We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly past its sell-by date!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
South Coast, UK
1 review
“Truly past its sell-by date!”
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Had the misfortune this last weekend to have to come to Ilkley for a funeral and stayed at the Craiglands. Arrived late on the Thursday so decided to have a bar dinner. Fish and Chips. The food arrived and it was stone cold. They took it away and microwaved it (warm salad, soggy chips and even soggier fish was the result). Indifferent response from the bar staff about this being the best way to re-serve food (along, I might add with the same knife and fork that they had taken with the plate). Had a couple of beers (at outrageous prices) and went to bed in what must have been the scruffiest room in the UK. Peeling paint, scratched wallpaper and curtains that didn't meet in the middle along with a view of a housing estate (I didn't even have a net curtain on the window for privacy) together with a TV that got virtually no channels and a remote with the batteries missing didn't strike me as being good value for almost a £100 a night. I got moved the next night to a twin room where they hadn't even changed the sheets before they moved me, the springs were virtually poking through the top of the bed and a selection of empty toiletries bottles which didn't really matter as the room had no hot water, heating that worked nor side light with bulbs in them. The bathroom door needed someone with the strength of Samson to close it. Overall a truly awful experience that I would not recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Beautiful building
  • Disliked — The list is endless
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazzersSouthCoast_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    246
    178
    161
    145
See reviews for
149
480
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Glad we only stayed one night as we were at a function nearby. Very bad value for money indeed.

It really needs updating NOW (no it is not quaint), has very poor facilities for non wedding guests - not even a decent place to sit and have a coffee or beer - is that too much to ask. (Wedding facilities looked dated and dingy too - hope it is cheap).

If you are attending a wedding here, then you probably have to stay- otherwise I really really would give it a big miss. We heard local B&Bs had great facilities and were so much cheaper. You have been warned. Staying here will depress you.

Breakfast is very very poor unless you love long waits for service and coffee, soggy toast, and cold yucky buffet food.

Our other party staying here felt just the same.

  • Liked — Nothing at all - leaving
  • Disliked — Dingy shabby and depressing stae of place
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Astoundingly Bad. From the unbearable smell of vomit in the elevator to the completely impartial attitude of the staff, I can honestly say that this is one of the worst hotel experiences I have had to endure. The rooms were horrible and they neglected to tell us there was a 60th B-Day party and a wedding at the hotel the night we stayed. We didn't get to sleep until 3.00am. I was a nice touch that as of 11.00am the next morning the cigarette butts from the prior evening still littered the entrance way. Upon checking out I politely made my concerns know and the woman at the reception who took my email address and told me the general manager would contact me. I bet her a fiver he wouldn't. One week later and still no word. This place is atrocious and charges you ridiculous rates for the privilege of staying in squalor. Avoid at all costs.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — the smell of vomit.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Skymouont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Quite imposing on the outside, with quite nice puplic rooms,but oh dear the bedroom was very shabby with broken window sash that made it difficult to open and close ,stained wallpaper and peeling paintwork. On the plus side the breakfast was very good.
Overall not good value for money,badly in need of refurbishing.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shabby bedrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyKitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Stayed at the hotel for a friends civil ceremony wedding which was excellent. The hotel from the outside is very grande and set in its own grounds with small garden area.
They have a very large car park which is secure and safe. The hotel is ideal for Ilkley town centre and the moors.
The ceremony was held in one of the large function rooms and was set out very proffessionally.
All the staff were very smartly dressed throughout the day and the service was excellent through the wedding breakfast meal.
The food was excellent!!
The bar prices however were not good!! I know its a hotel etc etc but there is no need to over charge people!! Extremely expensive bar which seemed to get worse throughout the night??
My advice would be to take your own bottle and just buy coca cola!!
All the rooms i used were very clean and well furnished. i stayed on the second floor and thought the room was quite small but ok for one night. The shower in our bathroom was certainly in need of repair or replacement as it was just a trickle!!
Also the hot tap on the sink ran only tepid and the cold one very very hot?? Weird??
Breakfast was excellent. Buffet style brekkie with full english or continental foods and cereals with fresh fruit and lots of tea and coffee and fruit juices.
Over all an excellent stay for an excellent event.
Well done to the Sooty's!!!!!!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — bar prices - NO NEED!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

The building and seetings are lovely and make for quite an impressive arrival and the public areas are quite smart. There are some large very grand rooms with nothing in them that you have to go thorugh to get to the bar and resteraunt. The bedroom rooms are a bit tired but not shabby and certainly very clean. I travel with work and felt very welcome and very safe there. I'd recommend it for business use but its not really a place to go for a special stay.

A couple of odd things - both my bathroom taps ran scalding hot water?! Surely that must have been reported before? I had to order bottoled water to brush my teeth. A party seemed to start up around 10.30 and I was disturbed by the music of this "function" so rang reception. No function, just, I suspect, the young staff team enjoying some rowdy down time after work. The night manager took immediate care of it and it stopped but a bit odd, I thought.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10diamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the charming Craiglands Hotel, and enjoyed a comfortable room with a view of the moors, and the colorful spring flowers of the lovely grounds. The staff was very helpful and corteous, and the food was always delicious.
We stayed 6 nights and felt very much at home, and had fantastic service during the conference that we were presenting there for 5 days. We will be looking forward to staying there again on our next trip to Ilkley! We had no complaints, whatsoever!

  • Liked — Historical charm and Location in the country with hiking nearby.
  • Disliked — Internet access very slow.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Naturedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Property: The Craiglands Hotel
Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing