We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice on the outside, shame about everything else”
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beechfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The website and the appearance of the hotel outside on arrival promise a lot but that's where it ends.
The hotels focus is clearly on large groups, weddings and corporate events and for 2 couples arriving on a Sunday lunchtime for a 3 night stay to celebrate a sapphire wedding anniversary , there was no acknowlegement of our arrival let alone a welcome.
Sunday lunch eventually arrived 2 hours after the time we had booked into the restaurant for. The function room doubled up as the dining area - rather large for 4 diners and in combination with the silver plastic chairs and accompanying Michael Ball Love Songs soundtrack we might just as well have been at the wedding which had clearly been held there the day before. The food was OK but the service was dreadful - very slow and impersonal.

The rooms were a big let down. Small, tired looking with worn carpet and furnishings with the most expensive of the 2 rooms having no shower. The bathroom steam revealed an obscene 4 letter message left by a previous occupant.

There was no tourist information regarding the immediate local area and the owner, when we expressed our dissatisfaction at the service and asked for a recommendation for a local restaurant or gastropub, was unable to name a single one.

(Tip: The Pear Tree Inn, the national winner of the catering pub of the year 2007 is 2 minutes away, though off the beaten track.
The staff there were very freindly, the food fantastic and the atmosphere great. They also have rooms.)

An item of clothing also went missing from 1 of our rooms.

We were presented with a full bill despite our poor experience and numerous complaints. No senior manager was avalable to speak to us prior to our departure and the owner had first notarrived and then too busy to see us.
We left having not paid the bill in full, requesting the owenr to make contact to discuss our complaints, the missing item of clothing and the unpaid portion of the bill.
We have heard nothing.
Poor service, poor value for money and overall an extremely disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DoctorAManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 760 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2008

Dear Chris,

A big thankyou to you and all your staff for a wonderful day on Saturday. Everything was perfect, the venue, the food and the staff, with special praise for Lucy who made the day run smooth and was extremely helpful throughout. We relaxed knowing that she was in control.

Also special mention of James and Maria who were so helpful to us and all our guests throughout the weekend. Nothing was too much trouble, something that is sadly lacking in a great number of establishments.

I knew we had done the right thing when we booked Beechfield for our daughter’s wedding.

I am sure you have read my email to Lucy, but would like to reiterate my feelings regarding the weekend. I have had my own wedding, children and grandchildren have been born, two sons have got married but I can honestly say that Saturday was the best day of my life.

I know as a family we shall be back to stay at Beechfield as it is a very special place.

Thanking you once again.

Yours sincerely
Paul Danbury

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DixieDanSouthBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Beechfield House for a weekend in mid June 08, and I can honestly say that it was one of the most pleasurable hotel experiences I have ever had.

The hotel itself is architecturally beautiful, easy to find but nicely tucked away in skilfully tended grounds. The poolside terrace is delightful, and had it not rained all weekend I would have struggled to stay out of the heated pool!

I believe that the hotel is currently undergoing some degree of renovation, and previous reviewers have noted that some of the rooms and bathrooms are a little tired. Whilst I would agree that there is space for improvement decoratively, I would stress that these issues are simply of the 'slightly worn' rather than the 'threadbare and vile' variety. I should also like to add that the room and bathroom were absolutely spotless, and that the hotel has made some priority changes already - Egyptian cotton bedding, a flatscreen television and a particularly large and sumptuous bed all helped to take our minds off the room's minor flaws.

Some headway has been made in terms of renovation in the public areas, and the bar in particular has been beautifully done with great respect for the building.

I'm pleased to say that we dined at the hotel, enjoying three courses for under £30 a head. The menu was reassuringly small but imaginative, and the food turned out to be top notch - beautifully presented, thoughtfully devised and absolutely delicious. The wine list was diverse and informed, with a variety spanning the globe (and price spectrum).

All of this aside, if I had to choose one aspect of our stay at Beechfield House which 'made' the entire weekend it would be simple. The staff are absolutely superb - the finest I have encountered. Incredibly welcoming (without a hint of corporate sycophancy), every member of staff we encountered was well informed, friendly, efficient and very professional. They are an absolute credit to the hotel, and I will be writing to thank them for their efforts.

I heartily recommend this hotel. Fair enough, if you look for slick corporate styling and a shower which pins you to the bathroom wall then you're probably searching in the wrong place. But if relaxation, excellent food, impeccable service and a touch of individuality is up your street, then you can't go far wrong with Beechfield House.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed here following the funeral of an Aunty. Afternoon tea was provided for the mourners and was delicious. Staff were particularly nice as we only booked tea for 5 but 11 turned up. It was no problem and all the elderly folk just loved it. When they left we booked in and stayed in the Walnut room up in the highest part of the house overlooking the beautiful gardens and pool. The room was extremely hot and in need of re decoration but the bed, linen and t.v are all recent updates and were excellent. However the bathroom was not brilliant. Grubby carpet on the floor, loose tiles and w.c and no shower, just a little handheld device which trickled water.
Bar food and wines were very good however as was breakfast.
This is a stunning house with excellent staff and such a lot of potential that I really think they need to sort out their rooms sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRoNewcastleUponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed at the hotel for a stag party. The staff throughout the 2 day stay were absolutely fantastic and very accommodating. Would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Hodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Hotels such as Beechfield are a rare find. At every turn, from booking to deparrture, our every need was catered for.

Charm, coutesy, and prompt service abound. The core elements for a good weekend away are all there. This is a hotel that has actually put someone who can cook in the kitchen. The gardens are immaculate and a delight. And the walled area containing the pool is a great place to sit and relax.

I particularly liked not having to sign for any meals or drinks, and yet we were presented with an error free account on check-out.

Maybe some of the fabric of the rooms need a little updating but our bedroom, Pear, was large, clean and comfortable.

Beechfield House exudes friendliness and based on our experience won't let you down.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnno-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stated in a family room (5 of us) for two nights. Hotel is set in nicely kept grounds and is slowly undergoing rennovation. It has a nice outdoor pool and has a very nice relaxed feel about the whole place. The manager and staff were friendly and accomodating and we enjoyed our stay.
The room was a large room at the top of the hotel with a large king size double, a single and two extra beds for the youngest kids. It was a good size and clean but appeared to be on the list for rennovation and the decor was just starting to get a bit tatty. The only real dissapointment of our stay was the fact that the bathroom had no proper shower facilities - a bath with a hand held shower attachment only. Not ideal.
Food was good, breakfast particularly and the kids thouroughly enjoyed themselves. Its most certainly worth a try and a good base for Castle Combe race track or Longleat..

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeside02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beanacre
4.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
5.9 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
559 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
697 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
893 reviews
4.3 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Address: Beanacre | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range: $154 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat & Lacock. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, a delicious lunch, traditional afternoon tea, bar snacks or fabulous two AA Rosette dining. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free superfast Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. We will ALWAYS match or beat any rate offered by the online travel agents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing