We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely soup!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Veggie

The Veggie
Ranked #5 of 93 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving Freshly cooked vegetarian food and cakes including gluten & dairy free.Freshly ground coffee,loose leaf teas and fresh fruit smoothies. All served in beautiful surroundings within the spa town of Ilkley.
Leeds
Level Contributor
308 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Lovely soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I recently popped into the veggie cafe with a friend for a mid week lunch. Neither of us had ever tried this cafe before although we had driven past it many times. Everything on the menu sounded good but we both opted for the homemade courgette, red pepper and sweet potato soup, which was served with 2 large chunks of granary bread. The soup was delicious and very filling! I'll have to call in another time to try one of their very tempting cakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    34
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go here !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic restaurant with lovely food, cheerful service and brilliant atmosphere. Gets very busy but doesn't take bookings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyfeetLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very pleasant looking food, home style cooked and tastes amazing! Been here twice in one week whilst on a trip away! Would come again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New goodies on the menu....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I urge all meat eaters like me to give this place a try as it will completely dispel your notions of veggie food! The chef is quite clearly passionate about his food and it really shows. Its nearly always busy because the food and the service are great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1962Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice cup of tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to this cafe for a cup of tea and a piece of cake after a morning at the lido in Ilkley. I thought it would be a good place to get something gluten-free, since vegetarian places often are, and the menu in the window said they offered gluten-free bread as an option in some of the meals, and gluten-free cake was available. I chose a piece of gluten-free banana and walnut cake. It was good, but I noticed that the waitress served it with the same cake slice that she had just used to serve my husband's normal cake. I decided not to say anything because a small amount doesn't affect me too badly (I don't have coeliac disease) but perhaps I should have done. For people suffering from coeliac disease, it would be worth mentioning to the staff that gluten-free food should be served with separate utensils. Anyway, the cake was good, and the cup of tea was lovely. The staff seemed to be disorganised - it took a while for a coffee, a tea and two pieces of cake to arrive, and it all arrived at different times, but that's part of the charm of the place if you're not in a hurry (we were the only people in the cafe so it wasn't due to it being busy). The cafe is nicely decorated, has big windows onto the street, and has local artwork on the walls. All in all, it was very pleasant if somewhat slow, but more care should be taken with the gluten-free food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HBunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Veggie also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Veggie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing