We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A CONVENIENT PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A CONVENIENT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here last weekend with my 12 year old daughter in a twin room. Hotel is newly built, all fresh and clean. We were spending a weekend visiting Stonehenge, Longleat and Salisbury. It was a convenient base just a few minutes away from Stonehenge. Its location is actually beside a service station with Pizza Hut and Kentucky Fried Chicken etc in the same area. If you are looking for a good reliable standard of accomodation, it is a convenient place to stay, just off the dual carriageway. But it was very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was good and available until 10:30. We did not eat in restaurant which looked a bit soul less but maybe we are being unfair. It was the same area as we ate breakfast

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you found our location so convenient for visiting some of the many tourist attractions in our area. Our AA rosette awarded restaurant does serve excellent food so maybe you could give it a try next time you stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    344
    105
    38
    23
See reviews for
205
318
35
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Gone past this hotel many times and decided to try it, very nice bit concerned about the A303 right next to it but we couldn't hear it at all (we were at the back), reception was very friendly and helpful and room was spotless, roomy enough for 2 with climate control unit (bit noisey but we didn't really notice it). however, the restaurant/bar was another matter, while the restaurant staff were quite friendly the drinks bill seemed a little unpredictable with a tendency to overcharge (over £9 for a pint of becks and a pimms listed price was about £7) and being charged for a bottle of wine that was not only £3 dearer than the one we'd had wasn't even listed on the wine list, that and having to guess the routine at breakfast means I wouldn't use the restaurant again having said that the food was quite good if pricey for what there was, luckily there are nearby options. Would we stay again? For a one night stopover definitely yes (wouldn't use the restaurant/bar) longer term stays, and there are many nice hotels nearby with more facilities and more predictable pricing.

Room Tip: Our room was away from the road on the 1st floor and was very quiet really liked it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We would like to apologise for the discrepancies you found with the drinks pricing. We will be reviewing our bar pricing and training of bar staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and appreciated our friendly staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, enables us to take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We do hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we wanted to walk to Stonehenge from Amesbury.Very new hotel with nice reception area. Very friendly and helpful staff.Lovely breakfast especially the fresh fruit..Room was perfect and although hotel is situated on the A303 this is not a problem in terms of noise.My son loved the mod cons in the room and weighed us with enthusiasm!
Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying that little extra for executive rooms especially when booked in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivien b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted with your comments and recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Situated on the A303 close to the City of Salisbury and the town of Amesbury this hotel met all our needs. The location is ideal as either a stopover to break your journey to the Southwest or take in the sites of Stonehenge and the City of Salisbury. The hotel has its own restaurant with a varied menu being reasonably priced, a bar menu is also available. The rooms are clean and provide all your needs for a short break. The bar, restaurant and reception has free WiFi which offers a good upload and download speed. If you want to eat something else the hotel is within walking distance of a Harvesters, KFC and Pizzaland so all tastes covered. Even if you are just passing there is a Drive through Costa Coffee. The staff at the hotel are polite and very helpful. The breakfast provided is plentiful and covers everyone's tastes, if you do not see it ask the staff Wilkinson provide if they have it. A great stay in a great hotel in a great location

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadgetmonsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your very complimentary and comprehensive review. We are delighted with the 5 rating and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have stayed in Holiday Inns numerous times. I cannot fault the service from the start when booking a room(the lady was exceptionally friendly), service at check in (cannot get a mattress topper but supplied us another quilt for my son’s sofa bed) or even service at the restaurants.

However ,the room was on the small side. I could not close the curtains without clambering over my son’s sofa bed. If I want to use the table in the room. I have to sit on the said bed. In the end I had to use the mirror in the bathroom. I cannot pull the chair out as there was absolutely no space. Not an inch. The room would be adequate for a couple but not if you have a child with you. The shower was only adequate but the room and bathroom was spotless. The safe in the room was okay for us to put a laptop and ipad in. This is a useful feature. We were charged £7.95 for 24 hours use of the internet.

We had a dinner bed and breakfast deal. While the food was delicious in the dinner bit, it was “nouvelle cuisine” where the food was like two bits on the plate. We were still pretty hungry after the main course. If we knew how inadequate the food was, we would have ordered more but by then, it was too late. We would have much preferred to eat in the Harvester across the road. The next day, we had a snack in Costa (also across the road) before dinner. We have had a substantial breakfast but did not have lunch as we were not hungry then. However to be fair to them, you could just easily have ordered from the main menu but we were given a different menu as part of the deal.

The décor was good and the service excellent but there was something missing.

Would we come to this Holiday Inn again. Probably not. We much prefer the Stratford Upon Avon one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive from our guests and welcome any opportunity to improve. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a reunion and this is really a very good hotel indeed, yes it's part of a large chain, but don't let that put you off, we arrived after a very cold day shopping in Salisbury and we were pleasantly surprised by the warm and very friendly welcome. The hotel was immaculate, the bar and restaurant area was very modern and very comfortable spoilt by only one thing the coffee (this is a Starbucks franchise) and is possibly the worst coffee ever, but that is it, that is my only criticism, the rooms were large, well presented and very comfortable. We had breakfast the following morning prior to our departure and it certainly set is up for the day ahead. Well done Holiday Inn a great hotel, friendly and welcoming staff but ditch the coffee, it takes too long to make and tastes vile, filter coffee and cafetières it's the way ahead honest :-)

Room Tip: Book early great discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beamish198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review. We are delighted with your comments. Starbucks coffee however is extremely popular so we are sorry that you are not a fan! We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stopped here after spending the morning and afternoon in Salisbury, then wrapped our day up at Stonehenge. The hotel was absolutley great. Room was perfect for us with the kids, it had a pull-out sofa bed. The bathroom was huge and everything was clean and quite nice. Location of property was terrific, and services a very pleasant surprise. The hotel lounge had great drinks and comfy furniture, and Starbucks coffee in the am. The English Breakfast that was included with the room rate was delicious. Great food and service, we were very pleased with the accomodation and the value.

Room Tip: Ask for room with pull-out sofa if traveling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homazoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our great service and food and found the accommodation perfect. We are certainly pleased with our 5 rating, thank you. We hope to welcome you again if you are visiting this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.2 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
288 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
248 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
735 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.8 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Property: Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Address: Mid Summer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the incredibly bold and stylish sophistication of the closest hotel accommodation to the mystical Stonehenge - Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge. Located on the A303 in the heart of picturesque Wiltshire, England, our contemporary Holiday Inn Salisbury hotel is easily accessible from the M3 motorway, London, the Midlands, and the West Country. Work, relax, and make the most of your stay in the modern, air-conditioned comfort of our well-appointed rooms and suites. Savour mouth-watering cuisine or unwind with casual cocktails in our AA Rosette award winning Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. Enjoy a STARBUCKS coffee while making use of the free Wi-Fi in our lounge, ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends. Experience easy access to the colourful landscape of sights and attractions dotting the English countryside. Whether you’re traveling for business or on holiday, you’ll enjoy the superb amenities and boutique-style services that set us apart from the usual Salisbury Stonehenge hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Holiday Inn Amesbury
Salisbury Stonehenge Holiday Inn
Amesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing