We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horror on News Years Eve”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We checked in News years Eve midday and went to our room, which was on the top floo,r as we had requested a quiet roomThe room looked dated and in need of a referb but as it was only for 1 night and we were going to be out at a family gathering all day, we felt it would be adequate.On returning to the room after seeing the new year in, you can imagine our horror when on pulling the duvet back, to see pubic hairs and large bodily fluid stains on both sides of the double bed bed sheet and duvet.We felt physically sick .We complained and the very helpful, pleasent, young bar man came up with clean bedding and changed the bed.Neither myself or my wife slept very well that night and at 3am we were debating wheather to sleep in the car.This incident put us of eating breakfast in the hotel.
I would give this hotel a miss and stay in a travel lodge at least the bedding is clean

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 304 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

this is the worst hotel ever. we booked 2 nights & found the hotel disgusting filthy dirty. our room (20) was large & very cold. all windows could do with a bloody good scrubbing. on our 2nd day i had a very bad accident & had to be airlifted to hospital & when we got back to hotel couldnt get up the stairs to the room so asked for a refund under the circumstances only to be insulted with £25. no sympathy at all. they couldnt even ring HO for me to speak to them saying no one is there. the office where we sign in stunk of stale smoke & most of the carpet was either thread bare or torn. when i rang to book direct i was quoted £145 for 2 nights bloody glad we went thought late rooms they should not advertise this place at all ............ sorry george hotel your a dump

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MartynaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever booked into & after seeing the room checked out.
The room was on the second floor at the end of a long & restricted corridor, the floor of the room was uneven & sloped about 6 inches from one side to the other, the beds were discussing, you would not want to sit on them let alone sleep on them!
The only redeeming thing was the member of staff that dealt with us, she was very understanding & was very helpful in what to do to cancel the booking.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have no complaints at all, staff helpful, accomodation more than adequate, food very good in quality and price, drinks not too expensive, price very competetive. Would not hesitate to use this hotel again. I think that some people [wingers] expect too much for their money, after all if you expect the Savoy go to the Savoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights from the 18 September 2012.We were 3 persons in one large room.It had a nice decor and very comfortable beds with a large flat screen TV,coffee & tea making facilities and lots of toiletries.Bathroom was large with a shower bath,and lots of hot water.The hotel is quite dated as its a very old building,the floors were a bit creeky.However it was clean and tidy.Lots of military regalia on show and many frames on the corridor walls with old foreign paper money on show.Great free car park at the rear.Its well located in the town centre and only 2 miles from Stonehenge which was the purpose of our visit.We enjoyed a nice full English breakfast daily,and it had a nice bar/lounge area.An evening menu was available at reasonable prices.Good value for money in a cosy old English Coaching Inn atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I.W.S.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

First of all the staff were very helpful however that is where it ended. The decor of the hotel was ok but needed to be renewed. When I went into my room, which was the bridal suite, I was expecting some elegance. Not in the slightest. If I had just got married I would have been very disappointed with the room. A bathroom with just a sink, toilet, bath and overhead shower is not what i would have expected. I was looking around and noticed either blood but more likely to be old tea or coffee in the sink with a nice cup ring stain to top it off. Once raised it was cleaned almost immediately.The room needed a good dusting and there were various cobwebs hanging from the lights around the room. One of the bedside lights wasn't even working. Not the worst I have ever stayed in but will certainly not be going back.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireTeddybear03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Room was on the face of it clean but on closer inspection around the back of the television was about a fortnights grime.
The stairway was dirty with paper and dirt on the floor ,there was a filthy stained matress on the stairs.
Staff were polite and friendly,breakfast was adequate,dining area quite disappointing ,I would hate to call it a restuarant.
Not good value for money, cleanliness is a major issue.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amesbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fairlawn House
Fairlawn House
#1 of 3 in Amesbury
401 reviews
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 19 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Price Range: $68 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing