We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In adminstration and don't we know it!”
Review of Cafe Whiteleys

Cafe Whiteleys
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Mirfield
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Wakefield, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“In adminstration and don't we know it!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Have eaten at the cafe on a number of occasions in the past, and always been good.
Stopped by for lunch a couple of weeks ago, and had a lousy piece of beef in my sandwich, but put this down to bad luck with the meat as happens sometimes.
However, after a lovely Christmas meal last year, our group booked again, all looking forward to a repeat performance.
What a letdown - the breaded mozzaralla for starters tasted cheap, the vegetables had been stood for ages when we got to them, so had gone soft, the turkey joint looked like a preformed one not a crown, they ran out of some of the desserts and what was available was not enjoyed by anyone (other than one who chose the upside down cake).
Miserable staff, the place was less than a third full & so, so cold, lacking any atmosphere. It was heaving and a joyful place to be last year. If the male manager there wasn't having a good time, don't we know it. He always looks unhappy nowadays, surprising really as we understand that there's been offers for the business. They were clearing the place up and removing tablecloths in what seemed a desperate measure to get home.
Not one, but all of us said would have to find another place for next year. Bit of a shame, as we visited regularly. The cafe is the only thing that keeps this place going, as all other goods are heavily overpriced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bolognesesauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    22
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“shame about the staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

my daughter and i called a few weeks ago have been a couple of times before it was good food very good but not any more we ordered hot chocolate with cream squirty cream was cold when we finally got served so i took it back was asked do i want warming up by staff that were rude it was topped up with hot milk so did'nt taste of chocolate any more i think they need to retrain the staff we won't be calling again for anything to eat or drink !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bren1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food not what it used to be”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I used to really enjoy coming here. I'm afraid the standards have really gone down & there are other garden centres doing better on the food side at the moment. Our last couple of visits have made us re think coming here. I had a jacket potato with chilli Friday of Half Term. Awful! Chilli?? Basically canned tomatoes, a couple of kidney beans and & you had to search for any beef. Potato was burnt. Yuck. Sorry. Very poor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali-Bur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stick to selling plants...as service appears to be too much trouble”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you like a badly run cafe with rude teenage workers gathering in groups chatting and who see serving customers as getting in the way then this is the place for you. The surrondings are decent and the quality of the food pretty good but the customer seems to get in the way. I would suggest the owners mystery shop the place and put themselves in the shoes of what customers experience............. OH DEAR!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_happy_racegoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More veg please”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have called several times here, the only minor complaint is that they dont want you to have too much veg, I always ask for more veg, however good tasty meals.
.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob_the_wanderer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Whiteleys also viewed

Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
 
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Whiteleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing