We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Maître d” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farsyde - CLOSED

The Farsyde
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Relaxed and informal, with a high standard and quality of food and service. Everything is made fresh everyday. With an owner head chef the food is always of an excellent standard. We take pride in making your visit to us enjoyable, whether is a special celebration of simply out for tea taking advantage of our great Early Bird menu.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Maître d”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We have been to the Farsyde a few times now and the service has always been different class. It's a nice dining room too with a good atmosphere.
I don't think it's the best food in ilkley but it is normally good and fairly reasonably priced. On our last visit I had a soufflé which wasn't great, it looked like a soufflé would look if I cooked it. Other than that though all the food we've had has been to a good standard.
The wine list is good and the Maître d has a great understanding of it.
I would definitely recommend people tried this restaurant, it's always a really top night out, which is what it's all about, isn't it?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you taking the time for writing a review. Its much appreciated. I'm sorry you didn't like the souffle, its surprising as we have great feedback about that particular dish. How tasty it is. Just to mention it isn't a high rising traditional souffle, its a twice baked Smoked Haddock Souffle, when garnished with Pea Puree, Leek and Chive Croquettes and Shallot Beurre Blanc, its surprising you didn't enjoy it. Hope to see you again soon to try our new menu. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    41
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley West
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming here since the Farsyde was below Betty's at the back of the Grove.
The food is always consistent and the service excellent !
In fact tonight is our wedding anniversary and we wouldn't have dared come without our (16 yr old) son who has been coming with us since he was in nappies !
Zoe & Gavin have here one of the best if not the best restaurants in Ilkley !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hi Sue, Thank you so so much for writing a review. Its even more humbling when a regular takes the time to write one. Its scary to think that your son has grown up with us at the Farsyde. But hey we have been going for 19 years now!! Look forward to seeing you again very soon. New menu starts next week. (w/c 25th August).
Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Le Street
Level Contributor
157 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fabulous food at The Farsyde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Farsyde and felt spoilt for choice when presented with the menus!

The dishes that we had were inventive and delicious and we felt that our meal was good value for money. We were served by a very friendly and efficient young man who really wanted to ensure we had a great evening. The only disappointment was that we could not manage deserts!

Unfortunately we are not in the area often but we wished this restaurant was near where we live as we could see ourselves being regular visitors!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MFC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Especially such a lovely complimentary one. We are very pleased you enjoyed our food and restaurant. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Ilkley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Deeeeeelicious as always ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I have been treated to the early bird twice in July due to my birthday and boy am I happy! This is my favourite restaurant in Ilkley and I have had countless meals and rave about it each and every time! Go Farsyde! You guys rock!!! Fabulous food and service. I highly recommend the hake and as for the deserts.....well you just die and go to heaven!! I am 100% happy. For the newby's my advice is go hungry after that you can't go wrong whatever your choices. You are in for a foody's delight. Enjoy!!!

Helpful?
Thank Mi-MiMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for a fab, cheerful, enthusiastic review. Love to read such positive reviews. As we really do work hard to be "your" favourite restaurant.
Thanks again and Happy Birthday and see you soon!
Zoe Beedham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We visited the Farsyde with another couple. When entering the restaurant, first impressions were that the bar area was a little scruffy. Sitting down for a drink the service was good though, and the bar staff attentive. We had a table in the middle of the restaurant which was nice with a good atmosphere. A good extensive menu, lots of choice and reasonable price. Service was ok, but they could improve by pooring the wine and checking that it was ok.. The food however was great. overall a nice restaurant, but if they looked to improve the tidiness of the restaurant and the service it would improve the overall experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a fair and good review. We will definitely take your points on board. However my staff are trained that they must always offer a taste of the wine and pour it on the first bottle. So I'm surprised to hear that this didn't happen and I will follow it up.
Zoe Beedham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farsyde also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing