We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Firm Favorite”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Firm Favorite”
Reviewed January 30, 2008

I have stayed at the Castle Inn several times now when my practice takes me to the area and it is a firm favorite. If I can find a reason to bend the itinary so that I get a night there I will. It is a unique property and the current owners are clearly trying to continually improve the facilities. Service is first rate and friendly with good home cooked food and generous portions. The bar is well stocked with local beers and a fine choice of single malts. The full english breakfast is not to be missed. Do be aware that weekends involve a compulsary lie-in. Breakfast on Saturdays and Sundays does not start until 8.00am but with comfy beds, spa baths and enormous White Company towelling bathrobes who would want to rush!

  • Liked — There is nothing in the world quite like it
  • Disliked — Low beams -v- tall head!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrogateMoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    164
    53
    22
    12
See reviews for
94
364
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed for two nights following our wedding in Dec.

We were really looking forward to it, and the location and general ambience of the hotel didn't fail to please - Castle Coombe is as beautiful as it looks and the Castle Inn has an atmosphere that's relaxing and old-worldy without being cliche, plus lovely White Company tolietries and good breakfasts.

Despite this, we left a little deflated due to three unnecessarily poor service experiences:-

- We booked months in advance and asked whether it'd be okay to check in late (midnight) as it was our wedding day and we didn't want to leave early and miss the party! We were assured no problem, so were shocked when the hotel rang my husband one hour before our wedding ceremony (!) to say he needed to go and collect the key as staff wouldn't be sticking around that evening. Two of our guests had to be dispatched to collect the key and missed part of our wedding reception. We got a verbal apology... but have no idea why original expectations weren't met.

- The day after our wedding we had lunch in the restaurant - great to accommodate our party of nine at short notice. However, when meals arrived they didn't bring out my mother-in-law's food.... and when we queried it just responded 'well we don't have any mozzarella today'.... despite the waitress taking the order half an hour before with no query!!! We got very little apology; they looked surprised at our complaint and just asked whether we wanted to order something alternative.

- The final sting came on checking out. We'd purposely booked an Executive room (their mid price category) rather than Four Poster (costing £30 more per night). On seeing the bill we discovered that we'd been allocated a Four Poster room and so charged the additional £60. We'd booked over the phone, so had no evidence. The worse part was the way their mistake was handled... no apology at all; in fact no acceptance that there was a mistake. We were very much left to feel that they didn't believe us. Although they reluctantly offered £20 off the bill we had to pay the extra £40. The money aside, it was the service experience that saw us leaving angry and deflated.

Tourists and others will no doubt continue to visit the Castle Inn in droves and love it. Our advice to anyone looking for a really special or romantic break would be to give it a miss... unless you're patient enough to tolerate the possibility of poor service if/when things go wrong, without it tainting your special occasion.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

I have never stayed anywhere with more surly staff. This was not restricted to one member, but pretty much the entire staff we came into contact with from the front desk to bar staff to restaurant staff.

Food in the restaurant was also uninspiring and poor in execution.

The rooms are OK, although our bathroom was a little tired. Public areas have obviously just been updated and are smart.

This is a shame given Castle Coombe is beautiful and deserves a decent venue, particulalry given there are few alternatives in the village.

I would recommend going to the village for half the time and staying at the Manor House for a real experience of service - the owner of Castle Inn should send his staff there to see how its done!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

An excellent hotel in the middle of a small village in Wiltshire (must be one of Britain`s most attractive). For total peace and atmosphere be there early in the morning or in the evening when fellow tourists who are not staying in one of the only 2 hotels leave the village deserted.
Attentively efficient and welcoming service combined with comfortable rooms and good satisfying food makes for a great place to stay between Cotswolds and Bath.
The occasional bump on the head when passing through low doorways is a small price to pay for overnighting in centuries-old accommodation.

  • Liked — Comfortable large King-size bed
  • Disliked — No stand-up shower. Poor mirror lighting for shaving (a common problem even in many fine hotels)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tynwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We should have stayed longer. This hotel was small, nice and a great entry into England. We stayed two nights and should have stayed three to take in more of the grounds and atmosphere. Cannot go wrong here.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Castle Combe is a beautiful little village straight out of a Fairy Tale and the Castle Inn has the charm and character to match! We stayed in a lovely 4-poster bedroom with Jacuzzi bath. The food in the restaurant was amazing, especially the White Chocolate Cheese Cake…. Breakfast in the conservatory was great as well. The staff were friendly & attentive. A beautiful location for a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — 4 Poster Bed
  • Disliked — No facility to hang the bath hose for a shower
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Were were advised by a pal to visit Castle Combe, a beautiful pearl of an English village.

After a day sight seeing in Bath, we drove the few miles to the Castle Inn at the center of this eye-filling rural escape.

We had read reviews on Trip-advisor on the Inn and booked with confidence and weren't let down. A friendly rural bar, really exceptional food at their little restaurant and characterful rooms which felt like they had escaped from a romantic historical novel.

Parking is a tad eccentric and finding the village is a little Brigadoonish. But when you do - you will be well served.

Our daughter left and article of clothing - when we phoned back - they shipped it home to the USA for free!

Good people and good service.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruislip5826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
7.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.4 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Castle Combe, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing