We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay for a wedding”
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely stay for a wedding”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Beechfield for a friends wedding which was held at the house. Although it was slightly pricey, we preferred to stay at the venue rather than arrange transport late at night back to a nearby hotel.

The hotel and grounds are immaculate. I loved our room on the first floor, it was spacious, tastefully decorated and had a nice view over the outdoor pool and garden.

Breakfast was amazing, especially with a hangover from celebrating the night before! Many options for a hearty cooked breakfast.

Would definitely recommend. It's worth splashing out if you are attending a wedding here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor were much nicer than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to give us such positive feedback following your stay for your friend's wedding. Beechfield House is a magical place for Christmas weddings and we are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    123
    48
    22
    6
See reviews for
199
317
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I, and our little dog had the absolute pleasure of spending a few days (one night) at Beechfield House Hotel between Christmas and New Year. Quite often when a hotel states they're dog friendly they mean 'dog tolerant', with restrictions left right and centre. Not at Beechfield House ... our little dog was treated like Royalty from the moment she stepped through the doors. We stayed in one of the Cosy Rooms in the attached coach house, we assumed it would be a small room given the word 'cosy' in the description. The room was far from small, it was extremely spacious yet retained that cosy feel. The rest of the hotel is equally beautiful, but again retains that cosy feel you hope for in a country hotel. There is a lovely conservatory style area where we were able to relax and have a bite to eat along with our dog. We highly recommend the full afternoon tea.

In the evening, we dined in the restaurant where exquisite food was served by the most delightful staff. Understandably, the restaurant is a dog free zone, but this wasn't a problem for us or our dog. When we asked if we could leave our dog unattended in our room whilst we went to dinner, not only was it a resounding yes, we were shown how to ensure the key activated lights and t.v. remained on whilst we were out of the room.

One of the many amazing things about the Beechfield House Hotel is that despite being such a dog friendly hotel, there is absolutely no hint of 'dog' anywhere. If you didn't know it was a dog friendly hotel, you would have no idea a dog had ever ventured into the building. The hotel is absolutely spotless and smells as fresh as a daisy.

A hotel is nothing without the right staff, and every single staff member at the Beechfield House Hotel were truly delightful. Thank you to each and every one of you for making our stay at the Beechfield House Hotel one of the best we've ever had. We usually don't return to the same hotel twice, but we will now be making an exception. The Beechfield House Hotel could well become our second home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. It was particularly satisfying to see you found the house so dog welcoming but not at all doggy! I couldn't have put it better myself. We look forward to more return visits for all of you! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My daughter had a late afternoon wedding in Bath followed by drinks and canapes then a black tie dinner in the evening at Beechfield House. We were a small party of 24 of which most stayed overnight at the hotel. The help we received pre the event was very good and everything was done in a relaxed manner. On the evening everything went smoothly - the three course meal was excellent and the service we received all evening was exemplary. I would highly recommend this venue as a hotel and an event venue. The hotel itself is a very impressive country hotel which lends itself to beautiful wedding photos. All in all a very good choice which we were all pleased with. Well done to staff and management alike!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your daughter's recent wedding reception at Beechfield House. It was a real honour and pleasure to host it and good to hear that all the well prepared plans were well executed by our teams. We hope the happy couple may revisit us for an anniversary stay in the future. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a lovely evening when a few of us came together to say good bye to a colleague. We had a private room which was decorated and laid out wonderfully. Our food and wines were excellent, the staff attentative and fantastic. Our plans and discussion we had in the run up to the event were carried out and executed exactly as discussed. The whole experience was magical. The whole staff team came together and delivered. We would recommend this hotel for its building, staff, food, drink, atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Many thanks for taking the trouble to review us in the busy lead up to Christmas. It was great to learn of the success of your colleague's retirement dinner. I'm so glad that our events team looked after you all so well. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My daughter and I had a girly weekend, we stayed in a cosy room which was wonderfully roomy. Everything was clean and the complimentary tea and coffee was replenished daily, and a bottle of water and biscuits as well. The staff were all friendly and polite, felt very welcoming, nothing was too much for them. We even spoilt ourselves with a facial and pedicure, highly recommended. The food was excellent, breakfasts were plenty to choose from and even provided a boiled egg and soldiers for my adult daughter! Highly recommended would stay there again anytime!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your very generous feedback. It was so nice to know that you and your daughter had a relaxing pre Christmas stay with some tempting treatments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Beechfield House just before Christmas 2012, and we have nothing but good things to say. We stayed in a 'cosy' room, which was supposed to be basic. It was lovely and roomy, well decorated, with a very comfortable king size bed. The house itself is beautiful!!! Lots of period features, well maintained grounds and quiet. But it is the food and the staff that make the place what it is. The food is fabulous, I just can't say more. Moreover, the staff can't do enough for you, and their interest in whether you're enjoying your stay feels genuine. The hotel provided a really nice base from which we gained easy access to Bath, Stonehenge and Salisbury Cathedral. All in all, I can't recommend this wonderful hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kojo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
WOW! - Probably the best review we have ever received. Thank you so much. You have covered everything - the bedrooms, the building, the grounds, the location, the food and our great team! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a nice room in the coach house called 'Holly'. Everything seemed very clean. First impressions were that the corridor was clean and smelled fresh. The room was comfortably furnished with a king sized bed, good size flat screen TV and two tub arm chairs. There was plenty of room for the dog to find a place to settle down without having to move every time we wanted to get something from the case or go to the bathroom. There was nice chrome plug sockets and everything seemed well finished.

The place was full for dinner that night and no room in the restaurant for Sunday lunch either. Obviously popular with locals and it was a weekend near Christmas so work and family get togethers had filled the restaurant.

Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of fresh fruit for breakfast: I had poached pears, my partner mixed fresh fruit. The coffee was hot and of good quality which is one of our benchmarks of a good hotel. There was a nice range of hot breakfast choices all with a local/ West Country provenence. Breakfast was cooked and served at the table bacon at little overlooked for our taste. Another benchmark for us is toast! None of your pre sliced supermarket bread here. It was proper cut bread cooked fresh toasted on the outside soft underneath. Delicious!

The grounds provided ample space to exercise the dog. All in all a good stay. We would definitely recommend it and would stay again as we have family who live locally.

Room Tip: Coach house contemporary. Main house traditional
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind and generous feedback. it was particularly pleasing to read your comments about our freshly prepared breakfast including the quality of our coffee and homemade breads and poched fruit etc. We hope to see you again in 2013. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beanacre
6.8 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
660 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
13.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
601 reviews
4.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
436 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Property: Beechfield House
Address: Beanacre | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. Free Superfast dedicated Fibre Broadband Wifi is available throughout the hotel, terrace and walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing