We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Christmas Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxurious Christmas Stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed in Orchard Cottage and my sister's family stayed in Coach House Cottage for one week over Christmas. It as idyllic. We both come from Yorkshire so felt at home immediately. Both cottages were well equipped, comfortable and beautifully decorated and had luxurious bedding and towels. The welcome cake and fruit bowls were lovely touches as were the festive decorations around the place.
You are right on the Ilkley Moor so handy for walking straight out of the house. One of the magical moments we experienced was going up the hill a little way and setting off Chinese Lanterns into the night sky to celebrate my birthday on 27 December - not possible in many places that are in built up areas or on flight paths.
We are looking forward to booking again in different seasons to see the area without snow but would relish the idea of another Christmas here with everything you need and more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBlakemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
22
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We arrived on a rainy October Friday to celebrate my 60th birthday weekend.
There were ten of us with ages ranged from 3 to 65 and the Gallery was perfect.
Awaiting us was the biggest and most delicious Victoria sandwich cake and a bottle of wine! Tea, coffee, milk and sugar was also provided to start the weekend off.
All the rooms were very comfortable and the kitchen had more than enough crockery etc!
The animals in the garden delighted the boys, as did the boxes of age appropriate toys!
Ilkley Moor opened up to us on the doorstep and we spent happy hours walking in the sun....and rain! A bubble in the spa relaxed us after the exertion of the day.
This is a beautiful self-catering property, in a lovely area. it was absolutely ideal for a happy family occasion.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam1950_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed in one of the top floor apartments (Moorview) for 3 nights and found it fabulously comfortable and well equipped. The views of the Moor from the window were lovely, and the roof garden (shared with other apartments/cottages a real treat with extensive views and patio tables. We had tea sitting out even in October. The kitchen is particulaly good for a short term rental - small but had everything inc full size cooker, slimline dishwasher and good quality pans, crockery etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank east_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

If you are looking for top class self catering accomodation stuated perfectly to explore the Yorkshire Dales and surrounding area yet a short walk from Ilkley town with its interesting shops and great places to eat then we have found it. My wife and I with family have been lucky enough to stay in the wonderful variety of cottages and apartments over the years the latest stay being last week in the Old Gallery. Again all the top class comforts you can ask for and the owners Tim and Paula make sure your stay is complete with their great attention to detail and welcome - not least Paula's delicious cake which is there on arrival ! Westwood Lodge also provides additional facilities such as a lovely garden, gym, roof garden etc. I must also mention that it is great to be able to step out from the cottages and apartments right onto Ilkley Moor. We can ask for no more !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We arrived for a short family break with our two twin sons who are nearly 2 years of age. The Coach House cottage was a last minute booking due to a late cancellation.

The standard of accomodation was excellent with great value for money. The cottage was only a 2min drive into Ilkley town - a lovely place with a wide variety of shops / eating out places.

Tim and Paula who own the cottage could not have done more to help and even came over to move the wooden cots less than ten mins after our arrival. When we arrived we had a brilliant surprise in that over and above the standard welcome pack of tea, coffee etc there was a lovely home made cake also provided and a bottle of chilled wine.

Our two boys had a great time explosing the child safe ground and saying hello to the rabbit, guinea pig, hens and piggies.

We would have no hesitation in returning to this cottage for a longer break as not only is it a great quality of accomodation but Ilkley is a great base from which to explore Yorkshire.

PS If you have any children under 11 years of age you must visit Eureka - The National Children's Museaum - in Halifax.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The courtyard of cottages was really pretty and ideal for relatives or friends to get together but have their own accommodation. A very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere where the children had plenty of freedom and were able to enjoy the animals and trampoline etc. The attention to detail in the cottage was brilliant. A great location for moorland walks. Family football games were enjoyed by all.J.K.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Westwood Lodge is a lovely Victorian building converted to a mixture of self catering cottages and apartments. Its location is fantastic so that if you love walking Ilkley Moor is on your doorstep (literally) and the Dales are a short journey away. Ilkley itself is a lovely spa town easily reached on foot.
We stayed in one of the apartments which are wonderfully equipped and decorated to reflect the building's Victorian heritage. We couldn't have been more comfortable and we loved the roof garden with its spectaculr views of the moor and the Dales. Only one thing to remember - if you don't like the cuckoo don't stay in spring because he or she is quite noisy in the early morning - we loved to hear a bird which is now becoming quite rare.
All in all a terrific holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.4 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
998 reviews
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
208 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.6 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor

Property: Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor
Address: Wells Road, Ilkley LS29 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star historic listed family-run country house serviced apartments (for 2 to 4 guests) and cottages (up to 10 guests) on the very edge of Ilkley Moor in Wharfedale. Peaceful location yet rail station is just a ten minute walk (directly to Leeds 30 minutes). Minimum stay 2 nights. Leisure facilities and award winning gardens. Ideal for business stays and short-breaks. Great alternative to corporate hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing