We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beechfield House
Nearby Hotels
$126
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Lacock)
$196
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Conigre(Melksham)
$122
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Melksham(Melksham)(Great Value!)
$55
Travelodge
View Deal
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Hotel(Chippenham)
$70
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rudloe Arms(Corsham)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
569
138
54
22
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
138
54
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacoach housebeautiful hoteloutdoor poolsconesbar menuhigh standardcountry houseexclusive useold housewalled gardenfine diningfour posterwedding partyattention to detailbeautiful groundsbooked this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 789 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for Mother's Day weekend and dined in the restaurant. The hotel and room was very clean and bathrooms were newly refurbished. I was very happy with the room, enough space and all the amenities you would expect.

The setting is beautiful, set within beautiful grounds with the path lined with daffodils as you drive in.

Dinner was good but not excellent. I had the lamb which was ok, the kids food was over complicated for children. The simpler the better for kids, but we nevertheless enjoyed it and we were well looked after.

Lovely touches such as magazines, freshly made bread for breakfast, radio in the room, turn down service, very pleasant staff, well kept grounds and a porter to carry luggage to your car upon departure. I shAll definitely be returning... Next time with friends, or even booking for Mother's Day next year

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supergoodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us for Mother's Day and you are already planning your next trip. Please do let us know next time if you would like a simpler children's menu and we will be delighted to provide for you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This time of year the daffodils bow their heads as you make your way up the drive way. The house looks as beautiful on the outside as it is on the inside.

We were looking for a nice afternoon tea and we were not disappointed. A welcoming log fire and attentive staff greeted us.

We had the £15.60 afternoon tea which was accompanied by a selection of teas oolong delicious and earl grey. Cakes, sandwiches and scones with clotted cream. I was really excited by the cleanliness of the Hotel.

They have an open air swimming pool and beautiful gardens with the resident cat accompanying us around the grounds as if showing off his territory. This was one time I wish I was a cat.

We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philomenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thanks for a great review - glad you enjoyed meeting one of the hotel's two cats! We've very recently upgraded our afternoon tea service and now have a choice of 14 loose leaf teas as well as a new Villeroy and Boch crockery service. Hope you'll be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a truly wonderful stay here. The staff, the ambiance, the lounge, the food, the room. All excellent and I don't often say that!! We were a group of eight retired friends and they looked after us so well. From the afternoon tea the first afternoon, the meals in the evening and the excellent breakfasts it could not be faulted. We had our own private room which made it all the more special for us. We get together twice a year and this is the best place we have stayed in up to now.

Room Tip: We had the top floor in the Cosy Rooms but "cosy" they are not. They are spacious with excellent beds and bathrooms. I guess the two end ones are larger and we had one of those.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and very kind comments. So glad to hear you had a great get-together with your friends and hope you will all be back for one of your next ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Booked a meal here after being let down for a black tie event and found this on the Internet, from enquiring about booking for a meal to giving us directions to get to the place the staff member dealing with me was very polite and friendly.

Arrived after dark for our meal, but the paths were even and felt safe to walk in heels to the entrance and there was staff at the door to greet us and take us to the bar area, where we ordered our drinks and meals and waited there for our table, it was lovely as there was a large open fire to keep us warm while we waited.

The room we ate in was not overcrowded and there were only another couple of tables, the room was interesting with high ceilings, the waiting staff were attentive, but discreet, making sure that we had everything we needed.

The meal was presented well and tasty and the home made crackers with the cheese light and crisp, I have not tasted any so good.



Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank flopsy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

So glad you found us after your previous booking elsewhere fell through and that you had an enjoyable dinner and evening. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A HUGE thank you to the team at Beechfield House for the delightful 90th Birthday Lunch for my mother in law on Sunday 16th March the attention to detail was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they catered for all of us – aged 9 months to 90 years. I must thoroughly recommend them to anyone thinking of a family get-together – everyone enjoyed a wonderful, memorable day - we had the beautifully decorated Music room to ourselves – the weather was kind, the sun shone and 6 great grandchildren loved playing in the garden after lunch. All in all
the perfect day.
Thank you for making it so special

Room Tip: The grounds are a delight and more than enough to keep 6 little ones aged 6 and under occupied - fir cone collecting, hide & seek etc Lunch was lovely and all the children tucked into sausage and mash - perfect for them! Having the Music Room meant that we weren't disturbing other diners so great for a larger party
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vintage-Classics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments and for entrusting us with such a very special occasion for your family. All of our four dining rooms are excellent for private dining and perfect for special family occasions of any size.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews