We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean , functional , comfortable and basic ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean , functional , comfortable and basic ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We were going to Salisbury race course for a 40th birthday - and there were eight of us .
When trying to book anything nearer it seemed everything was either hugely expensive, booked up or unable to accommodate us all.
So with every one with different budgets we went with the travel lodge .
It turned out to be next to a happy eater and a small Burger King - part of a services .Frances on the desk was really friendly and helpful .
The rooms are a bit 'tired' but clean and comfortable and basic - but did the job. The single 'camp ' bed a little small - but good value .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    155
    109
    48
    49
See reviews for
208
163
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge was clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. They was helpful with advise on local attractions and places to visit and eat. It was value for money would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ems158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Were visiting the area (Stonehenge,Salisbury cathedral and Avebury stone circle amongst other things) and left it rather late to find accommodation around Salisbury. Ridiculous prices quoted in Salisbury Stg160 for a double room.....when thankfully we discovered this Travelodge.Booked a triple room for 3 adults by telephone for Stg53.50 Magic!Basic but clean and a family room is quite spacious.
When it's a bed for the night you want then it's perfect.Hairdryer and iron can be got from reception.No lift might be an issue for some.
We had the good fortune to check in when a friendly fellow called Anthony was on the front desk.A real life 5 star concierge he turned out to be.He recommended the Wetherspoons in Amesbury for food.Great steaks there and good value too.Then on departure he gave us precise directions to Avebury and recommended the Polly tearooms in Marlborough, which we did later visit (for brunch) and they turned out to be a highlight of our short and spontaenous UK visit (armed with neither map nor gps nor guide book, just good old fashioned discovery travel).

Room Tip: Higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariahTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel was not for me. It is hard to find and is located in a services area with a Burger King just off the motorway on-ramp. The double bed was comfortable. The extra single bed was very hard. There is no air conditioning and so we had to open the windows but then close them as we were on the second floor and cigarette smoke kept wafting in through the windows. The area around the hotel was not clean or well-kept - we walked past dog poop on one of the walkways two days in a row. We had to ask for sufficient towels for the room. There are no hair dryers but apparently you can get one if you ask. The rooms were pretty clean but the hotel has seen better days. There is no restaurant in the hotel. There is no ice maker. The staff was polite. The walk into Amesbury is about 10 to 15 minutes. The drive to Stonehenge is 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is looking at the greenery rather than toward the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amesbury hotels

Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Good choice to see Stonehenge. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. It is a short walk into town and there are plenty of free parking spaces. The room has a tv and plenty of storage space. Only gripe is that it would be nice to have air con and more plug sockets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank bl4desman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Booked last minute on way home from Gatwick so a bit anxious as to what place would be like. Lovely staff, very helpful with my request for extra pillows as I had a trapped nerve in my back. Very comfortable room, basic but as it was only £51 I felt it was well worth the money. Very quiet even though on the A303, busy roundabout to head back onto the A303 but you can easily gain access to both west and eastbound carriages. Well recommended for a great budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A conveniently placed location accessed from the A303 East bound on ramp and afterwards exits back to the roundabout so access is available in all directions afterwards.

The map on the website is misleading giving the impression that access can be gained from the exit route.

The roundabout can be very busy during rush hours. Give yourself an extra period of time to get onto and around the roundabout.

Parking overnight of the Summer Solstice. the car park was busy but there was an overflow available. We got into the main park non the less.

Room Tip: The ground floor was quiet despite an access road right next to my window. Little or no noise was ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
0.5 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
7.2 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
7.6 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel

Property: Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
Address: A303 Countess Services Countess Road, Amesbury SP4 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Travel Lodge Amesbury
Amesbury Travelodge
Amesbury Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing