We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A welcome return visit to this lovely flat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Garden Flat

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Bathroom
The Garden Flat
Treat yourself at the wonderful Betty's Tea Rooms
Spend a day browsing the many boutique shops on your doorstep.
Burn off some energy by climbing the Cow and Calf rocks. 2 mins away
Have a great day out at the Embsay Steam Railway.
Have a fun day crossing the stepping stones at Bolton Abbey.
Visit the Castle at the market town of Skipton which is only a short drive away.
A great day out for all the family at Hesketh Farm Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ilkley, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn R
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcome return visit to this lovely flat”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have once again enjoyed an extended weekend in this great flat in Ilkley.
It is such a lovely place to stay,very welcoming and comfortable and so much to do in the town and local area. We can recommend Skipton and Harrogate to visit as well as all the countryside in between. A walk up to the Cow and Calf is a must and the view across the town rivals anywhere in the country.
Thank you to the owners for their thoughtfulness.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2016
Hello and thankyou for your lovely review. We were delighted to welcome you back and wanted to say thankyou for leaving the flat in such beautiful condition. You are welcome anytime!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura h
Competa, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Here you get exactly what it says on the tin - and more besides! The accommodation is beautifully presented, very comfortable and perfectly located for walking to and from the town centre. Private parking is also a real bonus. We really enjoyed our short stay here and will definitely recommend this to friends, family etc. The owners are very efficient with instructions regarding checking in/out etc. and the welcome tray of goodies was much appreciated by us all. In short, excellent accommodation and great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2016
I am delighted you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the welcome tray! We think everyone deserves a few treats on holiday! Thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Claire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoothami...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect spot - home away from home”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a really lovely flat, 15 mins walk from the moors and 5 mins from Ilkley it's really well positioned to enjoy both the countryside and the highstreet of this picturesque little town. The flat itself is the entire ground floor of an end terrace house with its own parking space right outside the door. There is one small step into the property (so wheelchair access would have to be assisted but perfectly fine for buggies etc.). Inside, the condition was immaculate - very well kept, recently refurbished and with a well stocked kitchen. Some little treats were left out for us by the owners who we met on the day of our departure and who are really lovely. Recommend this place as a comfortable home away from home while visiting the delights of rural Yorkshire while still being nice and close to 'civilisation'. Highly recommend the 20-25min walk (very steep) up to the Cow and Calf rocks (and the Cow and Calf pub). There's also a cafe closer to the rocks themselves if pubs aren't your thing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely nature
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2016
Thankyou so much for you kind review and email. So glad you had a good stay, and I'm pleased you did the walk up to the Cow and Calf, we think it's a highlight! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanna B
Bad Zwischenahn, Germany
1 review
“A perfect Christmas holiday!”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent christmas and new year in "The Garden Flat" and we had a really fantastic holiday! The flat was nice and cosy and wonderful decorated for christmas. We only left our comfortable home to visit the pubs in town, of which "The Crescent" and "The flying duck" became our favourite locals.
All in all a place really worth to come back again!
Hanna & Kerstin

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2016
Hi, thankyou for your kind review, it's lovely to hear you had a cosy Christmas at our holiday home! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian S
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Flat in a Central Location”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely flat in a central location. The flat was spacious, but cosy, and a great location to explore Ilkley. The flat was very comfortable and nicely decorated - good quality furnishings. Lots of thoughtful extras - welcome tray, toiletries etc, which were much appreciated. We chose to spend a few days in Ilkley to see our son at Leeds Uni and we definitely plan another visit to the Garden Flat before he graduates!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2016
Thankyou for your lovely review, I'm so glad you had a comfortable stay and look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley G
1 review
“Mr and Mrs ”
Reviewed November 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We hired the flat for the weekend for our family of four and are very impressed with the apartment itself and the warm welcome we were given. The flat is ideal for us in terms of size, layout, parking, location. We'll definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
So pleased to hear you have had a good weekend. Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review, we really do appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manda_dmu
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic flat in an excellent location.”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Myself and some 'old' friends from university stayed here over Halloween weekend to attend a friends wedding at the Winter Gardens. Four of us had travelled from all over the country on a wet, traffic filled, Friday evening and so finding a cosy, warm, comfortable flat after the long journey was just perfect. There was a very generous tray of goodies (Incl. a bottle of wine) waiting for us and a Tesco a stones throw away for any little extras we needed. The flat was extremely well equipped with pots and pans etc. Tea/Coffee/Sugar were all provided as was a pint of milk in the fridge which was very thoughtful.
The flat is located a very short walk from the town and close to the beautiful Ilkley moors. There was ample space to park at the property and plenty of additional parking on the street if required.
The beds are very comfortable and all bedding provided. As well as very soft towels.
I cannot tell you how many times we talked about finding this little gem and how we would without doubt stay here again when we came to visit our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to amenities.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Thankyou for your kind review, it made me smile! Sounds like a lovely weekend, spent with good friends and a fab wedding thrown in too!! So glad you had a good stay, I would love to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing