We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Search no further in this area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Search no further in this area!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a lovely place. Was not sure what to expect for a single room, even at this rate, but pleasantly surprised. Spacious, very well furnished (desk, separate table for tea facilities, huge bed, plenty of lights and mirrors, chair and coffee table, big bathroom with full length bath, walk in shower and smart sink, good wardrobe and storage.) Smart tea-making items but watch out for teapot which has a handle which becomes really hot quickly). Super linens make bed lovely. Booked in morning and arrived at lunchtime, too early for room so directed to spa. Looked forward to lounging a while with a book but had to stand like a lemon for a while as all loungers "reserved" with towels. Member of staff removed some and I was able to sit down at last but caused awkwardness on their return. Spa treatment included in deal but none available - short notice, I agree. There is warning of the "Children's splash hours" for the pool but nothing quite prepares you for the contrast of peace to immediate screaming in the echoing area as they came at 3.45 precisely. Suddenly the jacuzzi was full. Steam room and sauna good. The 3 course meal included in my rate was exceptional. I enjoyed every mouthful - this from someone who often finds it hard to find things on menus. Super presentation, wonderful flavours and excellent cooking. A memorable meal and friendly staff throughout the restaurant. Log fire and so many interesting coffee table books made the lounge very inviting - could have read all night there! All in all, I am so glad I "took the plunge" and paid a little more than I wanted to for my treat night away - super quality.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking green was fine - not sure what the view at other side would have been like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilacT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your super review. We will have a look at the hot tea pot handles and the ‘reserved beds’ in our spa. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable experience in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon when treat yourself again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    276
    116
    37
    28
See reviews for
236
494
12
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was a family weekend away for a group of 12 of us ranging from 1 year old to 92! There are some really nice bits about the hotel and some we'd rather forget with a few in between. Helpful receptionists and they're the ones to help you with bags etc. so that's difficult when there's only one of them there. Comfortable bed and nice rooms - go for the ones at the back as they overlook the golf course - but poor sound-proofing means waking up early if there are babies or young kids next door. Home-made biscuits in the room were a nice touch and fresh milk (for tea/coffee) was readily and quickly available. Heating controls were hard to understand and some instructions would have helped!
Didn't use spa treatments, but nice gym and pool with lovely views out. Bar area was nice but it took a long time to get drinks. Dinner in the 'Brasserie' (golf clubhouse) was pretty dreadful - no atmosphere, sporadic service and poor food. We did get a refund for this it has to be said, but it put a dampener on the evening. Breakfast was very nice although with that many staff, we'd have expected better service - there was a lot of wandering around avoiding customer gazes!
Dinner in the main restaurant was VERY slow to start with - had to ask for wine, bread etc. But, once service started for us, it got better and the food was very good.
Outside the hotel, the grounds are beautiful and it's well worth taking a walk to the spectacular kids play area, the lake and the main house.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteppieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Bowood. I am disappointed to read that your experience in our Brasserie was not up to our normally high standard of service, but I am glad that that this was dealt with during your stay. Bowood Estate does indeed have a lot to offer and I am pleased that you managed to see this. We hope to welcome you back soon, to allow us to show you the high levels of service you should have received during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned from a two night golfing break at Bowood. We had a balcony room which was lovley, very clean, magnificent bathroom, ample tea and coffee etc.

Golf course was excellent, despite the rain they have had recently, course was well maintained and fairways and greens good.

Food was excellent in both restaurants, the sherwood and the club house. Staff were very pleasant and helpful especially in the restaurants
If I had one reservation on this hotel it would be the cost of drinks which really bumps up the cost of your break, a gin and tonic cost nearly £8.00 and the wine is not cheap either, but overall a lovely hotel, one I would revisit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We also love our golf here at Bowood and we are happy to hear that your enjoyed your round. I will pass your great comments onto the Head Greenkeeper and the Food and Beverage Manager. We hope you are planning a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is excellent..as it should be! There are some deals to be had when they are quiet during the week, so give them a call!
Gym is excellent as the equipment is all new, and has amazing views over the golf course
Breakfast is as you expect spot on!
Rooms are a good size with high ceilings, they bed is sooo confortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiewindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for your great review. The Spa and the Food and Beverage Manager will be happy to hear your comments. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we stayed 2 nights early october the staff were very helpfull the room was very clean and very spacious we had great bath and fantastic shower in our bathroom. the grounds are wonderfull.this hotel oozed quality the spa area is good very clean we went there on a 2day deal and found it great value we will go back asap take a lovely walk around there grounds.we wernt there for golf but we can see why people do go for the that.this hotel is must my wife has moblity problems but found the bowood helpfull in every way .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on your stay at Bowood, and glad to hear that you managed to use the spa and take a walk around our Estate.

We hope that you return to Bowood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

You cannot go wrong with a visit to Bowood. We had a weekend in July, with a combined Golf/Spa package.

Everything about the Hotel & Spa oozed quality, and although the spa is not huge, it has everything you could wish for.

The restaurants were very good, with great service and meals. Service seems to be paramount at Bowood.

The golf course was in great condition, and even though the club members had a competition on Saturday morning, the Pro Shop still managed to organise us tee times.

I am very please to recommend Bowood, we will be going back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony room (these are at the back of the hotel, overlooking the golf course....... also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves on customer service and strive to give everyone an excellent Bowood experience. I am glad that you managed to use all our facilities and that you enjoyed your food.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bowood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

19 of us spent last weekend at Bowood. We're all regular and experienced travellers and the universal response was that this was an excellent weekend. The mix of actvities on the estate provided something for everyone from grandparents to grandchildren. The hotel indeed looks austere from the outside but inside and outside provides all the facilities you need. The setting is in lovely parkland, the rooms are spacious and immaculately clean, the spa was fine and the golf is clearly a big draw, as is the driving range and swimming pool for the children. If you add in a very interesting Bowood House and gardens, with adventure playground, you do not actually have enough time in a weekend to visit the attractive villages in the area.
On the meal front, breakfast was a bit chaotic but very well cooked and served by very responsive and pleasant young staff. A family dinner (for 19) was of a very high quality and the opportunty to relax casually in the library was most pleasant.
All the arrangements were easily made and the staff very easy to work with.
Altogether very satisfying to find a place that delivered in all the different areas. Well done Bowood!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithc519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Great to hear that you had a wonderful time away with your family at Bowood. We do indeed have a lot to offer and there is a lot to do. I will be sure to pass on all your comments to all staff involved in your stay. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
676 reviews
13.5 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
911 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
823 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
9.3 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing