We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will impress the Tour De France next year”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #3 of 97 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'être' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and crème brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This will impress the Tour De France next year”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very handy eatery in the centre of Ikle y, this old hotel boasts a modern French themed Bistro.
We visited at lunch time on a Wednesday, after taking the precaution of pre-booking, it was full.
The food was excellent, the staff attentive and the two course menu more than adequate.
The house Sauvignon blanc was fresh, well chilled and up to standard.
My only criticism, my usual one as anyone who has read my reviews before will recognise, was the main course served in soup dishes.
I raised this with Richard, the manager, and he tells me that ordinary dishes would not hold the gravy, strange I have been using ‘ordinary dishes’ for over 70 years.
It appears that the kitchens are under instruction from ’head office’ to use them. Surly this should be the decision of ‘the customer’. The concession they make is that if requested by the customer they will serve on a plate. I wonder if ‘head office’ has tried cutting steak in a dish or even done a survey to see how the customers feel about their use.
This discussion was handled in a good natured way, and on my next visit I will ask for a plate!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kermit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardP1982, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello again,

Thank you for your kind review and for flagging your concerns at the time, so many of our customers choose not to tell us these things when they are an issue to them.

I loved your honesty and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon, and please do ask for that plate!

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    188
    66
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautifully cooked”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I visited this restaurant with three friends today - the first time for all of us. We were not disappointed. The interior is roomy and the decor very tasteful. Staff were attentive and helpful. The food was very tasty and nicely presented. I had the pâté to start which was a little fatty but good flavour and my friends had the risotto which they declared was delicious. For the main course we all chose the braised beef. Excellent choice! Beautifully cooked and very tasty with vegetable and roasted new potatoes. When ordering our drinks we were offered water also, and glasses with ice and lemon and a carafe of cold tap water were supplied free of charge. A little mix up with the bill at the end was quickly sorted out. Two courses for 10.95. Great value and a very pleasant eating experience. I will return, I'm sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lidolil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardP1982, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to post us a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.

Many Thanks,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very nice food and good service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant had a good atmosphere and the food was very good with a good choice of menu.
We were directed to a choice of two tables in a seating area. The restaurants was a little crowded which we found surprising because the adjacent seating area was empty. All newcomers were being crowded into two areas we assumed that this made it easier for the staff to serve the diners.

Helpful?
Thank Brinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardP1982, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello and thanks for your really nice review.

We do sometimes limit the use of our furthest rear section at lunch to enable us to give much more attentive and smooth service especially on busy lunch times.

I hope this wasn't off putting in any way, we do like to try to keep our customers together as i'm sure you will agree it creates a great ambience and buzz within the resturant.

If you would like a quieter table next time though please don't hesitate to ask.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“First time visit - excellent”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We came here on local recommendation. Enjoyed some of the local ales in their bar adjoining the main restaurant first. The choice and quality of food was excellent. The roasted garlic with sourdough to start with really got us in the mood for some fine French cuisine! The staff were absolutely lovely and very attentive. Looking forward to our second trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardP1982, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Many Thanks for your lovely review, we are also very much looking forward to your second trip.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited Ilkley for the first time on Tuesday of this week. We had had a stressful drive up the A1 on business and needed a decent lunch to take the edge off the traumatic journey.. We chose Bistrot Pierre and what a good choice it was. the staff are all lovely and even on a very busy lunchtime service, they behaved impeccably. the food was amazing value for money and was typically imaginative bistro food. They even served the lightest of french bread with unsalted french butter with each course. I had calamari as a starter and grilled mackerel fillets on a bed of leek, garlic, tomatoe and pancetta. this served with saute potatoes and freshly cooked vegetables. Not forgetting two excellent glasses of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. Delcious! My husband had a roquefort salad followed by rump steak with frites and a roquefort sauce.. Again absolutely delicious with the steak cooked perfectly medium rare. The only slight negative I would mention is that the noise of enthusiastic diners bounces off the floor and would be better if it could be muffled a bit. The cost of our lunch including wine and water was approx £38.00 for two and well worth the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardP1982, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your generous and kind comments, we really do appreciate them and very much look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing