We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic first visit but a disapointment second time around.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chevin End Guest House
Ranked #6 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantastic first visit but a disapointment second time around.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have stayed here twice the first time in the new bit which I loved and had a beautiful shower room and lovely views when you step outside. We received a warm welcome and everyone was very friendly and I thought the breakfast good. We were so impressed we went back for a second stay. We were in one of the older rooms and it was not as nice I found the bathroom was not clean enough, they have carpets which I really cannot understand as a choice in a B&B bathroom as a hard surface floor would obviously be much easier to clean. I really loved my first stay and went out of my way to go back so it was a bit disappointing. I think this place offers good value for money and the view is beautiful it is just a shame cleaning standards let it down second time around.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Girl_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at Chevin End Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to make a positive contribution about your first stay. We are sorry about your disappointment in not being in the new block the second time but you were told on 2 occasions that they were all fully booked because they are all very popular. I suspect your disappointment started before your arrival on the premises.

All 3 chalet rooms will be undergoing a major refit over the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to be able to find a room at short notice.

Anne came out to meet us when we arrived and showed us to our room which was in the new guesthouse block around a courtyard.

The room was very spacious (very comfy thick carpet!) although I did find it odd initially that it had somewhat of a "corporate" feel.

Unfortunately, the attention to detail, including cleanliness, in our room was somewhat poor. There were dirty glasses, shower gel on the tiles, a dirty sink (hairs and toothpaste!) and the towels (mismatched) looked as if they had been thrown on the bed - not even folded properly. The duvet cover had not been ironed and the carpet was dirty (although I only noticed that on closer inspection because I had dropped something and had to bend down to pick it up!).

However, the breakfast was very delicious. We both had the full cooked plateful which was just the right quantity and very tasty. Not a cheap sausage or salty bacon rasher in sight! And having daily papers available was a lovely touch. Also nice to have Wi-fi available in the room.

It was a bit weird and, in my opinion, somewhat off-putting to go through the kitchen to pay but that's a personal preference.

In all, we thought it represented excellent value and was in an excellent location. The finer details of the room were unfortunate but generally we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 with lovely views over the moor - and a field of cows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caterham7owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stumbled upon Chevin End Guest House when we were looking for pet friendly accommodation. We were given a very warm welcome and and shown to our room. The room was clean and cosey. The following morning our breakast was excellent, with a choice of fruit juice, grapefruit and a number of cereals, followed by a cooked breakfast of your choosing. The guest house is set on edge of the Chevin with the most stunning views all round. There is a pub at the end of the drive so not far to get an evening meal.
We have since stayed at the Chevin End Guest house a number of times and it feels like a home from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've not given any bad reviews so far as I feel some negative comments are not necessary. Anyway, we booked one night at the Chevin with some friends of ours. We stayed in the new quarters and our friends stayed in the old part. The owner is friendly and welcoming and when he showed us to our room we were happy. Our view was of a hill and was told we'd only get the moors view if we stayed for more than one night. Fair enough. This didn't worry us as the vista was a couple of steps away outside. However upon close inspection of the room we found the bathroom to be unclean including the bin being full from previous occupants), Half a toilet roll. Two unclean mugs with the kettle. Our friends stayed in the old part of building and didn't we know it when we entered. It smelled of damp and our friends commented that they thought they'd entered into an old people's home (no disrespect intended)! Very dated decor and soft furnishings. On the plus side we had a very peaceful and comfortable night's sleep, We were looking forward to our English breakfast the next morning. Couldn't fault it. Plenty of freshly cooked food. Very nice. Unfortunately when it came to pay the bill we were told to go through to the kitchen where the owner had a little 'office' in the corner. Sharp intake of breath as I've never seen such a filthy kitchen. I felt sick. Plates etc piled high on the worktops as well as the sink which was thick with dirt. I didn't know what colour the cooker was as it was covered thickly in grease and grime. Perhaps they should invest in a dishwasher and get the professional cleaners in. I'm really disappointed as The Chevin End Guest House could be the jewel of the north.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new quarters overlooking the moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulineHMorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Chevin End Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are sorry that on your arrival your bathroom had not been checked. We were exceedingly busy during September and it seems that cleaner has been distracted while doing your room.
As you will know the dining room was busy so unsurprisingly the washing up did build up in the kitchen area. Your assertion that you could not see the colour of the cooker or that we do not have a dishwasher is untrue,unkind and hurtful - we had just cooked breakfast for 30 people.

We also note that you complained about someone else's room which we think is against the rules of the web site you frequent.

However we do thank you most sincerley for your positive marking in terms of value, location, sleep quality and sevice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a 4 day visit to Yorkshire. Our first bed and breakfast was first class-but this was disappointing. I agree with the previous review-cannot understand other positive comments.
The guest house is in a fabulous location with lovely views--but the accommodation felt cheap and dingy. the bedding was old and tired-and so was the bed. None of the furnishings matched the decor --it all felt very 1970's
The welcome was efficient--but not warm, and breakfast was ok--but nothing special-and I did not fancy the rather basic sausage.
At £60 per room this could represent superb value--but I feel everything needs some more tender loving care.
Having said this-all the rooms were full-so clearly some people like it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the old block---rooms 6-8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indiraOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquitaine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I don't understand this. This was the worst b&b experience of my life but I seem to
be in a minority of 1. The accommodation is new and the views fantastic but this was
completely ruined by the fact that even if the bedding and towels hadn't been used before
me which I can't say they had, they most certainly appeared to have been, grubby and poorly ironed. Worst still was the alleged 'cleaning' of the room daily. Nothing was made or pillows fluffed, only the duvet was pulled up, not completely, the unchanged towels and bath mats just picked up, sink left uncleaned even after teeth cleaning, rubbish bags taken and a new one thrown in the bin for you to open and fit in the bin. Cups left uncleaned where they were left. The cleaner
could not have spent more than 2 or 3 minutes in the room. The breakfast was spoilt by using really cheap products, particularly the sausages which were so full of rusk they could have been described as meat free. The bacon was salty and not nice.
Perhaps I am too hard to please but I don't see the point in spending all that money
building a new annexe and then ruining it by using old and cheap bedding and towels and
using really cheap products for breakfast. Proper cleaning and spending a bit of money would
be paid back by making this a 5* which it certainly could be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stusexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Chevin End Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are very disappointed and surprised with your review.This was your second visit to our guest house but the first into our new annex.We market and price our guest house as affordable accommodation in a rural location. We are not a five star hotel. You booked a single room, were upgraded to a double with single occupancy and were charged £29.17 plus vat per night so we regard this as incredible value within this area.
It is true that for a three night stay we do make only a cursory check of each room for hygiene and securtiy reasons but we feel this is acceptable practice within the market we seek to operate in.
We utterly reject your suggestion that the sheets were unwashed and we note your consumption of the full English Breakfast on three consecutive mornings.
Low priced overnight accommodation in this area is very hard to find especially over most weekend periods. We are saddened that you have felt the need to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

we decided at last minute to have a weekend away over the bank holiday, after trying to book numerous places, only to find everywhere was fully booked, we stumbled upon this guest house and were suprised to find it had a room available.On arrival we were shown to our accomodation, and were pleasently suprised,the room was very spacious with large comfortable double bed, also a single, and a 2 seater settee,coffee making facilities,and nice en-suite wet room.The pub was just a 2 minute walk and after eating our very nice evening meal there, we returned to enjoy a very comfortable night,Nxt morning breakfast was very nice and plentiful before spending the day in otley at the market and wondering around.We would not hesitate in booking into this guest house again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamStravelsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
1.6 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
3.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin End Guest House

Property: Chevin End Guest House
Address: West Chevin Road, Ilkley LS29 6BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin End Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chevin End Guest House is an eight bedroomed barn conversion complex adjoining Chevin End Farm. Set in a rural location it has panoramic Wharfe Valley views yet is only one mile from the towns of Otley, Menston and Guiseley, and less than half a mile from the main A65 Leeds / Ilkley road.We are 15 minutes walk from both Menston and Guiseley railway stations. Leeds Bradford Airport is a five minute drive. Free transport can be provided from both railway stations and the airport.All rooms are en-suite, one with a bath. Each room has tea and coffee facilities and a colour television. There is ample private parking in our courtyard. There are numerous restaurants, pubs and shops within a half mile radius. Ground floor bedrooms are available.Internet access is available through our wireless network.Please ask for our WEP key if you require access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chevin End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin End Guest House Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing