We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in the area......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fleur de Lys Restaurant

The Fleur de Lys Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Wentbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best food in the area......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Being originally from the area I visit fairly regularly & always find it difficult to find good food. However, not having visited Wentbridge House for probably about twenty years, I was pleasantly surprised. Very good food & reasonable atmosphere (we ate in the Brasserie as the main restaurant looks way too formal!!). The tomato & mozzarella salad was one of the best I've ever had, anywhere in the world! Only draw back we found was that the service is quite patchy.........very well meaning, but they need to up their game if they want to charge those prices! Still, will definitely be returning on my next visit to the area, & will look forward to it. Great wine list too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    18
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Champagne Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nothing not to dislike. Beautiful setting.We found it very romantic.The food was local produce and cooked to our liking

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special occasion ruined”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We took a family party of 9 for Sunday lunch in the brasserie to celebrate a special occasion. After 25 minutes at the table, we asked if we could order. 30 mins, drinks arrived. 60 mins, starters arrived. A full TWO HOURS after sitting down, our main course arrived. 2 hours 30 mins and dessert order taken which arrived about the 3 hour mark. The food was very good but not all orders were correct but were soon sorted. Problems with the ordering till they said but didn't seem to have problems with anyone else's order. We were left for the majority of our visit in an empty restaurant with zero atmosphere. Staff polite but seemed to try to blame technical issues when it should have been obvious a substantial party had an empty table for most of the afternoon. Will certainly not be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenDave1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not hurrying back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went for a birthday celebration to the Brasserie with 7 others and was very disappointed. This is not a cheap dining experience so it should be good to say the least. Having been shown to our table and given a menu, after half an hour we had to remind the staff that no-one had taken our order even though they were not busy. When the food arrived one person did not get their meal and three of our group had to return their meat because it wasn't cooked the way they had requested it. Some of these meals were then returned to us without gravy and another without the veg and another without garnish. There was no consistency to the presentation of the same meals and they had to be returned again. Obviously this spoiled the occasion as we were all eating at different times.

Having said that, the food was very tasty once we got it sorted and staff handled our complaints very well. They apologised profusely and did everything they could to fix things. They didn't charge us for our main course and offered us free deserts which were lovely but this is the second time service there has been so poor. I ate there two years ago and had a similar experience and it's taken that long for me to return. Is it just my bad luck - others seem to have better experiences and the restaurant does have a beautiful setting in a very pretty village. Very popular for weddings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ponte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
178 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Decided to give The Brasserie a try for lunch midweek and was certainly not disappointed. What was an even bigger bonus when we got there was the addition of a very reasonably priced set menu. We had 2 courses, both of which were very good, along with excellent service and a super atmosphere made for a very pleasant lunch. Will def return more often now I know what good value it is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debsido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fleur de Lys Restaurant also viewed

Wentbridge, West Yorkshire
Badsworth, Pontefract
 

Been to The Fleur de Lys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing