We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, great flexibility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Have stayed on numerous occassions and reguarly get a room upgrade; travelling alone on business. Room service very good, and restaurant ideal for eating alone or as part of a group. A modern and comfortable hotel which has very friendly and welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room, have stayed on numerous occassions. All rooms immaculate, air conditioning wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmudgeWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. What a great compliment each time you return! We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 936 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

This has become our hotel of choice when we visit the Salisbury area. As it's about 10 miles out of town, its not necessarily the most convenient place to stay, but that is more than compensated for the reasonable pricing, ease of car parking and quality and comfort of the rooms.

On our last visit we were upgraded to a very comfortable executive room which was much larger than the standard rooms and features several additional items (sofa, bathrobes etc). Having said that, the standard rooms are perfectly comfortable with good quality bedding and more
than adequate sound-proofing.

The hotel restaurant is pricey but has some interesting things on the menu such as scallops and prawns with chinese vegetables and pan seared calves liver with pancetta. Mention must also be made of the excellent breakfast which we always have delivered to the room - very good quality and always served hot and on time.

Staff at the front desk are friendly and efficient and do seem to care about making sure the guests are looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. We are delighted with your comments and rating regarding our services, staff and facilities and we look forward to welcomg you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Driving in to the hotel from Southampton airport, unless you like farm land....there is NOTHING to see. Then out of no where appears an oasis. This building / facility is probably the most modern building in the entire area near Stonehenge.

Pros:
1. Upon entry into the hotel you are greeted with a very courteous staff that actually smile (that's not the norm at many places.)
2. Very nice quiet rooms with most of the the amenities business travelers expect
3. Nicely stocked mini fridge
4. Clean and modern bathroom and the shower gets hot
5. The Soltice restaurant in the lobby of the hotel blowed me away. When traveling abroad, eating in rural areas can be hazardous. Often the food temp is not adequate, the food prep/ hand washing may not be adequate or pests and rodent control is left unchecked. So, I typically don't risk eating anything that is not prepackaged, with seals intact.
However, I ate every night in the restaurant. I had the Fetta Cheese and Olives, Grilled Salmon, Mashed potatoes, Mixed Veggies and a glass of Riesling. Every night the food was so fantastic, I just ate the same thing every night.


Cons:
1. No gym - I was stranded for additional days due to snow (the hotel accommodated me without hesitation )). BUT It would have been nice to get a workout
2. No wireless in the rooms - no one wants to sit at the desk, connected to a cable all day to work and then after work, email or blog. Wireless in the rooms is essential for business travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twillis600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and dining experience in our award winning restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again soon along with some better weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Whilst this place has a restaurant, if you're on a budget do not panic as there is a a co-op, Pizza Hut, Harvester and KFC on the same site. Stonehenge is only about 6 miles away and there is plenty to do in Salisbury. Rooms are well appointed if a little impersonal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Restraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you appreciated our ideal location only 3 miles from Stonehenge and 8 miles from Salisbury. We do have an excellent award winning restaurant with prices to suit all tastes. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We decided to stay here a couple of nights on way to visit family over xmas. Close to Salibury and obviously Stonehenge but also not far from Longleat (Which was better than id expected).
Liked the bar area and breakfast was good. Didn't eat there in evening as wanted to try a local country pub.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJackson_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our location and good food in our award winning restaurant. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is still a couple of miles from the Stones so don't be fooled into thinking you have a view!!!

Very over priced for what it offers, very small but clean rooms and an expensive bar and you pay extra for WiFi!!!!
The food in the restaraunt is very nice though and there is a Pizza Hut and Harvester on the same site

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinks186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are only 2 miles from Stonehenge and conveniently situated on the side of the A303 which also passes the Stones! We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal in our award winning restaurant. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had booked a trip with my two kids of 6 and 8 as we wanted to see Longleat at Christmas and Stonehenge. Travelling from Essex we needed to base ourselves nearer the attractions to allow us to enjoy our time at an easier pace. We booked for two nights and the three of us shared an executive room and the kids stayed and ate for free (with an adult). We received a great welcome and our room was all we could expect it to be. Large enough for three of us, great bathroom, tea and coffee, iron and ironing board and a great aspect overlooking a vast open space which was a little eerie but just added to the whole flavour of the trip. Breakfast was also something to look forward to with buffet style service that both I and the kids enjoyed, there was nothing missing that you would need for a good hearty start to the day and the dining room was spacious and well laid out and allowed you to enjoy breakfast at your own pace which added too our stay travelling with two young kids and took a lot of pressure off. In the same Solstice Park area you have places to eat such as Pizza Hut, KFC, Harvester, Costa Coffee if you did not want to eat in the hotel. They are what they are but the Harvester provided us with a good value meal at the end of a long day and the service we received from Lauren on our visit was second to none. If you have forgotten anything there is a Tesco within walking distance or two minutes in the car. If you are on business or pleasure for a visit to this great part of the world then I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn, great staff, clean, comfortable and in just the right place to spend a couple of days exploring this great part of our beautiful country.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary and comprehensive review. We are delighted with your comments and so glad that you appreciated our location, staff and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
335 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
322 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
7.8 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Address: Mid Summer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range: $98 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the incredibly bold and stylish sophistication of the closest hotel accommodation to the mystical Stonehenge - Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge. Located on the A303 in the heart of picturesque Wiltshire, England, our contemporary Holiday Inn Salisbury hotel is easily accessible from the M3 motorway, London, the Midlands, and the West Country. Work, relax, and make the most of your stay in the modern, air-conditioned comfort of our well-appointed rooms and suites. Savour mouth-watering cuisine or unwind with casual cocktails in our AA Rosette award winning Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. Enjoy a STARBUCKS coffee while making use of the free Wi-Fi in our lounge, ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends. Experience easy access to the colourful landscape of sights and attractions dotting the English countryside. Whether you’re traveling for business or on holiday, you’ll enjoy the superb amenities and boutique-style services that set us apart from the usual Salisbury Stonehenge hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Holiday Inn Amesbury
Salisbury Stonehenge Holiday Inn
Amesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing