We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay to visit Stonehenge.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One night stay to visit Stonehenge.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely holiday inn fabulous rooms very clean we stopped in a executive room family four, pricey bar good wifi lovely breakfast . Great location for a visit to Stonehenge . We also had a lovely meal at the Harvester pub near by while we where stopping here. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Shazem,

Thank you for your recent response, it is great to read you had a good stay with us. Although biased from my prospective I must agree we have an excellent breakfast product which fuels you up for the challenges of the day ahead. Next time you are with us may I invite you to try the Solstice Bar & Grill for dinner, we have an excellent menu which comprises of traditional favourites, comfort food and a fine dining selection which is AA rosette acclaimed.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    346
    108
    38
    23
See reviews for
206
321
35
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

An odd Holiday Inn this. i stayed here whilst visiting relatives with my teenage son.

Its certainly modern, and clean. The bar is well laid out and the breakfasts are right up there with any 4 star buffet. Beds are very comfortable and the rooms fresh

But there are oddities. theres no swimming pool and the "beer garden" area was in reality just a few tables and chairs sat outside a side entrance to the bar, overlooking the feeder road to the car park. It looked as if it had just been added as an afterthought.

The rooms are a good size but atrociously planned so you have a large vestibule area which eventually leads to a very small bedroom area. I suspect the square footage is quite good but much is wasted on the vestibule area. The bathroom is not a bathroom but a shower room, having said that, the shower is cubicle is large and the shower very good. The airconditioning does work operating via a remote is very fiddly, good luck with working it out!

The hotel is situated on a small retail park with a fuel station, a KFC, Pizza Hut and Harvester, so you couldn't call the grounds pretty, on the other hand it does mean that there are plenty of eating options with the kids in tow. The harvester was pretty average for the brand.

Overall this is a mixed bag, the rooms seem more Holiday Inn Express than Holiday Inn, the common areas, excepting the exterior "beer garden" more Holiday Inn than Express. The prices are definitely way more Holiday Inn, which does effect its value outcome. Certainly I would recommend it for a short stay but dont plan to spend time lounging in the room. This is definitely a stopover hotel for visiting the area and it fulfils that role well, though by no means cheaply.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Foryboohoo,

Thank you for your recent feedback it was great to see you noted so many positives including the cleanliness of the hotel, the layout of our bedrooms and the quality of our breakfasts.

The location of the hotel is certainly one of our assets, just of the A303 linking London with the West Country and ideally placed on the ever growing Solstice Park just 3 miles from Stonehenge makes us ideal for so many different reasons.

I hope we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Me, my wife and 2 kids (aged 9 + 13) booked the Stonehenge package which is Dinner, Breakfast and entrance to Stonehenge. This was also in an executive room on the 2nd floor which was huge. On checking in we booked our dinner sitting and were advised to get in slightly earlier as there were 2 large parties dining at the time we wanted. We went to our room which was made up for us and the kids loved the complimentary chocolate and water. Starters were prompt, Dinner was very tasty and our fussy son devoured his pasta and the deserts were gorgeous. We then watched a film (which was free as we had kids in the room). The shower was very powerful and the bath was very deep. There was a great selection for breakfast. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We all had a wonderful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Steve H,

Thank you for such a warming review, I can certainly see you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our Stonehenge package is great value and allows you to experience our 4 star accommodation an excellent meal and breakfast before you visit the splendour of Stonehenge.

As you have highlighted during school holidays we are delighted to provide children with free movies during their stay to allow you some time to relax after a long drive down.

I would certainly recommend a visit next year to see the new Visitor Centre at Stonehenge as they take this mystical site into the 21st century.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I’ve stayed here several times over the years and I have had nothing but a brilliant stay every time. The staff are courteous and polite. Although the bar food is very expensive, if that doesn’t tickle your fancy there is a Harvester, Pizza Hut, Costa, KFC and even a petrol station within a couple of minutes’ walk! Being not very far away from Thruxton Circuit or Stonehenge and with lovely views due to being in an isolated spot. It is a very lovely hotel – I always sleep very well and the rooms are clean and well maintained.

A problem (if you really wanted to see one) is the TV system. Which is typical of all Holiday Inns, the remotes are worn out and subtitles aren’t available on any of the channels. If they are, the screen automatically adjusts so you can’t view them. No sleep timer on the TV either which I usually like. But that’s just personal preference. One other thing is the tea tray is stored in the cupboard and even if you get it out, it’s put back in the cupboard when they clean the rooms. This seems a bit pointless.

Other than the few niggles mentioned above, which to be honest, do not really affect my stay at all. A lovely hotel and even for a Holiday Inn, has a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Danelle D

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warming response, as a valued repeat guest it is great to read your views and I thank you for your loyalty to the brand and this hotel especially.

I note your comments about the bar food prices, I personally think our prices are relatively on par with other establishments on the park, however I must emphasis here you will be able to enjoy a personal level of service with the confidence that all our menu items are prepared fresh on site.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. I hope you have been able to make the most of our summer months.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel provides a good stopover on the way up and on the way back if you don't like doing long car journeys all in one go. Coming up from the west can be a problem on a Friday as you hit the great surge of traffic on the A303 as the road keeps narrowing down into one lane. The rooms are not available until 3.00pm and this is when the traffic is building up. The hotel itself is really quite remote although the Solstice site is being developed and will have more as time goes on - it is therefore a bit soulless. The hotel staff were very good and apologised to us after quite a long wait at reception where there are only two stations open. When busy the queue can build. We had one evening meal and one breakfast. The evening meal was reasonable without being outstanding. The breakfast offered a lot of choice. I found that the hot counter didn't keep the food very hot. It was very busy whilst we were there and the staff did their best. It is difficult to deal with customers who are demanding or rude and young children running around is the fault of feckless parents not the hotel staff. Our room was small but comfortable with a good shower cabin.

Room Tip: Try and keep away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jertax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear jerlex,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review; I note the hotels excellent location on A303 which is great as midway break or a convenient point to explore Stonehenge and the beautiful city of Salisbury. We promote check in from 3pm however if bedrooms allocated are available earlier it goes without saying we will be delighted to check guests in as we understand you want to relax and unwind after your journey.

I am pleased you were able to dine with us, we have a fantastic restaurant product which was recently awarded an AA rosette for its use of home cooked produce and efficient service. I very much look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Met by a very sweet & friendly front desk. My family of 3 had booked an exec room at a bargain price. Room was impeccably clean & very spacious. Contemporary decor. Love the Stonehenge artwork as seen in the photos. Floor to ceiling windows. Floor to ceiling mirrors. Free chocolate & water ... fridge at cost. Bed comfortable & clean. Sofabed for my daughter. This hotel is part of a business park in the middle of nowhere. The Harvester, Co-op & KFC is very handy. I hear a McDonald's is on the way. For us it was ideal. We visited Stonehenge 5 minutes down the road & took a 30 minute drive (if that) to Longleat. We used the restaurant. Good service. Curry & panini were delicious. Steak not the best. If you're looking for a hotel in the middle of hubbub this is not the place for you. If you've got things planned in the surrounding area & you need a very safe & comfy pit-stop in the middle it's perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear poe333,

Thank you for a really nice review highlighting the contemporary décor of the hotel and your personal thoughts about your bedroom. This time of year you get some beautiful sun rises from our east facing rooms which is the perfect way to start a day. I am pleased you were able to dine in our restaurant and experience our great menu selection; I have this morning highlighted your comments about the quality of the steak to our chef. We were both surprised as the majority of our meat is purchased from a high quality local supplier who has an A-list of venues they serve.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Ideal for visiting Stonehenge. Rooms were clean modern and very nice though quite small. Food in restaurant was above average. Location and comfort make this a very good choice. It's a stones throw from stonehenge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jschaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Jschaf,

Thank you for your snapshot response, it is great to read you had a good stay and was able to enjoy dinner in our Solstice Bar & Grill. Our rooms are a good size and cater for all different traveller types with the added benefit of air conditioning.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.7 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Property: Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Address: Mid Summer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the incredibly bold and stylish sophistication of the closest hotel accommodation to the mystical Stonehenge - Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge. Located on the A303 in the heart of picturesque Wiltshire, England, our contemporary Holiday Inn Salisbury hotel is easily accessible from the M3 motorway, London, the Midlands, and the West Country. Work, relax, and make the most of your stay in the modern, air-conditioned comfort of our well-appointed rooms and suites. Savour mouth-watering cuisine or unwind with casual cocktails in our AA Rosette award winning Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. Enjoy a STARBUCKS coffee while making use of the free Wi-Fi in our lounge, ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends. Experience easy access to the colourful landscape of sights and attractions dotting the English countryside. Whether you’re traveling for business or on holiday, you’ll enjoy the superb amenities and boutique-style services that set us apart from the usual Salisbury Stonehenge hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Holiday Inn Amesbury
Salisbury Stonehenge Holiday Inn
Amesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing