We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to leave, wish we could live there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the main house for 4 nights with 7 adults and 3 children. The house is just fabulous, so big and full of character. The location is perfect, right at the foot of Ilkley Moor (Ba'h Tat) but still really close to Ilkley town, which is a really nice place with all the amenities required, and a lovely park/riverside area.
Can't really put into words how pleased we were with the house, adults loved it, kids loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLMcClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very beautiful place tucked away in the hills. The staff is wonderful. We had an absolutely wonderful time. The only problem was the check out instructions were delivered to us about an hour before we were leaving and it was 45 minutes of work. ie stripping beds, washing dishes, sweeping, and Vacuuming

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricks99vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in the Wells Apartment from 12th - 19th July 2013. The apartment is clean, very comfortable and well equipped and the views from the little apartment and from the roof terrace superb. But there are major drawbacks with this apartment. Firstly the shower. The electric shower is hopeless, low pressure and the water either stone cold or scalding hot. The mixer tap shower was better but invariably flooded the bathroom because of the inadequate wrap around fabric shower curtains. Secondly, the bath which is one of those ridiculous pseudo Victorian roll top jobs with sides so high that it is nearly impossible for even the active elderly (60s) to climb into. Thirdly, car parking. The allotted space for Wells is close by a hedge which means the driver has to climb out into the untrimmed hedge each time the car is used. Finally, owner support. We never saw the owners or any other representative of the owners at all during the week we were there despite repeated calls to the 0 or 20 contact numbers or their mobile number. All in all not value for money at £545 for the week. These comments, apart from owner support, relate specifically to the Wells apartment and the other properties may be fine.

Room Tip: Wells up 4 flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley42London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudding59, Owner at Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you had mixed feelings about your stay with us. Our three apartments are on the top floor -the second floor - of Westwood Lodge. They enjoy great privacy and views but we always emphasise that the stairs are not for people with mobility issues. Baths are an emotive subject. Some people love to relax in them on holiday, whilst others prefer a shower! It is a requirement that there is a bath to attain a Five Star rating, although we may request an exemption for this apartment, based on guest feedback.

We are passionate about Westwood Lodge! Although we now live next door, we are around every day (and often all day!). We have a policy of not disturbing guests during their stay so leave both of our mobile numbers on information cards, for any issues that arise, day or night. This has replaced the previous office "0" number which you found on some old literature (now replaced). My mobile phone don't show any missed calls from you.

We aim to offer excellent value. The apartment works out at around £39 per person per night. This is in peak season and with free use of the leisure facilities (gym, sauna, jacuzzi), free wi-fi, homemade cake etc.

Tim & Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A weeks large(20+) house party to celebrate my sister's 70th, with age range 3 to 70+ and extended family from Scotland, Wales, America and Lancashire/Yorkshire. It really was the perfect venue. The house and facilities lived up to expectations, well equipped and lots of room for everyone. Lovely bedrooms, clean everywhere, super roof terrace we didn't need the sauna as we were blessed with proper summer weather and Wharfedale looked splendid. The moor for walks was on the doorstep and it was about 10 mins to walk down into Ilkley. Party guests visited Ilkley Lido, Bolton Abbey, Skipton Castle, Harewood, The Great Yorkshire Show, Salts Mill & Hockney,Leeds and York for museums all very convenient, most less than 30 mins away. We had other visitors for 2 bigger parties and still felt to have lots of room. Everyone was most impressed with the facilities and had a lovely relaxed time in splendid surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashireladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudding59, Owner at Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. It was lovely to have you stay with us for your big celebration, shared with family from - seemingly - all over the world! You're right that there is a lot to do in this area, with many visitor attractions within 30 minutes by road or rail.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Tim Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in the Coach House Cottage and it was beautifully appointed. A welcoming homemade cake and tea tray on our arrival with an informative and personal friendly greeting from the owner. Cottage very well equipped - everything thought of. Location on the edge of Ilkley Moor but only a 15min steep downhill walk to the lovely town with many excellent restaurants to choose from - although booking recommended or a £3 ride back in one of the many taxis. Station in town with direct trains from Leeds so a car not necessary - what a wonderful change.

Room Tip: Cottages more self contained with gardens, apartments up stairs which might be a problem with heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudding59, Owner at Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Paula will be particularly pleased that you enjoyed her homemade cake!

You're right that a car is not necessary to enjoy a stay here. Ilkley has four trains every hour and theire are great subsidised bus links across the county and into The Dales.

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We could not have asked for more!! Westwood lodge provided us with the perfect place to stay with family for my mothers 70th. Everyone from the 3 year olds to the 80 year olds absolutely loved it!! The gardens were wonderful, games for adults and kids to enjoy, on the edge of Ilkley moor so even the dog was happy! the pigs, hens and rabbits where a big hit and the accommodation was just fabulous. Thankyou for such a wonderful place to stay, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McCallumHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudding59, Owner at Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for your review. We are getting a lot of bookings for extended family celebrations. It's lovely to see all ages enjoying themselves, from toddlers in The Wendy House, teenagers on the trampoline, grown-ups in the jacuzzi and proud grand (or great grand) parents enjoying Yorkshire Tea and the views from the comfort of an an armchair!

Tim & Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

this review is based on us staying in the moor view and wells unit
stayed here for 3 weeks visiting relatives. good facilities at the lodge and a handy place to enjoy the moors and areas around Ilkley. owners need to be more on hand around the premises. we could never contact them on the house number given and did not like to ring their mobile number. having said that the couple of issues that came up were promptly dealt with when we saw the owner going past and were able to draw his attention to the issues needing fixing..
a lot of notices around the premises about green waste and environmental issues so this would be a place to stay for all those types of social conscious people visiting Ilkley.
the beds are great, a nice welcoming package left for us in the unit. overall an ok experience, but the place needs an overhaul re maintenance. the high roll top baths might be an issue for older visitors and though they are in keeping with the Victorian theme are not very practical with plastic wrap round curtains.
we enjoyed using the cellar spa and thought this a great feature along with the gym. so overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: the wells and moor view units are up a flight of 4 stairs so older people might consider this and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudding59, Owner at Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Although, we 're in or around Westwood Lodge, eveach day, we now ask guests to contact us by mobile phone - day or night - for any issues that arise. We've moved next door (into the the new grass-roofed house), but always have our phones with us.

We have Listed Building Consent to replace the 1950's windows in The Moorview and hope to carry out this work next winter. In the meantime, we are replacing furniture and carrying out redecoration work.

Tim Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilkley hotels
0.6 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
223 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Wheatley Arms
The Wheatley Arms
#2 of 10 in Ilkley
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 10 in Ilkley
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ilkley
248 reviews
3.1 mi away
Craven Heifer - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor

Address: Wells Road, Ilkley LS29 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ilkley
Price Range: $179 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star historic listed family-run country house serviced apartments (for 2 to 4 guests) and cottages (up to 10 guests) on the very edge of Ilkley Moor in Wharfedale. Peaceful location yet rail station is just a ten minute walk (directly to Leeds 30 minutes). Minimum stay 2 nights. Leisure facilities and award winning gardens. Ideal for business stays and short-breaks. Great alternative to corporate hotels! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing