We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average place to visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Stonehenge

Stonehenge
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.77*
and up
London Super Saver: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard...
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most important survivals of prehistoric England, Stonehenge consists of a group of huge rough-cut stones, some more than 20 feet high, arranged in two concentric circles.
Penang
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average place to visit”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Took the hope on and off Stonehenge Tour bus. Besides the stones, there is nothing much to see out there. We skipped paying the entrance fees after reading other reviews.
The minus point was that there were no sheltered area to rest (not even the cafe is covered) during the rain. The bus ran hourly, so it a long wait in the rain and cold.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eYeLeNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,563
    2,758
    1,323
    469
    307
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Arrive early to be ahead of the crowd....”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I believe most of the visitors there will not care much about the real history and significance of the place. They go there because it is one of the most well known tourist site for the United Kingdom, similar to the Sydney Opera House in Australia.

However because there are quite a lot of tourists there most of the time it is very hard to take a photo of with the Stonehenge. So if you get in there early and be the first few to get in the morning you can walk ahead of the crowd and take good pictures.

You probably will spend about 1-2 hr there because there is really nothing much more to see. Since it is at about 2 hrs drive from London you better plan ahead and visit some other sites while you are in that direction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FL360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very poor communication towards the public”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We really wanted to see it, being our first long visit outside London with a big family of 8 people.
So we prepared from time and looked on the internet for opening times and news.
Once we got there after a 2:30 hours ride with a rented car, we were told the site is closed... so nothing to see.
We asked why was this not advertised and they said it is on the website. As we had smartphones with us we looked for the closing announcement... go figure, there was none (at least we did not pay for the entrance :) )

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank valy-precop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting place but, plan other stops if you are traveling from London”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stonehenge is about an hour from London so if you make the trip you should plan other stops such as the city of Bath and/or Windsor Castle the same day. If you plan your day right you will have plenty of time to visit all three places in one day. Don't be surprised if It only take you 30 minutes to take in the entire Stonehenge site and be aware that you will not be walking within the actual monument and can only view it from a path that circles it. The path is about 30 yards from Stonehenge at its closest point.

I heard that there may be special tours you can book that let you enter the monument and walk around the ruins at sunrise or sunset. Check before you go but, I don't think I missed anything by not going into the monument.

Interesting place, worth the visit and one more very famous historic site you can check off your bucket list.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ddrell2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“bit disapointing!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

you have to see it for what it is, its a historic monument that only a true historian can apreciate!
its in the middle of nowhere,with nothing else near it. if you go when its bad weather it really quite a depressing place to be. there are some quaint little towns not far from it,such as taunton and sommerton. but to be honest,if you go to stonehenge to entertain the family then you wont be there more than 15 mins!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonehenge also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing