We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Metro Inn in this picture.”
Review of Metro Inns A1

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wentbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Metro Inns A1
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wentbridge
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the Metro Inn in this picture.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My stay was at the new Metro Inn A1 Doncaster (not to be confused with the old hotel of the same name) which has a postcode of WF8 3JF and a telephone number of 01977 620711. This is one of the best value for money hotels (motels) I have ever stayed in. Plenty of free parking and right by the A1 highway outside of Pontefract and Doncaster. Twin and double rooms. 42" plasma TV with clean remote in every room. Fridge and microwave in every room. Electric kettle, coffee and tea. Very comfortable beds with four very nice pillows. Small dining table and two chairs. Very good lighting. Clean bathroom with bath and shower over. At £29.95 per room it represents great value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms face away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardbmac108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Manager at Metro Inns A1, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I would like to thank you for posting this review making it clear that we are not the hotel pictured. Trip Advisor have posted photographs and reviews for a diffrerent hotel in Doncaster on our listing which used to be called Metro Inn and is now called Restover Inn. I am still trying to resolve this issue with Trip Advisor to get these photographs removed as well as the reviews for the other hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
5
11
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night for a wedding near by. The location is handy as its just off the A1. Looks a bit scruffy from outside but the rooms were clean, tidy & well equipped. For £30 a night for 2 people is very good value. Good nights sleep. Surprisingly you can't hear any traffic. Not bad for a cheap night stay over.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aceal3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We needed a place to stay after dropping off our 2nd son at Leeds Uni. Hotels in Leeds proved difficult for us, as we needed 3 bed room, as our other son is special needs. A friendly greeting and the keys, numbers etc were explained. We were on the front of the motel but there were stairs to a lower level. Room was clean. 1 double and 1 single bed. microwave, fridge,kettle and massive 40" tv in the room. shower over bath seemed a little dated. Went to the Little Chef next door for dinner with the 20% off voucher we had been given at the motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

All of these previous comments are for the Restover Inn in Doncaster. This changed name 3-4 years ago.
Please do not confuse this with the recently opened Metro Inn A1 Doncaster.
In the Metro Inn A1 Doncaster all rooms are fully en-suite with bath and shower. All rooms have recently been refurbished with 42" plasma televisions, fridges, microwaves, tea/coffee, etc in all rooms.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wentbridge hotels

WOLLONGONG
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed at this hotel recently, only because we had booked it online some months before. Was very tempting to go to Premier Inn down the road I must say.

The room itself was very clean but small. It had tv and tea/coffee making facilities which were very handy. Airplane type cubicles for toilet and shower were disgustingly dirty. Toilet cubicle had urine stains on the walls everywhere and they were old stains. We decided to skip having a shower after seeing the toilet. The grounds are also very run down and give the appearance of abandonment and lack of care.

The office staff and onsite manager were very helpful and lovely. They couldn't have been more helpful. Internet costs 1 pound for 100meg which lasted for ages.

If you can find alternative accommodation for not much more I would seriously recommend that you take it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pengu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This hotel has apparently changed hands twice in the past 5 years. I wish it would change again to somebody who knew what they were doing.

It was quite frankly appalling etc It was just simply the worst overninght in 70 plus nights on the road. No kitchen, no breakfast facility etc etc

I cannit begin to explain how disgusting and depressing it was


Communal shower with no soap

Communal washroon with no toilet paper

The base of the bed was a piece of chipboard!!!!!

The place was filthy

The reception was being refurbished and was in chaos

My room door did not lock so I had to pile up all my belongings behind it.

Everything is chargeable extra - shampoo, wifi etc etc You can get something a LOT better for very little more. I have stayed in immaculate private hotels for less than this!

I could go on, I won't It's exactly for these reasons that Trip Advisor is so important. "This is a dump. You have been warned"

Quite simoly the worst hotel in 70 days. ...... you have been warned.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thisisspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontefract
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Called in never been before and my god I would never enter the place again. Got on to our floor found semi naked young men and girls running around swearing and shouting. This is when I put our code into the door and it opened and then the god awful stench hit you in the face. My wife was retching from the smell. We just turned around and walk out got our money back and beat a hasty retreat sat in our car we could still smell the room it had impregnated itself into our clothes. For god sake if you need a cheap room get yourself locked up for the night the trauma won’t be as bad.
-10 out of 10

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentbridge
0.0 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
0.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
0.0 mi away
Kyte Hotel
Kyte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Darrington
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Upton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upton
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns A1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns A1

Property: Metro Inns A1
Address: A1 South, Barnsdale Bar, Wentbridge WF8 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wentbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wentbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in West Yorkshire, a 35 minute drive from the centre of Leeds. Wakefield is a 20 minute drive. Doncaster and Pontefract are less than 10 miles away. Each spacious room has a 42 inch television, microwave, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, dining table and chairs as well as fully en-suite bath and shower. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing