We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub trying to be a restaurant at weekends”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Yard

The Yard
Ranked #9 of 95 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fun and Fusion Bar with great drinks and gourmet burgers.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pub trying to be a restaurant at weekends”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Go to this pub a lot for drinks but recently popped in for a drink and to sit outside on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Made to feel like we could not have a drink and should have been ordering food as well. Couldn't sit outside we were told. Lacks atmosphere and getting above its station if you can't go into a pub and have a drink! Used to love sitting outside upstairs on the balcony and look up to cow and calf. Needs to make more use of outside space both downstairs and up.

Helpful?
Thank TraveliteYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    106
    34
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Popped into the Yard for pre dinner drinks and shall return for food as it looked amazing.
The bar staff are knowledgable and there is a good range of beers and wines.
There is a lovely seating area outside it just a shame it was tipping it down when we went.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank victoriah18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Went to the Yard for dinner, first at all, there isn't a customer car park, so had to park my car elsewhere, a NCP just cross the road though.

We ordered sharing platters which were good and fresh. For the main courses, we ordered fillet fish which was only one steamed fillet, quite tiny potion for adults. But the BBQ ribs was massive, my mum couldn't finish it by herself. I ordered the homemade Yard burger which was quite bland I am afraid to say.

The Yard looks like a nice pub, with both indoor and outdoor sittings, and also a balcony, well decor, good atmosphere. The service was good, the waitress was quite helpful and attentive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyJLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILKLEY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Went here with a Groupon voucher at lunch time after trying to book several days before. They had said they were booked up prior to this visit BUT we know this was not the case as we went in the evening before to check. We were told that although the coupon was for 2 people/2 courses as we were three people that would be ok. There is no vegetarian option on the menu - so they had to russle something up - totally uninspiring. Food not brilliant - dry burgers. Poor selection of beers and poor quality. On paying was told that the coupon - which stated a value of uover £37 - did not cover what we had had (only one course each, coffee and three drinks). Bar staff insisted we paid for all drinks. Had to pay an additional £15.00 for drinks. As someone who lives locally I've know about this place for sometime...will not go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Good value with Group On voucher costing £25 for four. Good starters, steak and burgers.
Got a bit of a shock when I asked for the bill though. Another £26 - four glasses of wine at nearly £5 for a small glass and 2 coffees.

Would visit again, but choose beer or tapwater and avoid the overpriced wine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank basilfawty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yard also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing