We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here twice now both times in family rooms. The first time everything was fine but the second time the bath had a horrible pink/black moldy antislip mat in it which meant my 8 year old refused to get in the bath and she was too short for the shower. I paid £40 extra to take my dogs, which was fine but I was a bit miffed that the people opposite me smoked all night and got away without paying for a 'deep clean'. Next time I think I will just smuggle my dogs in. Convenient for Old Sarum and other English Heritage sights though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank ANGIEG2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    164
    120
    50
    55
See reviews for
221
176
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went to Stonehenge for the Summer Solstice, but wanted a bolt-hole to retreat to. This is a standard Travelodge, with standard facilities, but is quite possibly the closest hotel to Stonehenge. We comfortably covered the distance across the fields on foot and were easily able to leave the car in the car park.

Contrary to some of the earlier reviews that we'd read, this hotel was perfectly clean and pleasant. It's pretty basic, but that's what you expect from a Travelodge. If you're looking for basic accommodation within walking distance of the henge then this is the best you're going to get short of pitching up a tent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstroRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night in May 2014, chose this Travelodge for it's location - right on the A303 - and because it was the cheapest hotel in the area I could find, it still cost £65 for a room for just myself and my son which is outrageous when you consider how basic and poor the facilities were. That I could live with, this is a Travelodge after all, what do you expect, but the bathroom in our room was absolutely disgusting - caked in filth and clearly hadn't been cleaned in some time. The floor was stained and sticky, the cream shower curtain stained orange at the end with lack of cleaning, the plug holes stuffed with dirt, hair, dust and general filth and ringed in stains, and worst of all there was someone else's hair in the bathtub stuck to the bottom! What a welcome.
The bedroom was a little better but this was an incredibly basic room with no frills - and that bathroom more than spoiled the overall stay. The plumbing was also ancient and gargled like a dying cat after every flush; we were woken up at 6am the next morning when someone in an adjacent room decided to have a shower and I thought the roof would come down.
Don't bother - pay another £30, drive ten minutes off the main road, and stay somewhere infinitely better

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsG186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amesbury hotels

Heacham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I wouldn't usually write a review of a Travelodge, because a Travelodge is......a Travelodge.
What makes the Amesbury Travelodge a little special is it's location, it's only something like 4.3 miles from the new Stonehenge visitors centre, close to Salisbury and Winchester. Wells is an easy trip too.
The hotel has the usual adjacent Little Chef, but only a short walk (shorter drive) away is the little town of Amesbury.
Leaving the hotel's exit on foot, there is an underpass below the A303 which will take you into town.
The town has the usual amenities restaurants and pubs. We used a 'The Bell' (Wetherspoon's) and a popular little cafe, opposite, called 'The Friar Tuck' (for breakfast). We tried the well rated Indian restaurant, 'Tandoori Nights' (b.o.g.o.f main meal on Mondays & Tuedays with a voucher from the local free newsletter). There is a also a nearby Chinese buffet which we didn't try.
Amesbury was a charming little place that we might visit again.

Room Tip: If like us you're travelling on a motorcycle and park on the paved area in front of reception. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastRoadBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The Amesbury Travelodge is situated near a roundabout on the A303. This road is one of the main routes to the West Country. Our stay was to use the Travelodge to visit local places of interest. The Travelodge was clean and tidy. It was freshly painted and the appearance was good. There is a main building and an annexe. We stayed in the annexe. The rooms are not spacious but big enough for two. The bathroom only has a shower but it is easy to use an has a good pressure. Although next to a main road and a filling station we were not troubled by noise. There is a Little Chef and. Burger King on site. We did not use the Burger King but the meal at the Little Chef was forgettable and expensive. The staff were disinterested and unhelpful. We used the Solstice Services about a mile to the east on the A303 where there is a McDonalds, KFC, Costa Coffee, Harvester and a garage with a Co op. We found a garage selling LPG in Bulford.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Very convenient for Stonehenge and Thruxton race circuit. Nice bridal walks nearby and just a short walk to Amesbury centre. Three adults shared the room ad it was all setup and ready for our arrival - no messing around making up beds. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This Travelodge is in a great location for Stonehenge. Clean and modern with brand new beds and great, friendly helpful staff. Shame there is no Bar Cafe however there is a Little Chef on site who we used for dinner and they were lovely too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
0.5 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
303 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
975 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
7.8 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel

Property: Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
Address: A303 Countess Services Countess Road, Amesbury SP4 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Travel Lodge Amesbury
Amesbury Travelodge
Amesbury Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing