We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give yourself a treat”

Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Ilkley
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Give yourself a treat”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A visit to Bettys is always a treat. Fabulous service and food, great ambiance. try the afternoon tea a real delight. Afterwards stroll along The Grove for some retail therapy

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 907Chris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    196
    64
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely for a special occasion”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was delighted to accompany my parents to Betty's to help celebrate their 25th Wedding Anniversary over lunch, and we were delighted with our choice of venue.
Surprisingly we didn't need to queue, which is rare, and after a short wait for a member of staff we were seated at a table in the downstairs of the restaurant. I will admit that the tables are quite close together, so there is perhaps a slight lack of privacy when they are busy.
The service was very polite and friendly, no complaints there.
The menu was surprisingly varied (we've only ever had tea and cake at Bettys before) and both the Salmon Salad and Caesar Salad were excellent- well sized, with plenty of salmon and chicken respectively. Champagnes and Juices were excellent, as were the deserts- I'd very much recommend the Citron Torte! A lovely venue for a celebration lunch. I'd love to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long wait, but beautiful setting and great food!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My mom and I went to Betty's and had quite a wait to sit down, but once we were seated we were very pleased. We ordered the soup of the day which was delicious and came with a choice of several different breads. Both were delicious. We then shared the afternoon tea which was terrific and very filling. Excellent, attentive service! I would definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aslater2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Scrummy food but mad prices”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The cafe was lovely and clean, the staff very professional, the food was lovely, yummy, fresh, homemade and well presented, the tea was lovely and the coffee was so nice we bought some freshly ground to take home.

Now to the bill, £49.50 for: 3 fresh fruit juices 2 pots of tea, a cafetiere of coffee, 8 small cakes & 1.5 crust less triangle sandwiches (very nice but each of the six small triangles were just one bite).

Personally I thought they were silly prices, but in the words of a non paying family member who will remain nameless 'it's worth it for the experience, we can't go to Ilkley and not eat in Betty's Tea rooms'

Well I've been there and done that now.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawncouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real treat.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A real treat. A bit pricey but it's quality food and great service too! A proper old-fashioned, afternoon tea style cafe. There are a huge selection of cakes on offer so it's ahrd to choose!

Perfect for a family visit or special occasion but wouldn't recommend it to children. Kids making lots of noise will get some dirty looks, and with good reason, it's not really a kids' place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mousebird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Ilkley also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing