We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We chose this place blindly after visiting Stonehenge and travelling on to Portsmouth. We were pleasantly surprised by Amesbury and the hotel.
The George is old and crooked yet charming and interesting. The original beams were open in our room and that was neat to see. The bathroom needed better cleaning but the room we had was really neat. We had a bay window overlooking the street and a four poster bed.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was great, traditional English fare. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank varneykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2007

Stayed at this Hotel for one night to attend a wedding.
I found the reception extremely disorganised and untidy.

We stayed in a double room which had wallpaper peeling off the wall. The floor needed a good vacuuming especially near to the bed, there was a layer of dust in the top of the headboard.

The bathroom was appalling dirt on the window sill, we had a chipped bath and a stained sink. there was a rather large opening on the floor where a pipe came in this let in draft.

The function room had black cobwebbs hanging from the ceiling.

We had breakfast in the dining room the next morning. The full english breakfasts were ready prepaired on a plate and being kept hot on the hotplate. The Dining room was very taty and in bad need of a good clean.

Thank goodness we only had to stay for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mikeyworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

A pleasant enough stopping place, but don't expect too much. Stayed in a twin room, but it was all a bit "tired and tatty" at the edges.
Large car park at the rear and the pub (open to the public) is all part of the same complex. Food in the pub is reasonable (for the price) and a good selection of local beers are available. Staff were generally ultra-helpful but some service behind the bar was a tad abrupt and not at all welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravellingMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La suite nuptiale avec lit à baldaquin !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 315924Julesbrodard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank sandro d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank MaMiHuKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff H, General Manager at George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
926 reviews
0 mi away
Fairlawn House
Fairlawn House
#1 of 3 in Amesbury
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 19 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Price Range: $71 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing