We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay - tracing our ancestry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very impressive buildings and pleasant gardens. Plenty of car parking. We were greeted by the manager at the reception desk who made us both very welcome. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the entrance. Very spacious bathroom. Clean and crisp, although slightly dated, which fitted in with the building. Only fault was the speaker in the brasserie below which was mounted in the ceiling, made our room slightly noisy. Mentioned this to the manager on leaving, and he said it would be dealt with. Our deal included a three course meal and breakfast, which we couldn't fault. Have travelled all over the world, and this hotel has a unique character of its own. Can't wait to go back. thank you all for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjstrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Firstly the greeting from the girls on reception was very pleasant but that was pretty much the only pleasant thing that happened. Very dated and damp room which didnt have a phone in which i have never heard of a hotel that big that doesnt have a phone in the rooms. So when we had to go downstairs to ask for an iron, which was a slight inconvenience anyway, It turning up half an hour - 40 mins later wasnt great! Also trying to get a drink at the bar was hilarious!! We were told we could charge things to our room on check in but then when we got to the bar the young lad made us go back upstairs to get the cardboard holder which our keys came in to which when we got back he said wasnt valid?! So we said we will just pay by card then, then the machiene wouldnt work so he said we needed to go to reception to pay for them which we did and eventually got our two bottles of beer (which were warm)! We tried again to get a drink when we got in that evening and the night porters took about half an hour to organise one drink!!
All in all a very strange place in desperate need of money and staff training!
Positives:
Warm welcome
Comfy bed

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MissMeadows1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

we likewise wanted to like our stay,but it was crap,although the staff were all friendly,and even to the extent of a bucket of ice & champagne glasses-cool!!!!!But really the place has a horrid musky smell & has 70s style carpets(a bit hawaii 5 o)& really a shame I thought my kids had put me in a nursing home early!!!!!!I am not a stick in the mud kind of guy but am reasonably well travelled,and stayed in lots of beautiful hotels in london,the lakes,and abroad,and there is a lot to be said for camping after staying there-I did tell one of the staff that I shouldnt tell them but i was from Lancashire Life good food guide offices (being in yorkshire thought they wouldnt beleive me-but did)I also noted on the top 57 restaurants in Ilkley this was number55 in the guide,so we went into town instead as the menu was the chefs choices,and even myself could rattle up a superb evening meal better-I dont want to offend but it really was rubbish,and when i got home it felt like buckingham palace-SORRY cowpat road you failed!!!

Room Tip: Yes stay in the Lakes instead-As we had a lovely view of the beautiful birds eating out of the dustb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Craiglands Hotel, the room was very comfortable, the deal we had included dinner, the only thing we considered a little odd was that we were the only people in the restaurant, but the food was excellent and breakfast the next morning was really good, but again only one other person eating, it felt a little odd. The staff were efficient and very friendly and did say they had been really busy with weddings the day before, the were possibly glad we were the only guests, overall a great stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I came to the hotel on Friday night for a meal and some drinks in the bar. The hotel looked lovely lit up in the evening and the staff were really pleasant. We had several drinks in the bar area, and although the wait for food was slightly longer than expected, the food was well worth waiting for absolutely delicious. The hotel was very busy with diners, as well as a function in the main suite. The staff were really helpful and the atmosphere was both welcoming and relaxing. After reading some of the negative reviews on here, I can honestly say that I could not disagree more, some people seem to get a buzz from being unduly rude and overly critical. I was so impressed that myself and several friends have booked on to one of the tribute events later this month, a 3 course meal entertainment and disco for £25 brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Leiza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a one night Bed and Breakfast stay, plenty of parking available and an impressive looking hotel with nice gardens. Reception staff were warm and welcoming. Very efficient speedy check in. Our room was very nice, large and comfortable, clean good sized bathroom.

Breakfast in the Brasserie had a good array of figs, prunes, dried fruit, yogurt, cereals etc. Good choice of hot food, scrambled eggs very nice. Again staff member on duty , friendly , keeping tables tidied and offering more coffee/tea. Nice surroundings.

Situated only a few minutes walk down quite a steep hill into the town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotels web site advertises afternoon tea as a memorable experience! Well it is for the wrong reasons!the bar area is quite shabby..old tables and even shabbier leather chairs. As for the afternoon tea..no choice of sandwich..take it or leave it. Unmemorable cakes broken tea pot.disastrous waste of £19 per person.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank lizzbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest

I feel that I need to take exception to this guest comment, for a number of reasons firstly our bar area is not "shabby" we are country house hotel with a bar area which does have leather sofa's and high wing back arm chairs for guests to relax in of they so which or they can take their tea in our Brasserie restaurant whichever they feel more comfortable with. As for our afternoon tea itself we have done over 1500 teas in the last month alone with exceptional feedback we have a variety of homemade cakes and scones ( even today a previous guest who has returned twice commented they were even better than Betty's ! ) each afternoon tea comes with a selection of sandwiches meat / seafood and vegetarian fillings with a list too long too mention here including Ham / Beef / Tuna / egg / cheese and pickle plus many more this is accompanied by a glass of sparkling wine for each person and Tea or coffee with complimentary re - fills ! if anybody has any dietary requirements ie vegan or gluten free our chefs are more than happy to make up to each individual case so if this guest was not happy with their selection a quiet word with the waitress would have solved any problem but as is normal with certain guests the power of being able to voice their often misguided views on this website instead of speaking with a member of management just goes to show the type of person they are.
Thank you for your comments and as always we review our menus and selections to make sure we are offering the best value possible.

Chris Dodgson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,197 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: $93 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing