We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Certificate of Excellence
Warnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Once again Magic”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

we have stayed at The Manor House five or six times now. We have never been disppointed and this trip was the same. Its a magical setting in a valley with the Bybrook river running through it. The grounds are superb. The welcome we receive each time is professional and friendly. the rooms, no matter where you are, though we like the cottages, are refined and well appointed. A touch of modern class with an antique feel. All amenities are here, coffee and tea are provided, and the hotel has though of everything. Soft robes, towels and a super comfortable bed. The Bybrook restaurant can't be faulted, the food is superb, as is the service and attention. Its gourmet food though so dont expect "comfort food" as I have seen in other reviews. If you are a golfer, the golf course is set in a beautiful valley, is in great condition, and is a tough challenge. I woulkd recommend a buggy as its up hill and down dale, literally. Can get a little busy at peak times but, Monday morning, 09:36 my wife and I played millionaires golf in front of the field, had a great lunch, and headed home, sadly! The village is idyllic as well and there a couple of good pubs within walking distance. If you like to walk there are wooded hills all around and the grounds of the hotel are also beautiful. As usual for the Exclusive Group, their excellent standards are maintained here. we are memebnrs of Mannings Heath Golf club and have stayed at South Lodge and Penny Hill Park, and we cant say enough about the standards.

Room Tip: The cottages are quaint and the interiors are a good size as is the bathroom. We have stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    178
    62
    23
    17
See reviews for
141
620
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

From the second we arrived to the second we left, the staff at this hotel made our stay perfect. The grounds are beautiful, the setting is perfect and the rooms are luxurious. As for the food, I cannot say I have enjoyed a meal more anywhere. I cannot think of anything that could have improved our stay - the bedrooms were extremely well equipped with all the home comforts and more. The service throughout the hotel was second to none and the restaurant was perfect for a romantic meal with atmosphere. Thank you so much for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room in the main hotel rather than one of the cottages but only because the church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_le_Brun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have enjoyed afternoon tea at The Manor on several occasions, I have even bought gift vouchers for our friends to enjoy the experience, it is one of our favourite places. This week, however, we took a couple of friends to enjoy afternoon tea in their superb setting but I am writing to say that I was very disappointed on this occasion with several things. After singing the praises of the Manor's afternoon teas I have to say it was not up to standard this week. The service is usually "spot on" but I was not impressed with not being given a menu for us to see the selection of teas on offer and also the cups around the bottom showed signs of tea stains. Had we not been with friends we may have made this known at the time but after the big build up to the afternoon I did not want to make a fuss and spoil their day. Must admit, we were left a bit on our own and had to ask for things, which we do not normally have to do. There were several guests in the drawing room and maybe there were not enough staff on duty but for £23 per person I think they could have done better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skelaswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Skelaswas,

Thank you for your honest feedback.

I can only apologise for not getting it right for you and that the service was not up to our usual standards.

I am pleased you actually seem to have enjoyed the food etc; and that what let it down was an unusual lack of attention to detail.

I do hope we get to see you again soon and when booking please do let me know as I would be delighted to get to meet you.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is amazing and the service provided by the staff was excellent. This is a perfect place to stay for a luxury break. The house, grounds and castle Combe village are beautiful. We have stayed here a few times over recent years and each time we have been completely impressed. The beautiful Manor house is maintained to a luxiourious standard, full of traditional character. Staff are attentive and accommodating and the hotel is kept impecabily clean. Breakfast was excellent and provided a great choice of yummy freshly made produce.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottages next to the main house, these are beautiful and luxurious rooms in such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a very pleasant place to stay and play golf. The rooms in the cottages are well appointed and the grounds a delight. The staff are very attentive and the food well presented. I do however have two small issues. Firstly it is not clear on the website that you need a car to get to the golf course if you are travelling with a trolley and clubs ( see separate review of golf course) and secondly many golfers will miss lunch while they are playing and would enjoy a hearty meal on their return. Be warned the golfing menu has only two choices for each of the starter, main and dessert courses and they are while beautifully presented they are small portions and we all left still feeling hungry. Fortunately the breakfast is excellent so fill up there!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fletch350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Fletch350,

Thank you for your feedback and I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

I am only sorry that you found the travelling from the Hotel to the Golf Club difficult, I just wasn't sure that you had been aware that we do provide a shuttle golf buggy to get you to and fro, and this includes golf clubs and carts if necessary.

Hope to see you another time.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My partner booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday in July 2012 where he proposed to me also!! We took advantage of the "Secret Sundays deal" and the glorious 7-Course taster meal in The Bybrook Restaurant.

All the staff were extremely polite and kind on arrival, there is valet parking and our bags were taken to the room for us. The Room was very spacious and the decor was unique and comfortable. I had the best night’s sleep in a long time as the bed was so comfy and big :) The Bathroom as also huge. Very clean and relaxing.

My partner had told the hotel before we arrived that he was going to propose to me and they made it completely perfect. (They even had a piano player in the restaurant!!) After I said "yes" they gave us champagne and a decorated dessert to celebrate and the chef came to speak to us after our meal. My partner said it was the best meal he’s ever had in his lifetime.

Wonderful experience, The Gardens at the hotel are beautiful to walk around, The village surrounding the hotel is lovely to go and explore, Ill be saving up to come here again without a doubt :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_bombshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just spent my husband's birthday weekend at The Manor. What a beautiful place - our room was stunning, and the grounds are lovely. The village itself, Castle Combe, is just gorgeous. We had a wonderful dinner, a walk in the grounds and surrounding footpaths and then a lovely lunch in the village pub. The best bit was leaving the kids behind and having 24 hours of lovely time together. thoruoghly recommend - just make sure you are prepared for the bar prices! ouch!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
7.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
11.1 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
22.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing