We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Ilkley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Return to Ilkley”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is showing its age and needs some TLC particularly with the bathroom plumbing with water running all night. Room was small but clean with all the basic amenities. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Good selection for breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent visit. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are very proud of our beautiful 19th Century building and are working hard to maintain its charm and beauty. Our current refurbishment scheme will address some pluming issues which are unfortunately common in a property of this age.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Toole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    246
    179
    161
    145
See reviews for
149
482
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Having read all the comments below I couldn't disagree more. The rooms are pleasantly decorated (some more modern than others) and the beds are comfy.The bar and breakfast areas are clean and food staff are very efficient. Breakfast was enjoyable and the sandwich from the bar snacks menu was beautiful and very fairly priced for a plateful at 5.50. The reception staff I found to be very helpful and polite. Wifi easy to access and good signal despite the idyllic location. Overall a very pleasant stay at the craiglands, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SaharaSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent visit. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments on to our team who were equally pleased to hear such positive remarks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglands Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mark Toole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at the craiglands once before our last visit and we were impressed, however the last visit wasn't the same. When we arrived a wedding reception was due to start so it was very busy. We normally like to check into a hotel then settle in the bar and have drinks, however due to the wedding and guests been loud and milling around everywhere we stayed in our room :( at tea time we went downstairs to see how busy it was and loads of people were just scattered everywhere so we didn't want to dine in the restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed before. We ended up going to the cow and calf pub up the road in a taxi and eating there. We returned to the hotel at 10.30pm and a woman was screaming outside and fighting with a man (not the hotels fault, however it didn't need over 20 people who were drunk loitering on the front steps) we went straight to bed. Our room was ridiculously small which was a shame. At breakfast I would of preferred it not to have been buffet which was not enough considering the amount of guests that morning. All in all we didn't enjoy our stay or feel able to use the facilities

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay however I sincerely apologise that you felt you were unable to enjoy our facilities. We hope that you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Toole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

As we drove up to the impressive hotel we were looking for disabled signs, which we found but nowhere did there appear to be disabled parking. On going to our room we didn't have any towels and the room was small. Just a bedside table at one side of the bed. The toilet cistern lid was too large for the loo. There was a masticator on the loo with what appeared to be liquid poo down the side that had leaked out of it. In the bedroom one of the electric sockets did not work. The valance on the curtain was hanging off at one end. On our second night there was some noise from the bistro below.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssnsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly I would like to apologise for what from your comments seems a less than satisfactory stay. I would also like to assure you that all of your concerns will be given to our Maintenance and Housekeeping managers who will be investigating the matters. We do hope that this has not put you off staying with us in the future as we would very much appreciate the opportunity to show that this is not our usual standard at the Craiglands Hotel.

Kind Regards

Mark Toole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for one night visiting relatives. It was the first time since my wedding reception in 1973 and I have to say I was disappointed. The bathroom showed signs of black mould between the tiles. There was a notice in the welcome pack stating that due to the age of the plumbing it would take up to 10 minutes for hot water to come through the shower. I was still waiting for hot water to come through the shower head after I finished having a bath 45 minutes later!

I made a couple of phone calls from the room and there was terrible interference on the line and the Wi-Fi didn't work.

This is a great pity because the building is beautiful and was once renowned as Ilkley's most prestigious hotel.

Sadly the renovation will cost them millions!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John7550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to apologise that you found your stay to be a disappointment. We are currently working hard to develop our hotel and hope that you will be visiting us again in the near future to see the results.

Kind Regards

Mark Toole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've got to agree with a number of the other reviews. We had no real problems to speak of but the walls are very thin and we could clearly hear our neighbours talking. Luckily, they weren't rowdy so no harm done. And, yes, I get some of the "tired" comments. One problem we had was that the toilet flush wasn't strong enough to "get the job done" - could have been our fault, but I don't think so! Breakfast was fine and staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PW606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest

I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback it always gives us a good guide on how we can make improvements to our hotel. We do hope to see you again in the future.


Kind Regards

Mark Toole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I arrived with two friends earlier this month - we thought the setting was fantastic, and looked forward to a Yorkshire welcome. Alas staff in the restaurant and on reception were, well, not rude but just a bit bored. It costs nothing to smile and it means so much to visitors - we like to feel welcomed! OK the rooms were fine, but tired - especially the bathrooms and my electricity went out - not what I needed late at night (but must say the chap that sorted it out was very nice).
Attention to little details is so important - if you're going to charge serious prices for rooms (and breakfast separately which wasn't obvious) you need to up your game. You can't rest on your laurels because you're in a lovely place. A lot can be forgiven but I expect more Craiglands. Come on, step up to the mark! Smiling staff, refurbed bathrooms and new lampshades would be a great start for the Tour de France next year - you want return business, don't you?!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to apologise that you found our staff to be some what bored during your stay, I will be passing this comment on to my departmental managers who will be sure to retrain there staff as necessary. I would also like to inform you that we are currently in the process of refurbishing some of our bathrooms and always working to make improvements throughout our hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Toole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Property: The Craiglands Hotel
Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing