We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good, although no continental option on the first morning. Convenient parking and walking distance into the centre of Ilkley. Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for the price of 1 and it was good value but not sure I would have felt the same had a paid full price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bam2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAcil, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Bam2008,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I can assure you that I will share your comments with the team here.

We regularly place special offers across the hotel so please keep an eye out for the next promotion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Craiglands in the future.

Many thanks again

Grant Upton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for The Craiglands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

public toilets for the event were dirty, half the light bulbs were missing and toilet rolls were just thrown on the floor. i asked staff at reception 4 times to sort out the toilets and it was never done.

sandwiches were very poor. cheap fillings, no salad. unsatisfactory.

staff were very unhelpful, through no fault of their own, they seemed to have no idea what was going on and there was no management to support them. a good team needs good management.

parking was a nightmare. at least 3 neighbors came in whilst we were attempting to check in to complain and threaten to call the police. not a good look.

check in to the rooms was not till 2 o'clock. the wedding was at 2 o'clock! very smart!

there was a lack of staff available to help with any problems.

no clean champagne flute available when we arrived for the bride. i had to wait while they washed them up!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieAlexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAcil, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear SophieAlexi,

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate the time you have taken to leave your feedback. As a team we strive to continually improve and enhance our guest’s experience, constructive comments allow us to further advance our products and services however I feel the way in which you have relayed your feedback is somewhat embellished and in part misleading.

Check in at the Hotel is from 2pm, which gives the housekeeping team a timescale to service the room from the previous occupants. The check-in time is made available on our website, in your booking confirmation and is relayed at the time of booking. We endeavour to allow guests an early check-in, but this cannot be guaranteed. I am aware you had a function to attend at 2pm but as explained to you on the day, we offer guests attending functions a two night discounted accommodation rate, booking the night prior would have guaranteed your room availability upon arrival at the hotel. I must also note that you had multiple rooms booked and were able to check in to the available rooms prior to 2pm.

We have two car parks within the hotel grounds. Upon your arrival one car park was full; however the second lower car park was vacant in its entirety. New signage has being recently erected to direct guests, I’m sorry if you overlooked these in your haste to check-in.
I have spoken to the Housekeeping team regarding the cleanliness of the toilet facilities; I am apologetic that on this occasion you found them to be less than satisfactory. In line with our environmental policy, the lights in the toilet cubicles are on sensors which are activated once you step inside. A member of the housekeeping team serviced the public toilets throughout the day which were busier than usual with guests getting changed and preparing for the wedding.
We have received a large amount of praise from guests in attendance of the wedding and I’m sorry that on this occasion you didn’t feel we got it 100% correct. I do hope you consider staying with us again in the future; we would be delighted to welcome you back.





Bradley Mitchell
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

staff were helpful....room warm and cosy...but the sandwiches were poor quality. fillings poor.
cakes were just awful....scones dry and tasteless. squirty cream too. fruit cake shop bought. if not chef should be ashamed. ....staff pleasant.. we had vouchers from Travel Zoo. for our friends birthday treat.....after a 1 hour travel we were very disappointed. .not the place to go for afternoon tea....come on you can do better.
But would like to try a meal one evening because the menu looked excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirelass07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night and found the room very spacous and clean, Dinner was delicious and well worth the money. All staff were friendly and polite.The building its self is beautiful with great surroundings. Will be re-visiting very soon

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lou122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Craiglands this weekend, we had a lovely time. The room was ok, nothing to write home about but clean and comfortable. Just the right temperature - I generally struggle to sleep in hotels but had a very good nights sleep. The meal was gorgeous, really enjoyed it. The only downside was a lack of staff, this could have been due to the wedding taking place. Would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bexmycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Food quite good when the staff worked out what time dinner was served. Room small although it was an Executive Room. Bed not properly made and stained sheet on arrival. Carpet not hoovered on arrival nor at any time during three day stay - is there a shortage of toilet paper in Yorkshire. Workman burst into room with ladder to fix alarm when my wife was getting out of the shower - very embarasing for all concerned. Bar was being painted and doors left open so very cold. Gents toilets not very clean. We booked an inclusive B&B and dinner package but on check out receptionist did not know and tried to charge an extra £80 for food. She eventually found the booking on the computer and reduced the price to what we expected to pay. A big hotel but under staffed and in need of some proper house keeping.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems as we do make sure you are near the lift
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb62StokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the first time we made contact with The Craiglands Hotel, enquiring about the possibility of booking our Wedding with them, the staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. After being shown around the Hotel, there was no doubt in our minds that The Craiglands was the perfect place for our Special Day.

Communication was always open and Louise and Jessica who were the events co-ordinators were always extremely helpful and approachable, no question was a silly question and my Wife and I always looked forward to our meetings with them. Any phone calls or emails were replied to efficiently and we has great confidence in them always delivering on their promises and that everything would run smoothly on our Wedding Day.

On the build up to our Wedding, both Jessica and Louise put us at ease and kept us updated on what would be happening on the day. When we dropped off the wedding favours etc, the receptionist was more than happy to arrange for gifts to be placed in guests' rooms too.

The Wedding Day went perfectly, The Craiglands team are perfectionists and it is clear to see that they take pride in all that they do and we were overwhelmed by the lovely comments we received from our guests of the venue, the staff, the food, the all round presentation and also their bedrooms. That in itself was music to our ears and we just wish we could do it all over again!! Even at breakfast the following morning, the staff checked to see we had enjoyed ourselves.

We are so grateful for the hard work that all of The Craiglands team contributed to for our Wedding Day to run so smoothly and be the perfect day that it was and we are very much looking forward to our next visit there! It is so wonderful for a hotel to be so passionate in what they do!

Newlyweds Poppy and Katie

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoppyHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,186 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: $89 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing