We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairlawn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairlawn House
Ranked #1 of 3 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not much to say really. Small good hotel in the centre of Amesbury. Close to Stonehenge. We stayed here for one night on the way to Bath. Everything is clean, parking is free, staff is polite and professional. The room decoration is very traditional, so if you are after "English home" experience, this is a right hotel. Breakfast is quite good. Windows are single glazed, so it is a bit noisy, especially Friday night when we stayed there.

Room Tip: Front room was fairly noisy on Friday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkabalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    100
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
146
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently spent a night at Fairlawn House on our way home. We would have preferred to have paid a little less but couldn't find anything due to the bank holiday weekend. As it turned out, we were more than happy to pay £75. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. We thought there would be a problem with parking but not so as we could park very close by at the doctors surgery as they have an arrangement with the hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was certainly enough to keep us going although mine was a little overdone . Overall, this was a very good bed and breakfast and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jezzer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and had a thoroughly pleasant stay. We had to add a person last minute and they were very accommodating!
The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was fantastic! Our bed was so comfy and our room was lovely.
Definately recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

What this is, is a lovely, comfortable B&B in a 200 year old home that the owners have renovated to provide en suite accommodations to their guests. What this is not, is a chain hotel. The rooms are all varying in size and layout. What the owners offer is a scrupulously clean room, a hot breakfast, a warm welcome, and suggestions on what you may like to do. What the owners do not offer are king sized beds, spa tubs and mini bars. We talked with the owners one evening as we enjoyed a glass of wine in the bar area about Trip Advisor ratings (which are truly high for this property), and about how people sometimes get the wrong idea as to what Fairlawn House offers, but honestly you can't NOT give this place a high rating. So let me give you an American's views on our stay. The room had LOTS of electrical outlet -- crucial for Americans. They also offered in room coffee, tea and biscuits, a hair dryer and a window that actually opened so you could hear the birds. The bathroom in Room 6 is pretty small since they had to work within the confines of the spaces they had, but it worked fine for our needs. If you are a larger person, this might be an issue. There is a car park just behind where cars can be parked safely off street. What you get for the price that you are charged is an excellent value. I guess, to us, what a great hotel is can be defined by whether or not we would stay there again, and if we are ever in that area of the world again, we will most certainly stay at the Fairlawn House.

The location is literally 2 miles from Stonehenge, and while the town is small and a little sleepy, they offer a variety of restaurants, shops and whatnot. In talking to some of the local residents we heard that there are a lot of plans in the works for shops, restaurants and whatnot. Book a room there, go in with reasonable expectations and a plan to visit some of the most amazing sights in Britain. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robsmom32207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stay on the way to the south coast. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. Parking was nearby. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent. We thought it was excellent value and ideally located for visiting Stonehenge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel as we were going to a party and this hotel was walking distance. We were given a warm welcome. The rooms were homely and spotlessly clean.good quality linen on beds. My daughter and family stayed in a family room and we had a twin room. Both were of good size. The beds were extremely comfortable. No noise in the hotel and we all had a good nights sleep.breakfast was served in the basement. The layout was quirky.excellent selection of cereals,juices,yogurts etc. local foods were used in the cooked breakfast and there was ample choice. The cooking was excellent. Plenty of refills for tea and coffee and endless supply of toast.Would certainly recommend this family hotel. There was also a comfortable lounge, a bar and toys for children. The dolls house was popular with our granddaughter .p

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Needed an overnight stay due to a business trip, this small friendly b and b is superb, I was met with a friendly smile, check in was smooth and quick and free car parking too.Ideally located, try the wetherspoons pub (the bell) and Tandoori nights Indian, both excellent. The room was fresh, clean large and comfortable, breakfast was superb, even the plate was hot!!All in all I cannot fault it and I ill not stay anywhere else on future trips!Thank you for going the extra mile!!

Room Tip: Sorry I licked on pool, there isnt one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadGibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
0.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
7.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn House

Property: Fairlawn House
Address: 42 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawn House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairlawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing