We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be returning”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will not be returning”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Arrived New Years Eve late afternoon to find hotel closed, with other guests waiting in car park to get in. Finally shown to our room which was a disappointment. Carpet stained, washbasin cracked, window frames dirty and no chair in the room. Enquired about the availability of food, but was told none available and directed to local chinese takeaway. Evening entertainment excellent, but function room freezing with many guests keeping their coats on all night.
Although paid for bed and breakfast, no breakfast was available in the morning with no explanation given.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PennyGeetravel, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you had problems when you stayed with us. I am the owner of the White Hart and was there on New Year's Eve. We explained to everyone who booked direct and called everyone who booked via the net to ok the fact that there was no breakfast. As compensation for that we offered not only a free ticket to the band (I'm glad you enjoyed them) but a free buffet too. Also, we offered ordinary room rates (not the normal increase for NYE).
As for the cold function room, our two security staff continually closed the fire exit doors, but those who were dancing were hot and the smokers are relentless in their continual forays to our smoking area. The rest of the guests, many locals and regulars, loved the band and the food and have asked to book next year. We can't however please everyone all the time. With 4 bar staff, two security staff, our marketing manager and myself around and conspicuous, if you'd raised any problems, we'd have tried our best to resolve them, that is our ingrained policy. Before now, someone needing a change of room gets it and if we are full, I personally drive guests to an overflow hotel we have. As a general rule, if you are ever unhappy in a hotel just talk to the staff and they'll be bound to sort it. That's why we all do what we do. Hearing a week later means we can't help you and that's a real frustration for a business like ours that is inundated with thank you cards and great reviews. I wishI'd had the chance to help on the night. I hope NYE 2013is better for you. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    50
    17
    13
    28
See reviews for
28
83
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

As we live in the gorgeous town that is Calne and had heard that new owners had taken over the place we thought we'd try it out for sunday lunch. So after a nice walk along the river we popped in to see what was on offer.

We were greeted by a lovely lady and offered a roast or food off the menu. The dining room has been decorated and nice pictures have been put up, as well as the fireplaces, which were blazing away, candles on tables ... it was actually really lovely.

The food was delicious i had Hunters chicken (chicken, bacon, chees) which is always my comparison meal ,as a i love it .... it was really good with homemade chips and mushrooms. The others had roasts which were generous in size and cooked really well .. the staff were attentive .. it was just really nice.

It was quiet though ..... it' was always very average before the new owners but, needs a chance to get going again and they are certainly putting effort into making it a lovely place again.

And just to say .... i have no affiliation with the hotel .... i just think it really deserves a chance as the owners really are making a great effort to make it work !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Checked in smoothly and shown up to our room by a lovely lady who I believe was the manageress. Room was a good size with a full bathroom and feature fireplace (for show only which was a shame!). The room was freezing when we checked in but warmed up quickly once we figured out how the switch the radiator on. Also there was plenty of storage. Breakfast was ok, the website states continental or full English - didn't see any choice for a continental but also didn't ask as we were happy with the full English option. The breakfast room was very cold! Overall a good stay, staff were great - always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieLMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Me and the wife looked for a holiday in the cotswolds and were delighted to find this beautiful inn. The atmosphere was friendly and the food sublime. We were genuinely taken aback by the quality of the cuisine. Jimmy the chef came personally to our table to wish us "bon appetite". This touch of kindness was typical of our stay. We cannot recommend the hotel enough as the room was delightful and the beds were very comfotable and didn't creak too much if you know what we are saying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I went for lunch here with my child, having spotted it when driving past on the way to the shops. It was coming up to 2pm and I didn't know whether they would be serving food. We were made to feel very welcome and offered a full menu and a bar menu. We didn't have long, so chose from the bar menu, but what a lovely surprise. We were served with very delicious home cooked meals, hot and fresh, with a side salad prepared at my request. As it was not busy, we were pretty spoilt, with custom made recipes. There was a lovely smell coming from the wood burner, a comfy leather settee and magazines to read whilst we waited for our food. We left in good time and will definitely be back with my husband, who was very jealous of our experience and can't wait to have a meal here to. Thank you for such a warm experience.

This is a lovely large, cosy pub with a restaurant area, as well as the snug which we were in. It looks like a fun place to be in the evening, with events going on, a live band tomorrow night.

Room Tip: I didn't stay here, but I was told there is a (friendly) haunted room if you're interested
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonghi-bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The place is fine - old reviews don't count as the new owners ( a lovely couple Steven And teresa) are very attentive. There are issues, like we arrived for breakfast with 15 others and that put them under real pressure but it's the sort of place where you can see how hard they are trying and really want to go in the kitchen and help. If the food was under lights in a series of pan things you'd help yourself but the owners won't do it, they insist on cooking to order and with my wife and daughter vegetarians the owner cooked beautiful mushroom omelettes with onions and spices from the main chef who is Afro-Caribbean, You couldn't make it up. The owner's obviously a highly trained chef and you can tell. You could do a lot worse!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegvegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for a month whilst working away. Really nice place, the building has loads of character. Superb friendly staff whom really make you feel welcome and do anything for you. Nice clean room and very little noise. Excellant food. Would stay again and recommend, especially if you are a contractor who get a very good rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
9.4 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
11.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 2 London Road, Calne SN11 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart dates back to 1659 and has been providing food, rest and drinks ever since. It is a free house and therefore completely independent of any brewery or corporate enterprise. There are 15 rooms of various size and all are en-suite on three floors. There are three functions rooms available so perfect for any wedding reception or other large functions. The main dining room can easily seat up to 50 in comfort. The upstairs function room has a private entrance, DJ booth with PA system and lighting effects hard-wired in with a private bar and M/F toilets. There is another private room at the rear of the bar with a separate entrance and perfect for meetings. private functions with dedicated Satellite TV which can double up as a large monitor for PowerPoint presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing