We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“40th Birthday Party” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“40th Birthday Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I hired Becky & Dave's function room last night for my husband's birthday do. We hired a disco and Becky provided a buffet while Dave tended the bar. The party has been several months in the planning and right from the start Becky & Dave have been very friendly and helpful. The initial price quoted was identical to the other quote I had but the space was much nicer, cosy with lots of great artefacts for atmosphere. Becky gave me buffet ideas which I then tweaked to suit our guests. On the day of the party we had access from the room from about 11am to put up banners and balloons and Becky & Dave took out all the tables we didn't need. Several people commented on how nice the space was, how good the food was and how nice it was to have access to other spaces for people who wanted to get away from the music. Becky gave me loads of advice about food and she certainly knows her stuff. In addition, the final price was lower than the other quote I'd had. All in all a great success which the Leanings made really easy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wiltshirewanderer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Leaning, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We were so pleased to hear everybody enjoyed themselves. For us, it was a full weekend as only the night before we catered for a large number of people present at a fund-raising event for Kidney Research UK were almost £2,000 was raised.
The birthday party went really well, all good fun and a positive experience for all.
Showing the adaptability of the The White Hart team we had the restaurant transformed back within hours of the party ending, ready to open at noon for a large number of people booked for Sunday Roasts.
What a good weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    41
    16
    13
    26
See reviews for
27
71
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Room was great value,food was excellent staff were helpful we were contractors it was home from home to us lovely old building.plenty of free parking and drinks were reasonable.struggled to find digs in the area and we were getting a little desperate as it was getting really late and our hosts made room up for us and nothing was too much trouble very often in a strange place the locals can be a little frosty but they were great with us and best of all there was a real fire to get warm on and chill out near ........................................................"

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We recently moved to the local area and the White hart is our local pub. When we first went it was being run by a young couple and the atmosphere was very cold unfriendly and spartan. Shortly after David and Becky took over and the transformation could not be greater. Due to work being carried out on our new home we spent a couple of nights at the inn, we could not have been looked after better, whereas David and Becky have made great positive changes more is still yet planned and it will get even better still. I would happily recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamesrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
That London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed at the White Hart on Saturday. First impressions were good. Enter through a big arched oak door into a warm, cosy bar with a proper log fire going. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

Everything appeared clean and tidy.

The room. Hmm. Suitable for a one night stay. It was clean at least. I loved the wonkiness of the floor which added to the character of the building. TV didn't work and the kettle was...on the floor? Is that where kettles are usually kept?

The linen was clean, but the bed...CHRIST! the bed. Guys...you need new beds! Mine rocked more than a mental patient in his padded cell. The headbaord was cheap and nasty and looked like it came from a house in 1980s Basildon, and the mattress must've been made from broken slinkies.

The bathroom was basic, but adequate. Bath could've had a bit of a clean round the edges, but otherwise it was OK.

The upstairs corridors were brilliant. I'm glad that the original look of the 17th Century building has been kept to a certain extent. Though keeping the 17th century paint is going a bit far. Some areas could do with a lick of paint.

It did have the smell of an old building though. Not in a musty horrible way, but in an antique way. This is a good thing.

Breakfast was good and again the staff were friendly and helpful.

Would I stay there again? Yes.

Overall, for the price of the room for a night, you can't really whinge too much. It wasn't dirty and service was fine.

Just a few points that need addressing


Oh, and music could do with turning right down after 9pm and off after 11 ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Leaning, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for an interesting read and your points are noted.
However I feel the need to point out a few omissions which will give a fair and accurate balanced view.
Your stay was for an annual pilgrimage to a drag car racing party with a group of 20+ like minded people that stayed with us for one night only (Saturday 16th November 2013) and the party was set to finish at 6 am. We had very little say in the 'specially reduced rates' (which was actually cheaper than staying in most hostels) as the majority of the room bookings were undertaken before we took over on 1st September.
Your syllogism that the user experience was 'alright for the price' and you would return to stay leads me to point out a flaw in your logic of "would we allow you(r group) to stay with us for the same price?" unfortunately is a resounding no.
You fail to mention the group mentality, rather the groupthink mindset which put us off, our staff and regulars who we value and care for.
There is the glaring omission of one of the group vomited in the ladies toilets on the Sunday morning prior to leaving after 20+ breakfasts were served which actually calculated as servings on a 1:1.7 ration after demand upon demand for more food.
There is the glaring omission of the declaration "Its a good job the staff were around otherwise we would have nicked this lot!", a reference to a large collection of cut crystal artefacts in a large ball and claw display cabinet.
Unfortunately during the course of Sunday it became apparent some pieces may have disappeared and we are keeping an open mind on the matter and we will raise the matter at the forthcoming pubwatch meeting.
I was impressed with my staff remaining patient overall and how they handled one member of the group who aspired to start dressing in the various pieces of armour which adorn the restaurant.
Another incident was the damage sustained to a mint condition 1902 nickel-plated till (valued at a four-figure sum).
One disappointment with tripadvisor is the absence of a sister site (unless somebody can put me right here) to give reviews of customers, effectively turning the tables.
Good luck with your collective pursuit next November to find accommodation at this years' price (fix) as any attempt to get into our hotel at these prices while we have the final say will be met with a most polite refusal.
One last point: kettles on floors and beds that rock? Mind-blowing. I can only offer a rationale explanation you must have upset the poltergeists big time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I have only been living in Calne for two months and have had little time to get to know the area with work commitments and a holiday at the end of September .
We arrived back from our holiday on the 13 of October, we were desperate for a Sunday lunch but time was moving and we were pretty sure we would have missed any opportunity for lunch.

I phoned by random the White Hart and asked if they did food ,the person who I spoke to turned out to be the owner ,he explained that Sunday lunch had ended however he could do something for us , we said we would be there in ten minuets,it is walkable for us however as they had been so accommodating we drove .
We were not disappointed in any department ,the decor is tasteful and stylish, beautiful wood burning stove which we sat near , not that it was cold but just felt so good to sit in front of an open fire , an array of tasteful comfy chairs wooden floors .
The owners were very welcoming and friendly and we both felt very at ease even though we had never been into the establishment before .we were offered Sunday lunch which was wonderful beef and pork very tender and tasty Yorkshire pudding !sweet potatoes ,roast potatoes , beans it was all cooked beautifully , extra gravy, awesome . My partner had coffee and I had two very good pints of Guinness .
In conclusion wonderful place to eat and relax , and lends itself to atmospheric get togethers /parties ,or to call into after a brisk walk this winter and sit by an open fire
We will defiantly be returning that's for sure,what a great job the owners have done having only been in six weeks.
Thank you
Lynette and Chris

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently chose The White Hart as the venue for a wake. When we first went there to have a look around, Becky the owner was so warm, friendly and welcoming, we felt this would be the perfect place! The dinining room was lovely and had lots of character and charm which you would want to find in a 17th Century building! The buffet food was really good and the home made cup cakes were divine! Tea, coffee, squash and music were all provided! I felt we received a really personal service! We were really pleased we chose The White Hart and we hope to be back soon! Highly recommended! Would love to stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanderbods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights shortly after the very nice attentive new owners had taken over and was really impressed.
this place has old world charm and character and both the owners and staff were most friendly, pleasent and accommodating, the food was good with plentiful portions.
we would certainly like to stay here again, this is going to be a little gem of a place to stay.
only tiny little niggles were put immediately right with no problem by the owners who have done wonders to turn the white hart around after apparent previous negative issues.well done and good luck to them in the future and id certainly recommend trying the White Hart out to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
9.4 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 2 London Road, Calne SN11 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart dates back to 1659 and has been providing food, rest and drinks ever since. It is a free house and therefore completely independent of any brewery or corporate enterprise. There are 15 rooms of various size and all are en-suite on three floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing