We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer service”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The rooms were big but cold and drab, bathroom shabby with little hot water, bar area smart but had to go seeking staff, breakfast mediocre. Cost- thereby hangs the problem; booking online on Craiglands website proved more costly than booking by phone as discounts for attending a function don't apply to website bookings even though they ask about the reason for your stay. That still isn't the issue really, I spoke to reception when I checked out they said they'd get back to me but didn't and then I have written two letters still no reply. Stayed recently in a well known budget hotel chain Craiglands could learn a lot!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikey384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, I can only aplogise for the shortfalls in your stay back in December. There seemed to be a couple of areas where we have not come up to standard. There would have been a preferential rate set for the wedding party, would have just needed to come direct to the hotel.
Please let me have your contact details, I would be very happy to discuss your stay with you.
I do hope you might give us another chance to show you what the Craiglands should be like.
We look forward to a return visit at some stage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    247
    179
    161
    145
See reviews for
149
483
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tarleton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We looked at all the bad reviews and still decided to stay here, on arrival in which we where early, we could book in right away. The staff where very friendly and would do anything for us. The room had just been redecorated and was a lovely, it was a little hot but we turned the radiator down and it was fine. The bathroom had a bit if a dicky shower very hard to get the temp right but once we did it was lovely. Very comfortable room but very squeaky floor boards in which in the middle of the night are very noisy and am sure it would wake me in I was in the next room. But the hotel and staff are very friendly and I think that if you want to stay in a building that is over two hundred years old then this you are bound to get some creaking and groaning from the age of the place. Would stay again if up that way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sj140160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review about your stay and the hotel. I was glad to read that everything was in good working order even in a 200 year old hotel. (Built to last!)
The team are always wanting to give a professional yet informal service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night, I'd read the reviews and called ahead to ask for a warm room and also for some additional pillows as I need a lot to sleep. When we arrived the staff were very curtious and directed us to our room where they had placed the pillows and an electri heater "just in case"
The room was beautiful, 105, quite close to the lift and at the front of the hotel. We ate in the bistro restaurant. The meal was very good, not much choice on the menu, chicken, a veggie option, salmon and a sausage option. No beef..... The floor was a little bouncy and you could feel the waitresses walking form the other end of the room.
The bar was a bit sparsely furnished and possibly in need of some flowers and ornaments to make it more welcoming and perhaps better mood lighting.
The shower in my room was difficult to set the temperature I reported this to reception on check out and they apologised and said they would get on to fixing it.
Overall a really nice stay and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I was really pleased to read that your stay was wonderful and you had an enjoyable stay with us. The team are always willing to go the extra mile to make our guests have the best experience as possible.
We look forward to you returning and welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for a night on an offer from travel zoo. Room small but adequate for a night or a weekend. Room very clean and freshly decorated. All staff very helpful and obliging. Had a very nice candle lit evening meal and then sat in the bar which was not very warm. The staff lit the fire which gave it a warmer feel but would suggest using a few decent logs as the small pieces of wood burnt through very quickly.Would like to visit Ilkley again in the warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MalvernAlcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was to your liking. We will have to get some bigger logs for time your next visit.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at Craiglands Hotel Ikley. If you want a relaxing break then DONT go to this hotel. I can't believe how noisey the place was. There was a wedding celebration on the Friday night and again on the Saturday night with very loud music and lots of drunken people staggering along the corridors shouting and screaming until the early hours clearly with no consideration for other customers. These planned celebrations weren't mentioned when we recently booked this hotel. If they had of been then I would have certainly chosen elsewhere to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Fantastic place. Attended a wedding, staff very friendly especially becky on reception who was very welcoming and always smiling and on hand to help to make our stay very enjoyable. wedding food superb!! Stayed in room 108 excellent view of the moors, very clean and quiet. would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liannerobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a pleasant couple of days spent here with three friends. The break was booked before Christmas, after being advertised on Travelzoo at what we considered to be a very good price. After booking, however, we read the reviews on Tripadvisor and were extremely apprehensive about what we would find at the hotel, which has been critiized for being very cold and having dirty bathrooms. We had three rooms between the five of us, all of which, though small, were newly decorated, very clean and warm. The bathrooms and towels, in particular, were clean and, in fact, in our particular case the bathroom was new and very modern. The only criticism I would have is that the shower, although new and of good quality, did not function as well as it should, presumably because of the old plumbing. However, we were assured by the new manager, Chris Butler, who took the time to talk to us, that he is looking into this as he is aware that it is a problem. We were all very impressed with the friendly service we received, even though there was a large wedding being held whilst we were there. Our deal included breakfast and a three-course dinner. The food was excellent and beautifully presented and served by a very pleasant set of staff. The public rooms were all warm and well presented - though, if Chris reads this perhaps we could suggest that the lounge could be much improved by the addition of flowers (not necessarily fresh) or planting arrangements and more intimate lighting, which would give it a cosier feel.

We hope people will not be put off by previous reviews. We would have no hesitation in returning and would expect things to improve even more with the enthusiasm of the new manager.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrysalis27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Property: The Craiglands Hotel
Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing