We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food at The Farsyde”
Review of The Farsyde - CLOSED

The Farsyde
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Relaxed and informal, with a high standard and quality of food and service. Everything is made fresh everyday. With an owner head chef the food is always of an excellent standard. We take pride in making your visit to us enjoyable, whether is a special celebration of simply out for tea taking advantage of our great Early Bird menu.
Chester Le Street
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fabulous food at The Farsyde”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Farsyde and felt spoilt for choice when presented with the menus!

The dishes that we had were inventive and delicious and we felt that our meal was good value for money. We were served by a very friendly and efficient young man who really wanted to ensure we had a great evening. The only disappointment was that we could not manage deserts!

Unfortunately we are not in the area often but we wished this restaurant was near where we live as we could see ourselves being regular visitors!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MFC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Especially such a lovely complimentary one. We are very pleased you enjoyed our food and restaurant. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Ilkley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    41
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Deeeeeelicious as always ”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I have been treated to the early bird twice in July due to my birthday and boy am I happy! This is my favourite restaurant in Ilkley and I have had countless meals and rave about it each and every time! Go Farsyde! You guys rock!!! Fabulous food and service. I highly recommend the hake and as for the deserts.....well you just die and go to heaven!! I am 100% happy. For the newby's my advice is go hungry after that you can't go wrong whatever your choices. You are in for a foody's delight. Enjoy!!!

Helpful?
Thank Mi-MiMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for a fab, cheerful, enthusiastic review. Love to read such positive reviews. As we really do work hard to be "your" favourite restaurant.
Thanks again and Happy Birthday and see you soon!
Zoe Beedham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We visited the Farsyde with another couple. When entering the restaurant, first impressions were that the bar area was a little scruffy. Sitting down for a drink the service was good though, and the bar staff attentive. We had a table in the middle of the restaurant which was nice with a good atmosphere. A good extensive menu, lots of choice and reasonable price. Service was ok, but they could improve by pooring the wine and checking that it was ok.. The food however was great. overall a nice restaurant, but if they looked to improve the tidiness of the restaurant and the service it would improve the overall experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a fair and good review. We will definitely take your points on board. However my staff are trained that they must always offer a taste of the wine and pour it on the first bottle. So I'm surprised to hear that this didn't happen and I will follow it up.
Zoe Beedham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We visited here after researching the tripadvisor reviews, and were not disappointed. I can echo previous remarks of attentive staff, and that adequate time was left between each course, not to feel push back out the door. The menu was varied and in detail and the extras such as olives, bread and dips a nice bonus

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a review and also pointing out the added touches that are complimentary. We hope these little extras also keep us one step ahead everyone else. Glad you enjoyed your meal and our service.
Zoe Beedham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a top quality restaurant where the staff really look after you. We visited one evening and had a very good meal - it is clear that they put a lot of care into preparing and cooking the food and are rightly proud of the food.

The restaurant itself is nice and open with modern decor and furniture. It was busy when we went in but not crowded but airy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barco22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsyde, Owner at The Farsyde, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do take pride on our work, from the quality of our food to the standard of our service. We feel we are a nice simply and light airy restauarant, so are pleased to hear you think so too. Had a couple of odd comments bout the decor!!
Zoe Beedham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farsyde also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Addingham, Ilkley
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Addingham, Ilkley
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing