We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chevin End Guest House
Ranked #8 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
durham
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“last minute get away”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we decided at last minute to have a weekend away over the bank holiday, after trying to book numerous places, only to find everywhere was fully booked, we stumbled upon this guest house and were suprised to find it had a room available.On arrival we were shown to our accomodation, and were pleasently suprised,the room was very spacious with large comfortable double bed, also a single, and a 2 seater settee,coffee making facilities,and nice en-suite wet room.The pub was just a 2 minute walk and after eating our very nice evening meal there, we returned to enjoy a very comfortable night,Nxt morning breakfast was very nice and plentiful before spending the day in otley at the market and wondering around.We would not hesitate in booking into this guest house again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamStravelsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
28
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancing
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice B & B with Clean well appointed Rooms
Must have one of best views in Yorkshire?
We had some different neighbours a herd of cows with there calves
(The wife loved this in fact so did I!!!)

There is car parking for all

There is a nice pub 2 mins away

With a perfect Breakfast to finish
Who could ask for more

Ideally situated for the Chevin Forest
The start of the Dalesways Way and Six Dales walk,


Who could ask for more

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I spent of couple of nights at the Chevin End in January. It has an attractive situation with fine views over the Wharfe Valley, and a rural feel even although it is not far from main roads and urban areas. My room was very comfortable, and with a hearty breakfast Chevin End offers very good value for money. I doubt whether anyone staying here would be disappointed.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank awanui123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I actually stayed here on a weekly basis between 2008 and 2010.

This is a rural guesthouse but close enough to the main roads to make it a good base for those visiting or working in the area.

The house is on high ground overlooking valleys and fields towards Ilkley, set 50m or so off the main road, behind the Chevin pub which serves good beer and excellent food.

The rooms vary in size but all have ensuite shower, sink and toilet. Some rooms have more than one bed making them suitable for family groups. The decor is straightforward without being plain, all windows are double glazed and there is electric and central heating, they are warm in winter. The rooms also all have a modest size digital TV.

For those on walking holidays, some rooms also have a small hallway for drying your boots and outdoor gear !

The breakfast is 'standard English' cooked breakfast with cereal and toast, obviously you are free to select which cooked items you want, everything is cooked to order in the adjoining kitchen.

There is car parking for all guests or you can overflow into the pub car park if necessary.

The owners are helpful and friendly and live in the adjoining farm house, Gerald was very obliging when we were snowed in one January, and gave 4x4 lifts to the nearby Guiseley rail station, which is just a bit too far on a snowy country road to walk in winter.

Very reasonable prices, comfortable rooms.

You are within easy reach of Bradford, Saltaire (see the Salts Mill with David Hockney artworks, books and other crafts - also the "Blue Plaque" for director Tony Richardson on Saltaire high street), even Harrogate. Leeds is about 30 minutes away, York is about 55 minutes away.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are with children or have walking gear, they might be able to choose a more sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is a lovely guesthouse, that's hard to fault (a little lacking in the paint department of the bathroom ceiling is all I can criticise!). The breakfast was very, very good, and the room was spacious, with a very comfortable bed, and a very homely feel. Really nice, will be back :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank two_bells_to_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The Chevin End made an excellent base for a few days exploring the area. The bedroom was vast - big enough for a small army. It was warm as toast, which, as it was snowing outside, was important. The bed was good, very comfortable. Shower room en suite - lashings of hot water. decor maybe a bit tired, but hey, who's counting? The breakfasts are huge, freshly cooked, with the daily newspapers on hand for a leisurely read. The owners are very helpful and knowledgeable. Would book again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussextraveller040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Ann and Gerald are the quintessential Yorkshire hosts at this beautiful guest house at (guess where?) the Chevin End! The room are spacious and immaculate, with ensuites that are warm and have great water pressure (important for someone used to an American shower!) Views over the valley are lovely, and the location is quiet and peaceful, yet with the convenience of The Chevin pub ( which serves great food) an easy stroll away. Breakfast is cooked to order by Gerald, and is hearty and delicious, with Ann as his able assistant giving great tips on what to do and where to go in the locality. Perfectly positioned for visiting many beautiful areas , I heartily recommend this cosy guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
1.6 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
4.9 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin End Guest House

Property: Chevin End Guest House
Address: West Chevin Road, Ilkley LS29 6BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin End Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chevin End Guest House is an eight bedroomed barn conversion complex adjoining Chevin End Farm. Set in a rural location it has panoramic Wharfe Valley views yet is only one mile from the towns of Otley, Menston and Guiseley, and less than half a mile from the main A65 Leeds / Ilkley road.We are 15 minutes walk from both Menston and Guiseley railway stations. Leeds Bradford Airport is a five minute drive. Free transport can be provided from both railway stations and the airport.All rooms are en-suite, one with a bath. Each room has tea and coffee facilities and a colour television. There is ample private parking in our courtyard. There are numerous restaurants, pubs and shops within a half mile radius. Ground floor bedrooms are available.Internet access is available through our wireless network.Please ask for our WEP key if you require access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chevin End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin End Guest House Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing