didn't matter.

The breakfast the next day was OK - limited options and again just the little things went wrong (no milk served with my tea, they didn't prompt options, no glasses for juice) but it was OK.

Overall, a lovely little hotel in a beautiful setting, but don't eat in the restaurant. It was overly expensive, with average food, very poor service and no soul. Eat in the pub over the road instead and get involved in the community chatter instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Tiryaki, Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you for review regarding your recent visit to our Hotel. We were very sorry to hear that both the food and the service did not meet with your expectations and our own high standards. We will take the necessary steps to ensure that incidents such as those highlighted in your letter do not happen again in the future.

Having worked for the last four years in the Castle Inn we have built up a good business relationship with the White Hart pub across the road. I hope that you will agree that it would be difficult to find a pub and a hotel with the same atmosphere, table setting, menu and beverage choices. We have guests that stay with us for many different special occasions and have been informed that it is great to have a choice in a small village to experience a country pub, for local ales and pub lunches and dinners or a hotel where you can enjoy a quiet lunch or evening meal with a selection of good wines, different choice of lagers, ales and spirits along with the table service where they can be fussed over to make their stay both enjoyable and special. We do accommodate a lot of our local customers regularly. We like to provide our customers a choice of a la carte dishes and the selection of traditional pub dishes during their dining experience with us.

Our company policy is to provide daily and weekly training for all of our staff to improve their knowledge of the food and beverages on our menu. The member of staff that served you on the occasion in question was a trainee waitress who should have been supervised by the Duty Manager. What you experienced in unacceptable and steps have already been taken to ensure that this does not happen again.

With regard to the wine choice, we do have two different types of Malbec wines on our wine list. One is Finca La Colonia Malbec Noton-Argentina and the other is Passo Doble Malbec Masi-Argentina. All of our wines have their original names printed on our wine list. We also have a wide selection of wines available from many different countries. To avoid any misunderstandings, we normally request that a guest confirms the bin number on the list.

Our lamb dishes are served pink, which is detailed in the menu, unless requested differently by the guest. We are sorry that the steak did not meet your expectations. We always grill our rib-eye steak on a stove to add extra flavour. Rib-eye steak is heavily marbled and as I am sure you are aware, the fat is where the flavour is. Our rib-eye steaks have a really rich and beefy taste.

With regard to the breakfast choices, we try to focus on quality rather than quantity for our guests. For this reason we have a selection of cereals, dry and fresh fruits, selection of yoghurts and fruit juices. We provide a choice of hot toasts with honey, jam and marmalade served with freshly brewed coffee or a selection of teas for those who prefer to start their breakfast with refreshing choices, followed by cooked breakfast with options of the following dishes:
Home Cooked Porridge
Full English Breakfast with a choice of Wiltshire Sausage, Back Bacon, Grilled Fresh Tomatoes and Pan Fried Mushrooms, served with Fresh Farm Eggs (choice of fried, poached or scrambled) and either Baked Beans, Black Pudding or Fried Bread.
Scottish Grilled Kipper
Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Egg
Poached Smoked Haddock

The comments in your review were disturbing and I would like to unequivocally thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. I highly appreciate your feedback as this will assist us to improve the service that we offer. As with any business, the greatest advertising is by word of mouth from a satisfied customer. I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed to do this. It is my goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and I hope to serve you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Hakan Tiryaki
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed the night of March 1st 2013. The hotel is lovely, recently refurbished. Comfortable room on the top floor. Very kind attentive staff. And an excellent restaurant downstairs which, inexplicably, is not listed as a restaurant on Trip Advisor in Castle Combe. All in all, a very enjoyable stay, great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Everything was perfect to help celebrate my brother's 70th birthday. The staff could not be faulted and were the best and most consistently pleasant and efficient that we have encountered in our many years of travelling.

The evening meal and breakfast could not be faulted and the wines and beers also matched up to make this a memorable experience.

Rooms were spotless and full of character and, although we only live an hour away in Frome, the stay overnight enabled us to walk around the charming village of Castle Combe, visit the church and realise just why this spot attracts film makers and tourists.

Room Tip: Room 4 with a four poster at the front of the hotel was perfect. My brother and his wife had room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friggletowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at Castle Inn in march and had the most wonderful stay.Without doubt the best food that we have had at any hotel in a very long time. We stayed in room 3 which was very cosy with the most comfortable of beds.Our thanks to Hakan the manager Gemma the reception duty manager and to Petro and Dragos in the restaraunt and bar area for making our stay even more special.Will definitely return in the near future.Our best wishes to you all.

Sue and Alan Cooke

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3. Very cosy and a very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
7.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
767 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
592 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
364 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Castle Combe, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing