We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of local ales”
Review of Crescent inn

Crescent inn
Ranked #25 of 96 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great selection of local ales”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We really enjoyed the selection of local ales which were all well-kept. The meal was a little more variable. The blackboard advertised French onion soup, so I ordered it. What arrived was certainly not what was advertised so I asked the waiter what it was - he checked with chef only to discover it was leek and potato soup (which I did not fancy). He took it away and did not charge for it. I also ordered the curry of the day (again, advertised on the board) and asked the bar staff what it was - one thought it was chicken, the other thought it was fish - in the end it was pretty average but did not appear to be based on either chicken or fish! This is an attractive and comfortable pub but needs a little more care on the food side of the business.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    43
    12
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very comfortable bar”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Crescent is a great place to go and watch a football game on TV. I was there last week with some friends who (unlike me) are real beer experts, and they both said the ale was very well kept. The wine list (my department) is very decent too, and the staff offer table service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisatobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location but overpriced”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location is great and the bar has a good atompshere the service was a little slow. The food is nothing special and overall quite expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Central location, good food and great drinks”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

After a truly poor meal at Ilkley Moor Vaults I sought this place out as somewhere to have a decent pub meal, and we weren't disappointed. The pub itself is pleasant and decorated fairly recently, and caters for a range of people without pigeon-holing itself.

When you pay a tenner for a pub lunch you expect at the least some appealling hearty food that's cooked with a bit of pride. Wasn't disappointed. They also seem to have couple of curries on rotation that looked interesting (ie. cooked from scratch) and a few other options. I got there early and happily discovered my pint was included in the bill.

No point going over the top, it was just good value, tasty stuff and we'll keep coming back if it stays like that. Have to mention the beers as well, they had a good all-round bar with some ales on rotation, decent tap lager and some good European bottles too. It's exactly what you'd expect a modern pub to have.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great beer”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We called in for a drink on the Thursday before Easter. We were surprised how busy it was but managed to get a table. The food being served looked very good and the menu also looked good value. We had a pint of Leeds Pale ale which was good. It is a typical big old hotel bar with plenty of bar staff so no real waits for a drink. Worth a visit but you might not get a table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyChappers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent inn also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Crescent inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing