We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and parking but everything else is average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chevin End Guest House
Ranked #9 of 10 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed two nights here with my mom while on a lengthy trip through the UK. Our room was in the annex and had one double and one single bed. Positives: room was a reasonable size (not large but not uncomfortable), two chairs, room for luggage (though luggage stands would have been appreciated), small writing desk area and a small closet for hanging clothes. Very quiet as the annex is away from the road. Nice looking, good-sized bathroom that was spanking clean. Basic tea service. Ample parking, and when a relative joined us for a day trip she was allowed to leave her car there while we took ours. Room had a lovely view of Menston and the valley but the windows are too small to take advantage of it. Heating controlled by the guest. Good water pressure in the shower. Restaurant/pub next door is very good. Breakfast was adequate though the fruit, juice and yoghurt offerings on the sideboard were scant compared to most other B&Bs we visited. Easy access to Menston. Well signed and easy to find.

Cons: Tired-looking linens. Cheap furnishings (reminded me of a student dorm room). The bedside lamp seemed to have a dodgy connection, which concerned me so I turned it off/on at the wall outlet. No bathtub, and the shower is open to the rest of the bathroom so everything within spitting distance gets wet. No washcloths. Really tiny sink and the only place to put toiletries is over the toilet, a few feet away. The only shelf in the shower is a tiny thing attached to the pipe; completely inadequate to hold soap, shampoo, and a razor. The bathroom really needs a shelf added to the right of the sink that would double as a shelf for the shower. You can tell the bathroom was designed to look nice and make clean-up quick but it's been done at the expense of function.

We paid 65 pounds a night for two, the same as The Stanage in Telford and Glyn Afon in Llanberis. The Stanage was great, Glyn Afon a nightmare, so this one gets an average rating.

Room Tip: The annex is quieter and has great parking. Flat entrance from the lot to the rooms means easy wheel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the Chevin End Guest House for a birthday treat with some friends. We had a lovely night, eating out first at the cheerful chilli vegetarian restaurant and then after a few drinks at the chevin end pub. The bedrooms were lovely and spacious with a modern walk in shower and beautiful views over Otley. The breakfast was good and served quickly considering how busy it was. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Overall we had a lovely stay and would return a second time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynneW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent 2nights at the chevin end guest house 9/10 of August. Given a room that the screws in the headboard were not fixed which allowed it to move constantly while you we're in bed, shabby towels with rips,cobwebs everywhere. The room we were given had not been cleaned as I found a full digestive biscuit squashed in the carpet, when I asked had the room been cleaned I was told, the cleaner must have missed it as she had not moved the chair yet I had no difficulty seeing it, you could not see in the mirrors, after she whipped one over the cloth was thrown into the bathroom windowsill Also, when you went into the bathroom you had to close the door and manoeuvre to get into the shower which was useless and when you used the toilet it moved and banged when you got off it. We did not get a discount for this room (65 pounds per night and you have to book 2 nights they told us).

Room Tip: other rooms may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at Chevin End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

This lady tried to book our last available room for a Saturday night only during our high season period. I refused explaining that we would easily get a multiple night booking. She then insisted on booking for 2 nights in order to reserve it. Clearly, it seems, she was unhappy about this and has therefore posted this negative review. Vindictive and malicious contributions, such as this, serve no useful purpose at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have stayed here twice the first time in the new bit which I loved and had a beautiful shower room and lovely views when you step outside. We received a warm welcome and everyone was very friendly and I thought the breakfast good. We were so impressed we went back for a second stay. We were in one of the older rooms and it was not as nice I found the bathroom was not clean enough, they have carpets which I really cannot understand as a choice in a B&B bathroom as a hard surface floor would obviously be much easier to clean. I really loved my first stay and went out of my way to go back so it was a bit disappointing. I think this place offers good value for money and the view is beautiful it is just a shame cleaning standards let it down second time around.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Girl_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at Chevin End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank your for taking the time to make a positive contribution about your first stay. We are sorry about your disappointment in not being in the new block the second time but you were told on 2 occasions that they were all fully booked because they are all very popular. I suspect your disappointment started before your arrival on the premises.

All 3 chalet rooms will be undergoing a major refit over the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to be able to find a room at short notice.

Anne came out to meet us when we arrived and showed us to our room which was in the new guesthouse block around a courtyard.

The room was very spacious (very comfy thick carpet!) although I did find it odd initially that it had somewhat of a "corporate" feel.

Unfortunately, the attention to detail, including cleanliness, in our room was somewhat poor. There were dirty glasses, shower gel on the tiles, a dirty sink (hairs and toothpaste!) and the towels (mismatched) looked as if they had been thrown on the bed - not even folded properly. The duvet cover had not been ironed and the carpet was dirty (although I only noticed that on closer inspection because I had dropped something and had to bend down to pick it up!).

However, the breakfast was very delicious. We both had the full cooked plateful which was just the right quantity and very tasty. Not a cheap sausage or salty bacon rasher in sight! And having daily papers available was a lovely touch. Also nice to have Wi-fi available in the room.

It was a bit weird and, in my opinion, somewhat off-putting to go through the kitchen to pay but that's a personal preference.

In all, we thought it represented excellent value and was in an excellent location. The finer details of the room were unfortunate but generally we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 with lovely views over the moor - and a field of cows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caterham7owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stumbled upon Chevin End Guest House when we were looking for pet friendly accommodation. We were given a very warm welcome and and shown to our room. The room was clean and cosey. The following morning our breakast was excellent, with a choice of fruit juice, grapefruit and a number of cereals, followed by a cooked breakfast of your choosing. The guest house is set on edge of the Chevin with the most stunning views all round. There is a pub at the end of the drive so not far to get an evening meal.
We have since stayed at the Chevin End Guest house a number of times and it feels like a home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've not given any bad reviews so far as I feel some negative comments are not necessary. Anyway, we booked one night at the Chevin with some friends of ours. We stayed in the new quarters and our friends stayed in the old part. The owner is friendly and welcoming and when he showed us to our room we were happy. Our view was of a hill and was told we'd only get the moors view if we stayed for more than one night. Fair enough. This didn't worry us as the vista was a couple of steps away outside. However upon close inspection of the room we found the bathroom to be unclean including the bin being full from previous occupants), Half a toilet roll. Two unclean mugs with the kettle. Our friends stayed in the old part of building and didn't we know it when we entered. It smelled of damp and our friends commented that they thought they'd entered into an old people's home (no disrespect intended)! Very dated decor and soft furnishings. On the plus side we had a very peaceful and comfortable night's sleep, We were looking forward to our English breakfast the next morning. Couldn't fault it. Plenty of freshly cooked food. Very nice. Unfortunately when it came to pay the bill we were told to go through to the kitchen where the owner had a little 'office' in the corner. Sharp intake of breath as I've never seen such a filthy kitchen. I felt sick. Plates etc piled high on the worktops as well as the sink which was thick with dirt. I didn't know what colour the cooker was as it was covered thickly in grease and grime. Perhaps they should invest in a dishwasher and get the professional cleaners in. I'm really disappointed as The Chevin End Guest House could be the jewel of the north.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new quarters overlooking the moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulineHMorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Chevin End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

We are sorry that on your arrival your bathroom had not been checked. We were exceedingly busy during September and it seems that cleaner has been distracted while doing your room.
As you will know the dining room was busy so unsurprisingly the washing up did build up in the kitchen area. Your assertion that you could not see the colour of the cooker or that we do not have a dishwasher is untrue,unkind and hurtful - we had just cooked breakfast for 30 people.

We also note that you complained about someone else's room which we think is against the rules of the web site you frequent.

However we do thank you most sincerley for your positive marking in terms of value, location, sleep quality and sevice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
4.8 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
225 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
3.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
The Wheatley Arms
The Wheatley Arms
#2 of 10 in Ilkley
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin End Guest House

Address: West Chevin Road, Ilkley LS29 6BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range: $70 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin End Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chevin End Guest House is an eight bedroomed barn conversion complex adjoining Chevin End Farm. Set in a rural location it has panoramic Wharfe Valley views yet is only one mile from the towns of Otley, Menston and Guiseley, and less than half a mile from the main A65 Leeds / Ilkley road.We are 15 minutes walk from both Menston and Guiseley railway stations. Leeds Bradford Airport is a five minute drive. Free transport can be provided from both railway stations and the airport.All rooms are en-suite, one with a bath. Each room has tea and coffee facilities and a colour television. There is ample private parking in our courtyard. There are numerous restaurants, pubs and shops within a half mile radius. Ground floor bedrooms are available.Internet access is available through our wireless network.Please ask for our WEP key if you require access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chevin End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin End Guest House Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing