We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beechfield House
Nearby Hotels
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Melksham(Melksham)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$142
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Hotel(Chippenham)
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$148
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rudloe Arms(Corsham)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Red Lion(Lacock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Conigre(Melksham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
571
140
53
22
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
140
53
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacoach housebeautiful hoteloutdoor poolsconesbar menuhigh standardcountry houseexclusive useold housewalled gardenfine diningfour posterwedding partyattention to detailbeautiful groundsbooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 792 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I took her mum here to celebrate her 80th Birthday on the 18th November. We received fantastic service from when we entered the hotel to when we left. At no time did we fell rushed or pressured, the staff were all extremely polite and helpful, the food was excellent and overall, the whole experience was both pleasurable and relaxing.
The surroundings themselves are elegant inside the hotel and beautiful outside, especially at this time of the year with the autumnal colours of the trees. I would recommend Beechfield House to anyone looking for somewhere special to celebrate or just to go to for a touch of class!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

It was great to know that your mum in law had a wonderful 80th birthday celebration at Beechfield House. Thank you for your very kind comments - we hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked a night here for our wedding anniversary. The combination of the location, the architecture, the grounds, the food and the weather made it a stay to remember. The hotel is an old house which has been modernised, but still gives a feeling of being in a small lived-in stately home.

Our room overlooked the swimming pool. It had a large and very comfortable double bed with bedside tables in a reasonable sized room with good decor. There was a wardrobe, a 2 drawer sideboard with a large TV (with Freeview channels) a small desk and chair, and two comfortable arm chairs. There was no air conditioning but a large fan was provided. There were two mirrors and 3 table lamps. There was no overhead lighting so all lamps may need to be on. Tea and coffee is provided. The free Wi-Fi was very fast.

The bathroom was large and elegant with a deep bath with overhead shower and excellent lighting. A hair dryer was provided.

We enjoyed a pre-dinner stroll around the large, well maintained gardens. There are mature trees, and a small orchard adjoining cultivated fields. Unusually for a hotel of this size there is a croquet lawn, and, inside a walled enclosure, a small football pitch. In the morning we availed ourselves of the heated pool - big enough to do lengths and (in August) the water really was warm! Loungers and tables are provided.

The dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The varied menu is smaller than usual but all the food is cooked to order with a discrete and sensitive service. A nice touch after the meal whilst having coffee in lounge was a complementary sorbet on a plate with 'Happy Anniversary' written in very nice chocolate.

The breakfast menu was more varied than usual also cooked to order (thus a bit of a wait, but within reasonable limits). The bread is made on the premises and is delicious. The seating was in a variety of rooms giving a feeling of special service.

We were there during school holidays and there were a number of families with a number of children who did not detract at all from the enjoyment - the size of the grounds and number of rooms makes it easy to find peace . The only drawback was the lack of air conditioning in bedrooms which if facing the sun could get very hot, but we were there during the hottest period of an unusually hot summer.

Definitely a repeatable performance.

Room Tip: In summer ask for one which does not face the sun.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your very detailed and comprehensive review. It's great to have such positive feedback and to know that you had a really enjoyable anniversary stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beechfield House Hotel for a weekend break ? Do not hesitate!,
A beautiful Hotel in a glorious setting with fantastic rooms, we stayed in Willow a large ensuite room with its Super King sized bed.We recieved a warm welcome from all the staff and had a fantastic meal in the restaurant and excellent breakfast with plenty of selection. The staff are just fantastic, I will certainly be booking again when heading to the area in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you! What a super review and such lovely comments about the food and team at Beechfield House. It's really appreciated by all of us here. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My partner and I spent a night here en-route to the west country. This was a last minute booking and we took advantage of the competitive rate offered.
On arrival we were thrilled to find out that we had been upgraded to the Beech Room (one of the top of the range Country Rooms) and spent the night in absolute luxury.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and they were happy for us to mix and match the a-la carte menu and the bar snack menu to suit our needs.
Staff that we encountered throughout the stay were friendly, helpful and totally professional - all were a credit to the hotel.
We loved the room with its massive bed, huge HD TV and blue-ray player and had a wonderful, peaceful nights sleep. The free dvd library was an added bonus.
The weather was not particularly conducive to wandering around the grounds but we could see that they are well kept and would be lovely in good weather. Internally and externally the hotel is exactly as you would expect from a well managed, well presented country house hotel.

Room Tip: As we'd been upgraded this time we asked to view one of the 'cosy' (cheaper) rooms in case we wanted to come again and can confirm that they are also fantastic - much more modern than the ones in the main building but we'd have been very happy in one. All rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeandMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for such a comprehensively positive review covering your room, the restaurant and bar food and especially the lovely friendly team at Beechfield House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently organised my 40th birthday party at Beechfield House Hotel where I was joined by 100 or so guests many of which stayed overnight. I couldn't have picked a better venue. We had an amazing and very memorable evening. The staff were professional and friendly at all times, the food was delicious and the bedrooms were beautifully decorated and very reasonable priced. I would definitely consider Beechfields for a similar event in the future and would have no hesitation in recommending it to you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your very generous comments. We were very honoured to host your 40th birthday weekend and are so glad you had such a great time. See you for the next big one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews