We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Beanacre
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveler rating
661
164
64
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
661
164
64
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea outdoor pool beautiful hotel coach house scones bar menu comfy room attentive staff old house walled garden country house beautiful grounds overnight stay attention to detail evening meal the main house booked this hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 922 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Would love to write an essay about how amazing Beechfield House is but word count won't allow!! Afternoon tea is the best I've ever had and according to my niece, better than the Ritz, (and I agree!!) If you want to discover a hidden gem then head towards Melksham. We pre booked (and overnight) as a surprise treat for my Dad's birthday and they were amazing! The team are so guest focused, the house is immaculate, roaring log fires in all the public rooms, all in all a wonderful place to either visit or stay. We will definitely be going back as it has created such happy memories. The jewel in the crown of the experience was Ellie (apologies if I have misspelled), she was amazing and made everything flow perfectly. Thanks to the chefs for the incredible food and thank you Ellie for the 6* hospitality!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DanielT32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

To be fair, this property advertises itself as a Country House Hotel so maybe a business traveller is not the best person to review it. It's a lovely old building, but that means when you're in your bedroom you hear creaks and groans from the rooms around you. Also the plugs you need to charge your laptops etc. are placed in rather inconvenient locations, e.g. just above the skirting board behind the bathroom door..The lighting is very atmospheric in the bar; in other words almost too dark to read a book or newspaper.
On the night I was there there was only one person serving in the bar and the restaurant so the service was very nice, but very slow.
The highlight was the quality of the scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonBlueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Manager at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Not a very helpful review! Difficult to understand the point of posting this? It’s like reviewing a roast beef lunch and complaining it’s not vegan. Really frustrating to read comments like this for the team who work so hard to look after our guests. Incidentally we have lovely mix of guests including many corporate guests who have been returning for years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea. A nice location, well looked after and really good food & drink, especially the cake.

We would recommend, definitely a relaxing afternoon activity.
Thank you

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bob2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Manager at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Very nice to hear - so pleased you had an enjoyable afternoon tea with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

Dropped in with friends for a cup of tea and we were warmly welcomed and shown to one of the cosy lounges with a fire. Tea came with home made mince pies and gingerbread men - a lovely treat. We sat there for about 2 hours and nobody bothered us. To be recommended.

Oh yes and the loos were spotless and lovely and warm!!!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Manager at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Thanks for your kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Beechfield House, which is well positioned for Bath and Longleat. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and the food was delicious. We ate at the hotel every evening as we enjoyed our first meal so much. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ruth201054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2019

Thanks for the great review - we really appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews