We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge rooms, great breakfast and all round very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentbridge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wentbridge House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wentbridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, great breakfast and all round very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at the Wentbridge House on our way to Leeds. Recently renovated, the room we stayed in the new building was enormous. A great bathroom and powerful shower. The breakfast and the quality of its ingredients was excellent and the staff very friendly, helpful and proactive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    148
    52
    17
    10
See reviews for
253
327
15
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

What an amazing day we had for our daughters wedding reception held here on 26th October.
All the staff from Catherine, the hotel manager, to the girls on the reception were fantastic.
Everyone was courteous and professional.
Nothing was too much trouble. The day could not have gone better thanks especially to Nicola the wedding coordinator and Bais the master of ceremonies.
The food and service was exceptional. A lot of our guests commented on the fact it was the best wedding they had been to, and praised the venue and the food.
The rooms also could not be faulted.
The wedding was rearranged as we had to cancel the original due to a tragic accident.
The management and staff were outstanding throughout this difficult time being genuinely sympathetic and compassionate.
A special thank you to Catherine Harrild who pulled out all the stops to make this an Amazing day. Nothing was too much trouble and along with Nicola made the whole planning process pleasurable.
I cannot recommend the Wentbridge House highly enough especially for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GAZ1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a fabulous early supper here with 2 friends. Food was amazing, staff very nice.
Did seem to take an inordinate amount of time for each course to be delivered but this wasn't a big problem for us. It is expensive but certainly one of the best restaurants in the area.
Room appeared to be mainly populated by men on their own, handy if you're a single woman?
Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gravepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My son and daughter in law got married at the Wentbridge Hotel in September. I would like to thank all involved in making the day so wonderful. Staff were all first class and totally professional. The venue was amazing and the outside wedding which took place was the most wonderful service I have ever attended. The outside gardens were all beautiful. Food for the wedding reception could only be described as superb. I would recommend this venue for any couple wishing to have a perfect wedding. I can't thank you enough for making the day so wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel in lovely location. The service was excellent and the room fantastic. My only criticism was that the heavy room doors bang shut as guests go in and out so I was woken at approx 7am by early risers (something I am not) so this was a bit annoying but overall, not a major issue.
The only main issue I had and others in my party had, were the bar prices. They are very expensive. I know I am not used to staying in hotels or going to expensive places but I don't like to feel ripped off and I think £4.95 for a very small glass of wine is extortionate. There's just no need to charge such high prices. I am also very glad that breakfast was included in the room price as £17.50 for an average sized cooked breakfast would also have been way over the top. The food for the wedding itself was really excellent though.
Overall, a great hotel. The new annex seems better than the old house as that has very creaky floorboards which may annoy some. I would recommend the hotel but only to those who have deep pockets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwertymnbvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a wonderful beautiful place.

Service outstanding especially Babs in the Fleur De Lys restaurant, what a professional, a true asset to the place.

Food was beautiful, staff said happy anniversary on arrival, which was a lovely personal touch.

Also Sara on reception was lovely too and a really professional, will definitely be back soon

Wonderful experience, real value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemsworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just had a Private Dining Golden Wedding Anniversary dinner at the Wentbridge last Saturday night and it was absolutely amazing!!!! Service was impeccable, and Mark, who looked after us throughout the evening was first class. The food (which I have to say I was a little dubious about, thought it might have been a tad 'too pretentious') for my in-laws who were celebrating their anniversary was excellent. Five courses, served as and when we were ready, and very, very tasty!!!! Superbly presented and very good sized portions - we were all stuffed by the end!!!! The hotel printed our menu on a personalised occasion card, one for each of the six of us, and even wrote their own card wishing the in-laws a happy anniversary. We were even invited to take our own background music, which we did, and this was put on once we had been served our welcome drinks. All the staff were very helpful, and allowed us to take a cake and balloons down to the room before we were due to attend. It wasn't cheap by any means, but the quality of the service we were given, and the way our anniversary couple were made to feel extra special was second to none, and it's the memories that will live on. First class Wentbridge, we'll recommend you again and again!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkySparkyHemsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentbridge
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentbridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentbridge House

Property: Wentbridge House
Address: Bridge House The Great North Road, Wentbridge WF8 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wentbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wentbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentbridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house hotel set in 20 acres of gardens and grounds in the Went Valley within easy reach of the cities of Doncaster, Leeds, Wakefield and York. All bedrooms are individually designed with pocket sprung mattresses, free Wi-Fi and Temple Spa bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Wentbridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentbridge House Hotel Wentbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing