We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of The Veggie

The Veggie
Ranked #9 of 97 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Serving Freshly cooked vegetarian food and cakes including gluten & dairy free.Freshly ground coffee,loose leaf teas and fresh fruit smoothies. All served in beautiful surroundings within the spa town of Ilkley.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A lovely place to eat - the only problem is it is a small place to eat so it does get full sometimes. The menu has lots to choose from, but the specials are great!! Always home made soup on the daily specials and they often have an unusual twist. The meze platter is beautifully presented!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elly0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    39
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely fresh food and great choice”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We enjoyed lunch here on a day out in Ilkley. It was good value and there was a great selection on the menu

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the hour drive!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hubby and I go to Ilkley about once a month or so and we love to eat here.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We are Vegan and its great that we can eat here because the chef is very accommodating to our requirements, the fact that they go the extra distance is what keeps us coming back.
Normally in some veggie restaurants if you don't eat eggs, they just leave them off, so you end up "short-changed". Not so here, we get something else instead. It's little things like that, that make you appreciate this little gem.
If we lived nearer I would be in here at least once a week!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have visted with friends a few times for lunch and never been disappointed. It's obvious that the chef is gifted and talented, and his "specials" are superb. I think the soups are the best I ever tasted, and I love the relaxed atmosphere, with young and friendly staff. I am not a vegetarian, and neither are any of my friends, but we can't resist a trip to The Veggie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I pop in every week for a take away soup, they are just gorgeous, always a new flavour and spoilt for choice. The cakes are also a must, you don't need to be a veggi to go here, it's healthy and freshly made food, even my kids want to go for lunch during school holidays. The staff are very friendly too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smarlow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Veggie also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Veggie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing