We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience of staying in a country house!”
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beechfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience of staying in a country house!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here on our way from London to Cornwall. It was a convenient place to stopover and there are several places to visit while there, such as lovely Lacock and beautiful Castle Coombe. We were given an upgrade on arrival, which was a very pleasant surprise. The room was lovely and the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed that we have slept in! Bathroom was good but water pressure was low. The breakfast was fantastic and served in a gorgeous dining room. We ate in the bar both nights as we are not big evening meal eaters. The food there was tasty and quite sufficient for us. The front desk staff were all cheerful and helpful with suggestions as to where to visit. The gardens are gorgeous! Overall, a lovely stay in a country house which we would recommend to visitors to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - so glad you found us on the way down to Cornwall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    121
    45
    22
    6
See reviews for
196
316
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We would just like to say a big thank you to Beechfield House for making our wedding day so special. Everything ran like clockwork and we felt completely relaxed and at ease knowing that the staff had everything in hand. Beechfield made our wedding dreams all come true and the amazing house and gardens made it all so special. So many friends and family had such good things to say about the venue and staff and a few even said they were thinking of planning future events with there. We're hoping to be back next year to celebrate our 1st anniversary, and have also bought an afternoon tea voucher for a family birthday present.

I would recommend Beechfield house to everyone - they cater brilliantly from the very young to the older generation. We had several guests who required special dietary requirements, and they were amazing and made sure everyone had what they needed. The rooms were well kept and had everything we needed for our overnight stay. Some guests also enjoyed a little swim in their outdoor pool. I'm so pleased we chose Beechfield House as the venue for our special day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knittedmonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed and comprehensive review. It was lovely to hear that your special day went so well and that you and all your guests had a day to remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back from spending 4 lovely days at the Beechfield House in Beanacre. Arrived on a sunny day and spend a lovely afternoon by the pool which is heated and sorrounded by a beautiful garden. Our room was indeed very nicely appointed and big enough to accommodate 2 adults and 2 children. Bathroom also quite big, only draw back is tht water pressure is low. Breakfast and dinner were both nice as are the restaurants and bar area where you can eat a bit earlier if desired. The staff was very courteous, professiona and accommodating.

The hotel itself is located in a quiet area and stands on really pretty grounds to walk around. For us it was an deal place to set up camp and explore the area, close to Bath, Bristol, Castle Combe race track (which the kids really enjoyed); even Stonehenge and Salisbury were easy stops on the way back to London.

Overall a lovely place to stay. Will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank crg_londo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We look forward to your return visit - not hopefully before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We attended a friends wedding and stayed the 2 nights here, the hotel was very charming, nice décor and great bar area, very relaxed. The food was very nice(we dined in the restaurant the night before), a little overly formal for the size of it (quite small). But nevertheless very nice. Staff were efficient but not particularly memorable. The grounds are very nice, garden area and the pool area at the back were both lovely. The room we had was nice, modern and well equipped. bathroom was a bit small. Breakfast the next day was handled very well as the majority of the wedding party stayed. Perfectly adequate cooked breakfast and again staff were quick and to the point. Check out was a bit of a mess as lots of people were checking out simultaneously, so there was a lot of waiting and not a lot of organisation. Not particularly well managed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4DRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Checkout was quite difficult with almost the whole wedding party leaving at exactly the same time! I hope it didn't affect the overall enjoyment of your visit to Beechfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday and he couldnt have picked better.
The room was stunning and more than spacious. The staff were amazing and couldnt do enough for us.
The afternoon tea was delicious as was breakfast with a great choice of food available.
I had a masssge in the spa which was great and my husband and son enjoyed the pool.
It was in a beautiful setting and i would love to revisit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriaconnolly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. So glad you enjoyed so many different aspects of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with pretty grounds. The staff were helpful and pleasant and the room was clean and well equipped. The only gripes we had were the scrambled egg at breakfast which was well over cooked and lying in water and my partners side of the bed had a dip at the top so she had to sleep the other way around

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments however please accept my apologies for the scrambled egg - we will do better next time.
Would you mind contacting me please to advise which room you were in so I can investigate the bed problem. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Where to begin! We had many appointments to view various wedding venues, Beechfield being our first, it turns out Beechfield was the only place we looked around, we found there was no need to view anywhere else. From the very first time we entered Beechfield we were greeted and treated amazingly. Communication from day one has been first class, any concerns, adjustments were dealt with perfectly. Beechfield is the ideal wedding location, the house itself has the most romantic relaxed atmosphere. The grounds are kept perfectly and are so beautiful, with the most perfect picture opportunities. We opted for exclusive use making it all ours for the weekend, allowing family and friends to stay and join us for breakfast. Also to enjoy the glorious pool the Sunday morning in the sun! We got married on May 18th the week leading up to our day it poured, again I was not concerned as staying inside to us was not a problem as it is plenty big enough. Now to the food, it was exceptional, the service, the way the whole day was ran was outstanding. Everybody loved the meal which we suited to our own tastes not just off the menu, they were more than happy to comply with our suggestions. The food received nothing but compliments! The accommodation was perfect every room kept to the highest standards. Mixture of older styles and modern rooms to suit everyone's preference. The change over from ceremony, to restaurant to disco was again ran without a problem or anyone even noticing it was going on. All the staff were friendly, helpful and would go out there way to make the day extra special, special thanks to Jean-Luc firstly for putting up with my occasional bridezilla moments! For anyone looking for the perfect wedding venue than Beechfield can not be beaten.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful reference for anyone else considering Beechfield House for their special wedding day. I am so glad you had such a fabulous day and JL enjoyed every moment working with you to plan it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beanacre
6.8 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
653 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
13.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
595 reviews
4.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
427 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Property: Beechfield House
Address: Beanacre | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free Superfast dedicated Fibre Broadband Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing