We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed June 11, 2013

As a couple looking for a peaceful and stress free short break we could not have been more impressed with this hotel. A beautiful building set in a wonderful landscape. From arrival to checking out, we found the staff to be attentive without being intrusive and very helpful. Our room was clean and very comfortable including the bed and the hotel exuded an air of tranquillity which all combined to make our stay really refreshing. We are already planning a return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peebee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

As a mature couple looking for a short break we were not disappointed at The Craiglands Hotel. First impressions do count. We noted how clean our room was the bed linen was fresh and clean and the mattress comfortable Its the best night sleep we have had in a long time. The staff we courteous at all times and nothing was too much trouble for them. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arnoldclark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks for your review, great to read that your stay was comfortable and really good to read that you would come back again.
We want to be able to give a professional, informal service and always looking to throw in some good old Yorkshire hospitality.
I hope you found the corridors and stairs not too steep!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently attended a wedding at this lovely hotel and decided to stay for a couple of nights. What an excellent decision! This is a lovely hotel - full of character. It is in a lovely place with great views. The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable. Very big bed and loads of towels and tea/coffee etc. The staff are helpful (apart from the man on the bar late at night - he could do with cheering up a bit!) The food was excellent! There were 120 guests at the wedding and the food quality was superb! It was well presented and nicely cooked. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If you don't want to be climbing loads of stairs, tell them when you make the booking. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsBucket1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Many thanks for your review, extremley pleased to read that everything was up to standard and you had an enjoyable visit.
Sorry that the one of the team was a bit grumpy I can only put this down to a long day but should not have happened being centre stage and front of house. My intention is always to deliver great customer service and we have had a blip here it seems.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My recent stay at Craiglands has been most enjoyable. The view facing the hotel is like a paradise. Hotel nicely located for leisure break. The room good size. Reception staff very helpful, nothing was a problem. Food out of this world. I will not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kemi2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thanks for your review, great to read that your stay was enjoyable and everything was a good standard. I will pass your comments onto our Chef, he will be pleased!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Myself and the whole family had a fantastic weekend at the Craiglands Hotel. Having visited the hotel for a family wedding were impressed by not only the character of the hotel but the kindness of the staff and their efforts to make the experience memorable. I would definitely re-visit the hotel or recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pradeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Many thanks for your review, I was glad to read that your visit to Ilkley and the Craiglands was a memorable one. The team here are dedicated and committed and want to assist our guests in any way, shape or form and nothing is too much trouble.
I will certainly pass your comments onto the team.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed last weekend, was well looked after. Great service and food. Will definately stop again. Reception staff deserve a special mention, nothing was too much trouble for them! The hotel is clearly very well cared for.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dw123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and really pleased to read that everything was up to par during your stay. I will pass on compliments to the chef and team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Attended a wedding on Sarurday. The Craiglands is a perfect venue for weddings. Staff were very courteous and the food quality was beyond all expectations. Bedrooms are a very good size and well appointed as well being very nicely decorated. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peterjd20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Many thanks for your review, I was extremley pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time and stay and nothing was too much trouble for the team. I will certainly pass your comments onto the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back n the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
225 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
155 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: $68 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing