We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CONSISTENTLY EXCELLANT”

Monkman's Wine bar & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 95 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
483 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“CONSISTENTLY EXCELLANT”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We made a reservation at short notice for us and our Granddaughter. The meal as usual was excellent quality and value for money. Our Granddaughter tucked heartily into Fish and Chips then ice cream. she was made most welcome and the service was friendly. I had Mussels which were the best that I have ever eaten followed by their top quality fish pie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    58
    13
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife's favourite place in Ilkley.
We eat here when visiting her parents and this visit was no exception.
Food as always was excellent and the recommended wine was just right.
Atmosphere is just right and the service is always A1.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod19499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently good restaurant”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I hadn't eaten here for a while but my family use it a lot. We had there value lunch today. I had fish pie for £5 which was not only cheap but very well cooked and very tasty. Everyone else enjoyed there meals

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“excellent find”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited Monkmans and was very pleasantly surprised. Warm welcome, no delay, very helpful advice especially concerning wine selection. The menu had sufficient choice especially for fish lovers. The food was very good, well prepared and presented and tasted delicious. All my fellow diners were of the same opinion. Very relaxed atmosphere, not too noisy. Have no quibbles with this establishment at all and would recommend highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Place in Ilkley”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Tucked away in a quiet side street, this modest looking restaurant serves great food. Staff make you feel welcome and they look after you well, it's all very professional but not intrusive. I took my wife here for a romantic dinner and we were not disappointed. I can't even remember what I ordered but I remember it being very good. They also have a very good winelist. I hope to vist again soon

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bashi_Mwepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkman's Wine bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Monkman's Wine bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing