We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vine

The Vine
Ranked #19 of 95 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have now been to the Vine about 5 times. We like to try something different everytime we go and everything we have had has been excellent. As we were not sure what came with every dish the lovely young waitress took some time to let us know and was very helpful. We have told lots of friends how good it is and with also having a food business ourselves we do appreciate good fresh home cooked food. We were not booked in and just wanted a quick meal and this did n't seem to be a problem even though they were fully booked. Just one little thing we'd like to see would be more smiles from the male staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    62
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a decent price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went to The Vine last night as a last minute decision. We phoned ahead to reserve a table and that was a good decision as the place was pretty much full even on a Tuesday night.
My wife and I both opted for the special starter a fritto of squid, prawns and white bait which was very fresh and crispy and tasted of the seafood.
My wife had veal escalopes with lemon butter, rosemary potatoes and spinach; again all well cooked and flavourful. My potato gnocchi with a venison ragout was delicious.
The service was efficient and very friendly. All this with a bottle of organic malbec came in at around £60 including a gratuity which is pretty good value in Ilkley these days. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunlurkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New Choice in the Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We live in the town and had heard good reports from a number of friends - deservedly so. For our first visit we went for the Early Bird. My wife voted the Moules Mariniere one of the best she'd ever eaten and I went for Chicken Saltimbocca [?] recommended by the Owner, which was equally good. All washed down with a very palatable Sicilian House Wine. The bill for 4 of us came in at about £95 including aperitifs, 2 bottles of wine, 3 courses and coffees.
It was a sunny summer evening and the views north to the Moors through the full height glass windows added to the ambience.
Two things disappoint. [1] My G&T came ready mixed [as if the tonic had been on tap] and with no lemon; I was charged £4.95 for this! [My wifes Martini and Lemonade came in a dirty glass too, but that happens sometimes]. [2] the Early Bird finishes a 6pm - far earlier than most others in the town - and will thwart many a Leeds commuter from getting there before it finishes.
Very good Value for Money in Ilkley and Good Luck to them though but please get the bar sorted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VarnPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Have been meaning to go for a while after hearing good things. Took my wife for our anniversary. Thought the food was great and so did the boss. The girl that served us could have been a bit more friendly but fortunately we just laughed it off. Will be going again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Castrovalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilkley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Vine, Ilkley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a relative newcomer to Ilkley in this guise. It was 'La Sila' a family pizzaria. Now with new management it is still child friendly but much more like a traditional Italian eating place. The room has one of the best locations in the centre of town, with views out towards woods and moors, clever use of mirrors means all can share the view. Don't be put off because it is on the first floor - that only helps and car parking is right outside the door. Prices are reasonable and they are moving towards what an Italian family would eat, rather than what many UK 'Italian' restaurants think Brits want. Give it a go, it needs encouragement - nice people, good food and good location.(no unending Italian TV, no closely passing traffic, no show-offs!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing