We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor
south shields
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very cosy cottage”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Coach house cottage over the easter weekend, it was very cosy and was one of the best cottages we have stayed at.

Tim and Paula were very helpful and there was a welcome tray awaiting us on arrival with tea, coffee,milk cake, jam ect and also a lovely bottle of wine. Its a great place to stay for exploring yorkshire and we all had a wonderful time. Will return again in the future, and would advise anyone to book at this wonderful little gem of a place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizlascell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
23
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This was my second stay at Westwood Lodge -- the first was in one of the apartments. This time I stayed in Applebarn Cottage for a week, and it was a wonderful base for exploring that part of Yorkshire.

A lot of thought had gone into the cottage, with just the right amount of personal touches to ensure you had everything you needed, but nothing was cluttered. All rooms were well appointed and comfortable, and the claw-foot bathtub was particularly welcome at the end of a long day!

Small problems with the heating system while we were there were dealt with promptly and extremely apologetically, but really it was a small inconvenience and these things do happen!

The hosts could not be more helpful and welcoming. We'll be going back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderlanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is a brilliant place to stay. Tim and Paula are superb hosts and the location and rooms are fantastic. I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyh4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Westwood Lodge was a brilliant little escape for my husband and I during a hectic year. We took our Basset Hounds, Bella and Lola, and introduced them to Ilkely Moor and discovered that so many pubs and restaurants in the area were dog-friendly which was fantastic.
Having a cottage to call home that accepts two big dogs was great too - we took our big pink dog cage and placed it in the kitchen where they slept.
The facilities at the cottage were excellent and we brought too much 'stuff' from washing up liquid to tea towels etc. We had friends over for dinner, we walked, we chilled, we enjoyed the spa and also hired a masseuse from www.MyPersonalSanctuary.co.uk which was bliss.
There is something special about Westwood Lodge and Ilkley. We'll definitely be back.
Jilly and Peter Sullivan
Northern Ireland

Room Tip: We stayed at the Coach House Cottage which was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We love Westwood Lodge!

When we married in 2002, we booked the entire place for a week and welcomed 22 visitors from Canada and the US to stay and enjoy the festivities. They had a ball discovering Ilkley - and the Westwood was a highlight for all.

In 2007 (and with two kids in-tow), we moved our family from Ilkley to Canada and stayed for a week while our house was packed-up for the big trans-Atlantic move. Many happy memories of enjoying our last days in Yorkshire.

Since then, we have visited the Westwood three times. We have just spent the past three weeks with our three children (ages 8, 6 and 1) and have enjoyed a wonderful Christmas and New Year's at the Westwood.

The Westwood offers amazing accommodation for families. We love entertaining friends and enjoy doing lots of cooking and baking (most self-catering places don't have nearly as many kitchen supplies - we cooked a full Christmas dinner this year!). The rooms are all comfortable and the beds very comfy. The kids really love the space!

Ilkley is also a fantastic base for any trip to Yorkshire. The town is a total gem - great restaurants & pubs, nice shops - and, of course, Ilkley Moor (which is literally on the doorstep of Westwood), which offers hours of fun for the kids to explore. Plus, Ilkley is a great base from which to explore Leeds and the Dales - thanks to great train & bus service.

Thanks to Tim & Paula for always making our family feel at-home at the Westwood.

Lisa Grogan

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Grogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We choose to stay at Westwood Lodge as we were visiting family living nearby. The cottages were beautiful and so welcoming on arrival. We stayed at Applebarn Cottage and found the decoration and proportions of the cottage to be a very high standard, they may look quite small from the outside but it was a fantastic size inside. The parking was quite tight but we managed with a large estate car. The small personal touches set Westwood aside from other accommodations, with a homemade cake, welcome pack, and fantastic facilities for families and especially children (they understand the challenges faced by families with small children and accommodate this wonderfully). I would recommend Westwood lodge.

Room Tip: Check out the floor plans available on the website to best select the cottage for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_D42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Once a year I organise a sales meeting for the UK Tilley Hat Agents. We like to travel to a different part of the UK each year and this time we struck gold! There were seven of us altogether the 3 girls occupied The Wells and The Glenmoor self catering apartments on the top floor of the main house, and the 4 boys stayed in The Old Gallery, where the dining and sitting area was later used for our meeting.
Westwood Lodge is a perfect venue for these small informal gatherings, and as we all agreed a definite diary date for that special holiday retreat.The hospitality offered by Tim and Paula cannot be faulted - everything you could possibly hope for from the welcome tray on arrival (including a delicious homemade sponge) to the warmth and comfort of the rooms, the quality of furnishing and equipment and general high standard of accommodation, all in this beautiful part of the country. We even enjoyed our coffee break on the rooftop, with stunning views across the Yorkshire countryside in the Autumnal sunshine. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.4 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
214 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.3 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor

Property: Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor
Address: Wells Road, Ilkley LS29 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star historic listed family-run country house serviced apartments (for 2 to 4 guests) and cottages (up to 10 guests) on the very edge of Ilkley Moor in Wharfedale. Peaceful location yet rail station is just a ten minute walk (directly to Leeds 30 minutes). Minimum stay 2 nights. Leisure facilities and award winning gardens. Ideal for business stays and short-breaks. Great alternative to corporate hotels! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwood Lodge Ilkley Moor Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing