We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #27 of 43 Restaurants in Mirfield
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to this pub for years and it has been hit and miss at times, sometimes the music is too loud, sometimes you have chavs working behind the bar and sometimes they run out of foodbut over all its cheap and cheerful! not many places around these days where you can both eat for £10!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirelass024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    32
    23
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SCRUFFY BAR STAFF”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited on a view that it would be a good meal, we was so wrong. The meal, that was sent back several times was vile - you wouldn't feed it to your dog! We ordered drinks - the person behind the bar, who had dark hair and glasses was so scruffy - he wasn't to company standard! It just made me want to go and took away from the staff. The staff were pleasent. Plenty to do but the horrible food and scruffy man behind the bar extremely let it down!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Friendly staff and great value food!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our first visit loved the booths with tv's, what a great idea! The staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was fantastic value for money and very tasty. I would highly recommend a visit and we will certainly be going back,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linzncarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent visit, definitely returning next week”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Everything about our visit to the ship inn was fantastic! We had a great time with our grandchildren. The new play area outside kept them entertained for hours. We had prompt service for both food and drinks and all the staff were friendly and looked as of they enjoy their jobs. Couldn't recommend this pub enough for cheap, good value food and drink.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Horrendous!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal for part of birthday with children aswell!! First of all had to que 15mins for our food order to be taken as no staff was there then when the children's meal came there was not one bit of fish in any of the fish fingers 7 children's no fish just batter most of the adults including my self had to return the food as it was freezing and undercooked to say it comes out of a microwave had to que another 20mins for drinks lack of staff poor food and rude staff it may be cheap but now I know why won't be returning!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whatnext13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing