We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wentbridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wentbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for 2 nights as an anniversary treat. We had a lovely 2 nights, our room was in the new extension, it was more than comfortable with plenty of amenities. We ate in both food venues and the food could not be faulted. All the staff we met from check in to check out were polite and extremely helpful, nothing was to much trouble!! Overall an excellent stay and will defiantly be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahT_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    153
    51
    20
    10
See reviews for
271
349
17
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at Wentbridge House for our sons wedding and i think the best way review our stay is to break it down to several components
The Check in :- An effecient check in by pleasant staff we were allocated 2 rooms across the courtyard and presented with the keys then told how to get there.I think being taken to the rooms would have been more fitting.
The Room :- A well appointed room with tv,radio alarm clock,mini stereo system,tea & coffee,trouser press, iron & ironing board & hair dryer.In the bathroom were a plentyfull supply of towels and bath products.The room wes generally clean and well kept on the downside there was a huge cobweb across the celing and a light bulb was out but thats just me being a but fussy it wouldn't stop me staying again.
The Wedding :- Full marks to the wedding planner and all his team excellent is the only way to describe them .The room for the ceremony was well arranged.The wedding meal was served by a professional staff with a high quality of food again a must praise the wedding planner for the overseeing of the service nothing was a bother for him even rearranging the service of a meal from a guests room back to the dining area.
Evening event :- A hot buffet was laid out in an ajoining room this was plentyfull,well presented and to a high standard as always the wedding planner was overseeing everything staying till after midnight a credit to Wentbridge
Morning breakfast :- A table was laid out with a large selection of breakfast cereals,fruit juice etc.just to help yourself.An order was taken for a cooked breakfast the Yorkshire breakfast i ordered was lost on the plate although yet again it was of a high standard.
To sum up yes i would stay here again as it's run y a highy professional team who seem to have a great pride in the place they work and there jobs

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotchjohnnie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We booked a 1 night mid week B&B including dinner and were upgraded to a premium room on arrival. The room was in the new extension so not really convenient or easy to find from reception. They could have done with some clear but discrete signs! Our room, though large and roomy and reasonably well equipped we thought it was a 'bit bleak' and lacking 'individual touches' and 'extras'. Overall the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Our evening dinner was poor and overpriced. My husbands 'seafood' starter was smothered in 'marie rose' sauce which had far too much lemon juice in it!
I had the seared scallops (approx.£12.95!) I was served with 2 small scallops and a horrible inedible 'finger like' 'thing stuffed with some sort of fish (possibly anchovies).
Our mains of rib-eye steaks (£21+) with mushroom and tomato were OK but lacked green veg.

Room Tip: We are a +70yrs couple & found it inconvenient getting to our room. We are 'well travelled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I left a phone charger in my room, was called and asked if I'd provide credit card details for £2 postage... hmmmm, not really great customer service after spending around £500 over 2 nights. Happy to update if they pull their finger out.

Apart from that a nice place & good food but beware dreadful wifi.. very slow if it works at all. Pretty impossible for business use as it times out every few minutes, even if near reception...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilloAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I took my mum here in Sept for a 60th birthday treat, after attending earlier in the year for a friends 40th. The fact I rebooked and am planning another trip here for another friends 40th should speak volumes about the quality of product and service you receive as a customer. At first the sandwich selection does look a little small, but they are packed full of flavour and wonderfully presented. You then move onto a sumptuous dessert selection, and on both occasions I have failed to finish them as I was so full. There was a waitress on standby to cater to our every need and filling the teapot up when required.
I would strongly recommend a visit for afternoon tea for a special occasions, but make sure you wear a nice dress as it's a chance to do something a little different.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena528795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Was taken here for a weekend as a treat a few months after we got married. Room was clean, olde worldy and just fantastic. The grounds are nice and the atmosphere warm and welcoming that is until we ate! The first night was in the brasserie which was fabulous. The second night in Fleur restaurant and it was terrible. Huge wait, didn't et bread rolls, out of a starter of our choice so asked for one from brasserie menu which was refused. Steak was so fatty and not cooked medium at all. The only thing that was decent on that night was when we left to go to bed... Hungry! Such a let down for the amount of money which was spent over the weekend! Was told didn't have to pay for the steak which was good as we didn't eat it. It ruined the stay having such a terrible meal on the last night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gittins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Wentbridge and it can only be described as perfect. All the staff including Bais and Mark were excellent, courteous and professional - they reminded us of things we had forgotten,items left unattended etc and looked after us in a way which made the whole day very smooth and effortless - at least for us.

The setting is fantastic - and I don't think you can compare this hotel to a Premier Inn (I should know, I have to sample enough corporate hotels for my work) this is a different league. Our room was amazing (yes it was the Bridal Suite) and in total our party had perhaps a dozen rooms - no complaints at all.

The food was excellent, drinks expensive (no more than you would expect - it is a 4-star hotel) and overall our day was superb for us and our guests.

A huge thanks to all concerned for looking after us, and all being well we are looking to book our first anniversary here

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentbridge
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
7.8 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
960 reviews
10.3 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
16.6 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,004 reviews
24.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentbridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentbridge House Hotel

Property: Wentbridge House Hotel
Address: The Great North Road | Bridge House, Wentbridge WF8 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wentbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wentbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentbridge House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house hotel set in 20 acres of gardens and grounds in the Went Valley within easy reach of the cities of Doncaster, Leeds, Wakefield and York. All bedrooms are individually designed with pocket sprung mattresses, free Wi-Fi and Temple Spa bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wentbridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentbridge House Hotel Wentbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing